We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar N Ranch Restaurant

Bar N Ranch Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bar N Ranch Restaurant has changed the epicurean landscape of southwestern Montana. Offering world-class cuisine to a colorful pallet of visitors has brought to our small mountain community a taste of something wonderful. In honoring the value of tradition while embracing bold and daring ideas, the Bar N has become a landmark restaurant Yellowstone Country. Full bar, exceptional wine list. Dinner & Breakfast Service. Advanced reservations are encouraged.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us, so we had high expectations - they were met! The food, service and atmosphere were worth the short drive out of town. The food quality was great (I had the best duck dish ever!) and the portions are generous - we had to skip dessert. The service was excellent; friendly and attentive. The interior decor and layout prevent a large space feeling like a barn, and there are excellent views through the large windows. Prices were similar to rest of West Yellowstone eateries, but the standard was a step above. Recommended if you are visiting the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Baz_of_the_Gong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    98
    45
    23
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Should Be #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Great food, Great service, Great atmosphere. I don't know how a coffee stand and an ice cream shop are ranked higher in the restaurant category for West Yellowstone except that perhaps travelors have not tried this place. It is fine dining and a short drive from the middle of town, but soooo worth it! The food is great and different. My husband had the elk and buffalo burger and said it was the best burger he ever had. I had the trout and it was fantastic. I had ordered the spinach and strawberry salad, but the chef was not happy with the quality of the spinach they had gotten so asked if I wanted something else. WOW. Most places would have just served it. I was so impressed. Ended up with the wedge, which was wonderful. I highly recommend you try this. It is a little hard to find, but worth it. Oh, and the views are beautiful no matter where you are seated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VVC0634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and a Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have a small cabin near the Bar N and we have eaten there several times. I'm not sure when they changed owners but we have always had very nice meals there and the wait staff is just great, welcoming and efficient. Be warned, many f the dishes are rich and more than plentiful. The deserts are huge and we usually split one.

We will ge going back again next year. We look forward to eating there again and seeing old friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaVoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yellowstone, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

When to dinner for our anniversary. Was not disappointed. The food was great. The staff very
friendly. We will be back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
1 review
“nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

enjoyed the view, service was nice, food was average we had the special of fish. Love the
location and atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shifting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar N Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bar N Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing