We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has a corner on the cuteness market”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibernation Station
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were sent here by the NPS reservation clerk when the dates we wanted at Yellowstone were not available and I am glad. I think we had a better stay here than we would have at the Park. The cabins are less than a mile from the west enterence to Yellowstone and the price is good. We did not have a fridge or microwave, but it was more that made up for by the larger Jacuzzi tub we had in the bathroom. Perfect after a long day of siteseeing in the park. The staff was great, the service was good and the room comfortable. Be aware that log structures settle so the floor is not always level and that was a little disconserting at first, especially on the tile section of the floor, but it added to the charm of the room. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjallsworthlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

181 - 187 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

While we have vacationed in West Yellowstone/Yellowstone National Park, this was the first time we stayed at Hibernation Station. We found it to be truly outstanding and reasonably priced. All rooms are actually very rustic individual cabins. Each was built of natural logs by the owner. They had most of the modern items: large well appointed bathroom with a tub/shower, wide screen TV, chest of drawers, coffee pot, and a place to hang your fishing waders. I say most items because they have no A/C but given the cool climate of the Yellowstone area this was no problem. They also have an on-site laundry room.
The staff was very helpful and the maid service kept our room quite clean.
Oh yes, check out the many sculptures of wildlife on the property.
We will stay there again and have no problem recommending it others.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upgraded.z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed 4 nights ... We were usually out of there by 6am and not back til after dark (tried spending as much time in Yellowstone as possible). Probably could have found a less expensive place but can't beat the space we had. King bed for my wife and I in a private bedroom... 2 queens in the living room for our kids. A kitchenette type area and large bathroom. Overall was very comfortable for us. But check around, you can probably find a better price elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Reserved 2 single story cabins that were next door to each other, however, when we checked in the lobby clerk couldn't find keys for 1 of the rooms. She gave us "housekeeping keys" as she called them in place of the missing keys. We quickly learned the key opened both cabins, it was a master key.

One of the cabins had not been cleaned, and housekeeping staff had gone home for the day. The lobby clerks solution was to move my sister to another cabin that was an upstairs unit in another section of the complex.

Cabin #24 was outdated, but that was not a concern. Of concern was the dirty pillow case on one of the pillows. A large, heavy wood table in the room tipped oven when we placed a grocery bag on it, the base of the table was uneven making the table unstable and unusable. The carpeting is old and in need of cleaning. Note that the 13" televisions was too small to be viewable.

The amenities were lacking. There was nowhere to place your luggage other than the floor. Supplies for the coffee maker included one small packet of coffee, no decaf, 2 sugar packets and no creamer. Drawers in the armoire were broken.

Cabin #50 is an upstairs unit (it didn't meet the needs of one of our party with disabilities). Then handrail on the stairs outside werein very poor condition. The bathroom door is made of knotty pine. One of the knots had fallen out and was filled with a wad of toilet paper. The knot hole is at eye level and is about 2" in diameter. Note that the 13" television was difficult to view.

I notified the front desk immediately of the issues, she responded by giving us tickets to a movie. The tickets went unused.

The entire complex is in a parking lot setting, not in the woods as one might think. You can only access the free Wi-Fi in the internet cabin, NOT from your own cabin.

We spent over $950.00 for 2 cabins for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KathySLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Staff, facility, price and location is excellent. This was the best three nights we had during our trip through Montana. The staff are the best with no exceptions. Will be back every time we travel through West Yellowstone. Thank you for a GREAT experience.

Room Tip: The large condos are the best with so much room and beautiful decor. The cabins are made for overni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was our third stay here and we love these cabins! The staff was very friendly and attentive. The rooms are decorated with a western theme, the beds are very comfortable and the location is great. We were a bit disappointed that there was trouble with the TV reception, but found other things to do. There are a few repair issues that need to be addressed to make this an exceptional experience, and it was somewhat overpriced.

Room Tip: Go online to see the room descriptions. There are various types of rooms ranging from those for cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We thought that a stay in individual log cabins would be a nice change from the typical hotel room. We were sadly disappointed when we learned that the cabins are very poorly maintained. We found mildew and mold on the shower curtains. When we went to light the gas log we had a minnie explosion because apparently the gas orifice in the gas line had not be cleaned in some time so it caused the gas to backup until all of a sudden it ignited and caused a minnie explosion. There was layers upon layers of dust on everything up high inside the cabin. There is no doubt in my mind that if these cabins maintained well, this would be a quaint and somewhat romantic place to stay. Unfortunately, they are not well maintained and because of that are very overpriced. It's very sad to say, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernation Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernation Station

Address: 212 Gray Wolf Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9543
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £101 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibernation Station 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibernation Station is a luxurious log cabin resort located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park. Our cabins are all individually decorated, with Tapestry walls, hand made log furniture and goose down comforters on the beds. We have several different sizes and styles of cabins to choose from. Offering amenities to serve families and couples. Make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hibernation Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernation Station Hotel West Yellowstone
Hibernation Station West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing