We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hibernation Station
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I booked this hotel before reading any of the reviews and began to have misgivings on what I might have done. My expectations were set rather low after reading reviews. Price was the major factor being $50 to $100 less than the name brands and with our cabin having a kitchenette area need for FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST was not that important.
I was pleasantly surprised. The room was exactly as described but at best housekeeping got a 75%. Was a little nervous about safety as the latch on the door was broken. Need for A/C was nonexistent as the nights during the summer hot spell always went into the 40's. As a side note NOT ONE OF THE HOTELS INSIDE YELLOWSTONE PARK HAVE A/C. TV was old but in 6 nights we turned on the TV once. Who comes to Yellowstone to watch TV?
No Pool or hot tub a negative but we did not see one advertised nor with price paid expected these amenities.
I gave this a higher rating than it deserved to try to offset some of the negative feedbacks that had expectations that the hotel would be as good as the more known and higher ranked West Yellowstone at much less the cost.
I got a great price and the hotel MET THAT EXPECTATION.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    95
    35
    40
    43
See reviews for
121
118
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Roomy and comfortable cabins with rustic decor, friendly staff, easy walking distance to town, and close to a main entrance to Yellowstone Park make this a near-perfect accommodation. The only inconvenience is there is no wireless (or any other) connection to the internet in the cabin. You have to go to an internet room on the property and use an access code to get in. Trifling, of course, but a consideration for those who need ready access to the internet. Most people are going there to get away from such things anyway, I would think.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Our family reunion of 46 people was very happy with the cabins and the helpfulness of the staff. The picnic area was reserved for our use for 2 nights of catered meals and our family horseshoe tournament. For any large family gathering in this area, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r1100rtryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, California (USA)
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Six of us stayed Ina 1BR 1BA cabin... 2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 young grandsons. It was tight but doable even for longer than our 2 nights. On the edge of the town but walkable. Check your hot water - our pilot light went out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBandJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Where ever they send me next
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were sent here by the NPS reservation clerk when the dates we wanted at Yellowstone were not available and I am glad. I think we had a better stay here than we would have at the Park. The cabins are less than a mile from the west enterence to Yellowstone and the price is good. We did not have a fridge or microwave, but it was more that made up for by the larger Jacuzzi tub we had in the bathroom. Perfect after a long day of siteseeing in the park. The staff was great, the service was good and the room comfortable. Be aware that log structures settle so the floor is not always level and that was a little disconserting at first, especially on the tile section of the floor, but it added to the charm of the room. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjallsworthlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

While we have vacationed in West Yellowstone/Yellowstone National Park, this was the first time we stayed at Hibernation Station. We found it to be truly outstanding and reasonably priced. All rooms are actually very rustic individual cabins. Each was built of natural logs by the owner. They had most of the modern items: large well appointed bathroom with a tub/shower, wide screen TV, chest of drawers, coffee pot, and a place to hang your fishing waders. I say most items because they have no A/C but given the cool climate of the Yellowstone area this was no problem. They also have an on-site laundry room.
The staff was very helpful and the maid service kept our room quite clean.
Oh yes, check out the many sculptures of wildlife on the property.
We will stay there again and have no problem recommending it others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upgraded.z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights ... We were usually out of there by 6am and not back til after dark (tried spending as much time in Yellowstone as possible). Probably could have found a less expensive place but can't beat the space we had. King bed for my wife and I in a private bedroom... 2 queens in the living room for our kids. A kitchenette type area and large bathroom. Overall was very comfortable for us. But check around, you can probably find a better price elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernation Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernation Station

Property: Hibernation Station
Address: 212 Gray Wolf Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9543
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibernation Station 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibernation Station is a luxurious log cabin resort located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park. Our cabins are all individually decorated, with Tapestry walls, hand made log furniture and goose down comforters on the beds. We have several different sizes and styles of cabins to choose from. Offering amenities to serve families and couples. Make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hibernation Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernation Station Hotel West Yellowstone
Hibernation Station West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing