We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like home than you know!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hibernation Station
Bavington, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“More like home than you know!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our travel agent says, "we're going to put you up in this wonderful log cabin..." She didn't know we live in a log cabin.
But that being said, it was a really nice place run by really nice people who "get" customer service. We loved the independence of being able to park right outside the door and not worry about disturbing - or being disturbed by - other guests. The pillows could've been softer but...now THATS nitpicking.
It really set the tone for a great week in Yellowstone and Grand Teton and had we known how nice it was going to be compared to where else we stayed later in the week, we would've made West Yellowstone our base for the week!

Room Tip: Get the smallest room you can all fit in. It'll still be plenty big and it will be more intimate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    96
    36
    41
    43
See reviews for
121
119
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My daughter, son and I stayed at the Hibernation Station for the first time during our trip to Yellowstone.
The compound itself is unique and rustic. The cabins range from a two person cabin up to two-story cabins that can sleep up to 6+. Our cabin had two beds in the main room/kitchen area and a seperate bedroom.
On the plus side:
The compound is within walking distance to all of the main street shops and restaurants and a short drive to the West entrance of the park. It is locted on a quiet street away from the main street noise.
There is a McDonalds restaurant across the street.
The kitchen is fully stocked with a fridge, microwave, stove, utensils, dishes, glasses.
The beds are comfortable.
The bathroom had a shower and tub and a huge supply of towels/washcloths all arranged in a wicker basket which was a nice touch. There were sample sized bath products to use and samples of Advil.
There is a wi-fi area with free wi-fi.
There is a play area for children.

While all of this was great, I would hesitate to stay there again due to the pricing. For three nights, our bill totaled over $1,000. I think next time, I would shop around a bit for lower priced lodging.
I had two other concerns. The compound at night is quite dark. Each cabin has a porch light but like the one we stayed in, a lot of the lightbulbs were burnt out and making your way to you cabin was a bit difficult in the dark.
My other concern was while the cabin looked clean, I wonder how often the comforters are cleaned. They are huge and puffy but, I found a sheet of someone's corn plasters wrapped up in mine. At least they were on a sheet and not a used one stuck in the bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Our second floor cabin included a separate bedroom and bathroom that were "boxed" within the cabin, which was strange. Though the beds, bath, and furnishings were very nice, a few flaws were unacceptable for the $300/night price tag.

The biggest complaint I have is that the bed in the separate bedroom where I stayed with my boyfriend was in a corner, therefore that side was against the wall with no light or nightstand. This means no place to put a book or glass of water, and no way to get in and out of bed without waking the other person up. Also too small for furniture - so no place to put your suitcase (and no dresser if you're willing to unpack your luggage).

There were other things... the toilet paper obviously had gotten wet (somehow....) then dried, and was placed for use on the toilet paper dispenser; the cabin had a strange odor; and there was no WiFi except at a central location near the office. We were busy during the day and adjusted to all this, but these issues are unacceptable when you're paying $300+ per night.

Room Tip: Use the guide to the cabins on the Hibernation Station website to get a feel for the layout and déco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MajaKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here two nights as there wasn't much else available. 189++ per night is more than I usually will spend. The cabin was cute and woodsy, we had queen bunk beds which were a hoot. But the coffee pot made brown water, the hot tub didn't work and the cabin was too small for four people. The staff were very friendly and helped as they could and the view was good. Plus it is a very short drive into Yellowstone which is what we were after.

Room Tip: All the cabins looked good. There were some awesome family size cabins that I looked through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We needed a place for one night and arrived in town without a reservation at about 4PM. Nice folks at the Geyser Cafe recommended Hibernation Station and moments later, Annette, the manager of the hotel, came into the restaurant. We made a reservation through her and then wandered over to the hotel. We were impressed with the quality of the log workmanship and what appeared to be handmade furniture. The room was spacious and the rocking chairs were very comfortable. The see through fireplace was a nice touch. The location at the end of town is not in the woods but it is convenient and quiet and we preferred it to those boxy hotels all facing one another. The staff was very nice and helpful. They do appear to have a problem with consistently working internet access. All and all, we were very satisfied and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carefreepac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was a great place and a good location. Basically, they are separate little cabins grouped together. So, you if you are a large party, or just the two of you, you will get a cabin or cabins that will fit your needs. Each one is a very cute log cabin, and decorated in a tasteful cabin style. I'm not sure if they all have fireplaces, but ours did. They are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Each has a front porch with a bench. No fridges, no coffee maker, but it was available in the front office. You could walk or take a short drive to a variety of restaurants in town. Not cheap, not expensive, kinda in the middle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schmidtgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponchatoula, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

we had to go get light bulbs there was 5 blowed bulbs , one of the light switches shot fire when we first turned it on,the rooms were nice ,coffee was like water ,just needs repairs,I was told the that takes care of this place was ill

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laqueta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#29 of 39 in West Yellowstone
550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernation Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernation Station

Property: Hibernation Station
Address: 212 Gray Wolf Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9543
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hibernation Station 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibernation Station is a luxurious log cabin resort located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park. Our cabins are all individually decorated, with Tapestry walls, hand made log furniture and goose down comforters on the beds. We have several different sizes and styles of cabins to choose from. Offering amenities to serve families and couples. Make us your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hibernation Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernation Station Hotel West Yellowstone
Hibernation Station West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing