We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK stopping point”
Review of Fairweather Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairweather Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An OK stopping point”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We had a really warm welcome at the Fairweather Inn and the desk clerk was very friendly and helpful. The lobby area is decorated beautifully and in the old western style. I was a little disappointed with the room however. It was extremely basic and the private bathroom was very dated. I had higher hopes for this place and whilst I would say our stay was OK, be aware that the rooms aren't up to the standard expected based on the photos on the website.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was spacious and clean. Had an air conditioner, but it doesn't keep the room cool. The porch out front was great, hosts was very helpful. Actually enjoyed not having a TV, and they did have wifi. Place needs a good coat of paint,but other than that, would stay again. Rooms have tubs instead of showers, was a nice change for the 2 days, but would have to rethink if staying longer. Great old fashion place to stay for a couple of days. Nice town too....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank female50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

great location! Downtown Virginia City, MT has a very unique feel. This old Montana boom town during the gold mining in Montana still feels...old and special. The accommodations are very much old fashioned. No TV's, just adorable beds/decor! Nice that guests have a separate entrance from the from desk area, and their own key to access anytime! Check in at 3pm, check out at 10am!

Room Tip: room 1 with 2 queen beds is great, and you can see out into the streets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a room with two double beds my friend and I. The room was very spacious and clean. It is an historic hotel so it is decorated like it used to be on the 19 th century so it is very cute. There's a nice porch upstairs to hang out on and the hotel has perfect location as it is situated in the Main Street. The downsides were the bathroom and restrooms in the corridor and the front door of the hotel was not locked. No one at reception during the night and no phones in the rooms , watch out for ghosts! Staff was very friendly and helpful when they were around!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caro2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I kwen what we were getting when I made the reservation - no phone, no TV, and no WIFI. We had a second story room and used the hotel balcony to watch people on the street while drinking a beer before dinner. Wood floors are worn but the rooms were in good shape (nice carpet) and the beds (although small) were comfortable and we slept well. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: When plumbing was added to this hotels the faucets in the upstairs bathrooms were run off a tee in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timetogoMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I booked a double room with full bathroom a month in advance so I was really disappointed when we arrived and they told me they had given our room to someone else and that if we wanted our own bathroom we would have to move to a room in Nevada City. I had really wanted to stay at the “famous” Fairweather so I went ahead and took a room with facilities down the hall. The room itself was furnished with nice oak furniture and had an “old” historical feel to it (what I was wanting). The shared bathroom however was a VERY small room with a toilet and this weird window that went into an abandoned dark corridor (it had no curtain). I ended up putting a towel over the weird creepy window. The shower was scary too so I ended up washing up in the sink in our room. Thankfully we were not staying more than two days. Virginia City itself is an awesome experience and we were there for the 150th anniversary. We took all the tours (stage, bus, train, ghost) and they were all informative and fascinating. I would only stay there again if I was guaranteed a room with a bathroom-call and make sure they get your reservation right!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MTStarB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elliston, Montana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We had a really hard time finding a place to stay in Virginia City for our timeline so felt fortunate to get anything. While this hotel is historic and all, there is a fine line between shabby-chic and just plain run down. Being right on the main street of the town, it is a great location and one feel's like they have stepped back in time. And while most folks expect to have their own bathrooms at a hotel, it is not the case in some places. We scored with our own bathroom. The room was spacious and even had a fan as their is no central air in historic hotels and it does get hot in Montana. Be forewarned that there is NO SHOWER. Only a bathtub. The beds are doubles but were very comfortable. The room was clean - just shabby. Charming to a point but I think that some money should be put into some upkeep. And the painted furniture took away from the period we should have felt. Distressed furniture would be better than everything painted bright blue or yellow, etc. And they need to dump the gingerbread trim along the ceiling and window frame - really? In the old west?

Overall, a good place to lay your head. Friendly desk people. Just don't expect too much for a piece of the olden days. No large beds. No shower. No little shampoos to take!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rainbow6422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fairweather Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairweather Inn

Property: Fairweather Inn
Address: 305 W Wallace, Virginia City, MT 59755
Region: United States > Montana > Virginia City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginia City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairweather Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Fairweather Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairweather Inn Virginia City, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing