We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A top recommendation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“A top recommendation”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had originally planned to stay in Yellowstone Park itself but discovered that the hotel rooms there get booked up well in advance. The next best thing is to stay close to an entrance to the park and West Yellowstone is perfectly situated (picked up from trawling through other Trip Advisor contributions). It is a short drive from the toll booth, which is at the edge of West Yellowstone, along the Madison River valley to bring you to the Loop Road and then the choice is yours as to which way you go.

As there was just two of us the Moose Cabin seemed the perfect size as after the single bedroom other guests would be on sofa beds in the lounge area. For us it was very, very comfortable with a great bed, good heating (needed for the snow in late May!) and the benefit of a huge washer and separate dryer which was perfect to launder our stuff half way through the holiday.

One of the other advantages of having this type of accommodation is that after long days in the park it is good to collapse with takeaway rather than having to go out again to find a restaurant. The cabin is well equipped for this purpose with a largish kitchen area and seating at the bar for meals. In all probability you will not spend large amounts of time here if you are maximising park sightseeing but it is a great base to have to come back to.

In the mornings we caught some breakfast from a drive thru coffee shop on Firehole Avenue called Go Go Espresso which does great coffee and pastries and then stopped at a suitable pull off in the park with a stunning view.

We booked the cabin directly with Cynthia via email and telephone from the UK which worked perfectly. The instructions which you are sent are comprehensive and easy to follow. Parking for your car is immediately outside on a wide gravel road as seen in the photograph.

If you want a home from home then pick the Wildlife Cabins.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybil_Fawlty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    17
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
50
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ballwin, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our stay (2-8 June 2013) at Moose Cabin was wonderful. It's great to return to a very well equipped cabin you can call home away from home after exploring Yellowstone all day. Cynthia also helped set up back to back excursions of Yellowstone which were absolutely great!. She was so helpful and very knowledgeable and always available if we needed tips on wildlife sightings. She helped make our vacation a great memory, so much we plan on returning. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Moose Cabin, and of course our visit to Yellowstone via snowmobile (which Cynthia helped arrange). We were only there for 2 nights, but it was quiet, warm and cozy and great place to come back to after our long day of snowmobiling in the park-which I highly recommend! The cabin has one bedroom, a bath, living and kitchen area. It also has a laundry facility, which we didn't need, but was nice to know it was available. Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kridar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Just what we needed! a self contained cabin with comforts after days of exploring/ skiing.

First up, whilst Cynthia (the owner) left us to do our own things, she also helped us by organising our activities and was on call for any other help that was needed- we were most thankful.

Besides being nice and toasty, the cabin also had great WiFi which was also a bonus. We were able to easily walk to most of the activities around West Yellowstone, with the skiing areas being only 10 minutes away!

Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bantona2098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed in Bear Cabin for three nights in Sept. 2012 and greatly enjoyed our experience. Bear Cabin is a 2 bedroom, 2 bath stand alone unit located on Geyser Street in West Yellowstone. The environment was comfortable and restful and a great retreat after long days touring Yellowstone National Park. The cabin is loaded with bear knickknacks right down to the toilet paper holders. Each bedroom has a queen bed and there are plenty of futons for other guests. Along with the two bedrooms is an entry way with a futon, a large living room with two futons and a full sized kitchen which is equipped with all the appliances, utensils, pots, pans, and dishes that one would ever need. There is also a washer and dryer in the unit.The unit even has two small front yards where one can sit and relax outside. Prices were very reasonable given the fact it is located in such a high volume tourist area. Check in instructions were emailed a month in advance of our arrival and the process could not have been easier. I highly recommend Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins. Just remember that they are located in the town and not in the park or even the countryside but you are only a mile from the west entrance of Yellowstone National Park.

Room Tip: Bear Cabin is a must for large groups of people traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hokie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was our second visit to Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins. We stayed in Bison home in July 2011 and Wolf home in August 2012. Both stays exceeded our expectations. Cynthia has vast knowledge of the area and a lot of vacation options. Not eating at restaurants saves time and money. Everything is here, full size appliances, washer and dryer and a large BBQ. Bison home does not have a TV which is good because in Wolf home the kids stayed up all night watching TV. WiFi worked great, and it's an easy walk to shops and the museum. We will stay with Cynthia again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in the bison home. We are 2 adults and 2 teens (a boy and a girl, so we need 3 beds). There are 2 distinct bedrooms here and a kitchen. This place is very comfortable, quiet: a good alternative to hotels. If we had to come back here we would choose again this place!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DocteurPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins

Property: Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins
Address: 225 Geyser, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins offers deluxe and budget conscious units. We have 1 2 or 3 bedrooms and 1 or 2 baths. All units have full kitchens, W&D, all linens, pots and pans, gas BBQs, and secure wi-fi. Some units have flat screens TVs (satellite); fireplaces, and so much more. The Bear Cabin sleeps 7; the Moose Cabin sleeps 4; the Wolf Home sleeps 6: the Bison Home sleeps 4; The Elk Home sleeps 6; the NEW Fox Cabin sleeps 6. All of these units are nice and spacious.Want to have room to stretch out? Don't want neighbors on the other side of the wall? Then stay with us! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins Hotel West Yellowstone
Yellowstone Wildlife Cabins West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing