We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Evergreen Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Evergreen Motel
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

I stayed at the Evergreen Motel in the first half of October and I really like the place. Rooms are very clean, which I find to bery important. They are not very big but in my view I was not in Yellowstone to hang out in the room all day. Everything from cleaning to wireless internet functioned very well and staff is really helpful and welcoming. I can truly recommend this place when visiting Yellowstone.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrEmkei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    256
    121
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
83
237
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Cozy homey and comfortable. Decorations made me feel like I was at someones house rather than a motel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyBobSisterLuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

The Evergreen is quaint and clean. You must be prepared for tight quarters, but they make up for it with comfortable beds, clean rooms and updated furnishings. I slept really well here despite the proximity to the main drag. This motel was a good value and goes the extra mile to make guests feel at home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spenslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

When we arrived we were warmly welcomed by Sara and enjoyed a yummy home made chocolate chip cookie.The room was thoughtfully decorated in rustic mountain style, clean, efficient and comfortable. The only tripadvisor negative review could only be a 'one of' in my humble opinion as this property was a big bang for your traveling buck. The alleged 'noise' from trucks was not noticed by us. Note that a major chain motel is right next door on the same highway at close to twice the price. As well this highway is a minor one. We noticed many thoughtful touches to this property which made you feel valued as a traveler.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WanderingWahine007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

What A Clean, Well Kept Pleansant place. The rooms offer an Adirondak NY feeling for those of you who don't know what that means, like the DISNEY WILDERNESS LODGE @ Disney World. Very tastefully done. A young couple owns and runs the place, and they do it very well. Complimentary, hot drinks and homemade coookies are offered in the office.. Very reasonably priced roooms. Can you tell we really enjoyed our stay? We stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIHOSILVERAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This is a very nice older motel. Very clean & nicely decorated. A nice natural theme.
Would use this motel any time. Good central location.
Owners very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

As several reviewers described it, the hotel is 'cozy'. The rooms are small (7 ft ceilings, maybe 15 by 15 feet) but comfortable except for noise. The hotel is on a fairly busy road which seemed to have truck traffic all night. If you are a light sleeper and have the windows open, you will probably hear the trucks and starting at about 6:00 am, the car doors slamming as people head out for breakfast. (The hotel was sold out when we were there and the property and parking area are very small.) There is an internal, European floor model air conditioner in the room which vents to the floor and which you could put on 'fan only' to drown out the external noise but the machine itself is extremely loud.

For about $100 per night in September, the hotel appears to be a bargain in West Yellowstone, MT as the few chain motels are much more, e.g., double. If you have been to other national park gateway towns such as Bar Harbour (Acadia) , Gatlinburg (Great Smoky), Estes Park (Rocky Mountains) and even Springdale (Zion) or Luray (Shenandoah), you may find West Yellowstone drab, uninteresting, and for what you get, overpriced (e.g., $17 for pasta with tomato sauce or $19 for a piece of ham with potatoes and vegs.) There a few bars, a decent brew pub with limited food, and a few clothing and souvenir shops. There is one Chinese restaurant which was quite busy as it is reasonably priced. Perhaps one indication of the food prices is the sign in the motel room which states 'No cooking in the room' although there is a fridge and a microwave. Do some people bring stoves and chickens like Fidel Castro in New York back in about 1958?

Yellowstone NP was also a disappointment. First of all, if you are in West Yellowstone, you must take that entrance to the park or drive long distances to the next closest entrance. There is one lane each way into the park. We started in about 9:00am and suddenly slowed down to 4 mph for about a half hour. It seems that two elk were spotted in a stream so people just stopped their cars to gawk at them or take photos with their $1000 cameras. When we finally made it to Old Faithful (passing some interesting bubbling mud and other features on the way) we found thousands of cars and fleets of self propelled houses, RV's, tour buses and other machines. This is the off season! We looked at the geyser spout off and then walked to the top of a nearby hill (spotting a solitary bison on the way) which we had practically to ourselves. From this hill, the vehicle noise from the park road equalled that from a busy interstate highway. We had lunch, viewed a waterfall (which couldn't compare to those in Rickett's Glen state park PA) and left the park, encountering once again the elk viewing backup. I suppose if you are a serious backpacker and get away from the mob, Yellowstone is great. However if you want to see animals, we saw herds of bison in Black Hills SD NP and herds of elk in Rocky Mountains CO NP without the crowds. If you just want to hike and relax, I would recommend any of the less famous parks. For example, on our way back east, we stopped in T. Roosevelt NP in Montana. It may not have geysers and bubbling mud, but it did have wide-open, car-free spaces, few people, and a nice looking little town at the front gate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Motel

Property: Evergreen Motel
Address: 229 Firehole Avenue, P.O. Box 631, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Evergreen Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Evergreen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Hotel West Yellowstone
Evergreen Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing