We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dinning and excllent food”

Bar N Ranch Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$42
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Bar N Ranch Restaurant has changed the epicurean landscape of southwestern Montana. Offering world-class cuisine to a colorful pallet of visitors has brought to our small mountain community a taste of something wonderful. In honoring the value of tradition while embracing bold and daring ideas, the Bar N has become a landmark restaurant Yellowstone Country. Full bar, exceptional wine list. Dinner & Breakfast Service. Advanced reservations are encouraged.
Oviedo,Fl
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Elegant dinning and excllent food”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Bar N Ranch is about 6 miles from West Yellowstone in the middle of what used to be a cow pasture. The view of the snow capped mountains from our table was outstanding. The food choices were many and the items my wife and I ordered were superb. The wine list was incredible . Service was what was expected in higher end restaurant - also excellent. It is expensive but worth it. We will return and have recommended the Bar N Ranch Restaurant to others.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BunsenBurner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    104
    50
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great dining eperience”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is the finest restaurant in the West Yellowstone area. They vary their menu with unique foods for this area. The Bison Bone-in rib eye is outstanding. The staff is competent and friendly. They had a wine list is excellent. For anyone looking for fine dining, this is your place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Mass
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I ate at this restaurant 7 of the 10 nights we were in West Yellowstone. I loved the wedge salad!!! Everything about the restaurant was great. It's a beautiful setting, and the wine list is very reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ruffles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner with a Beautiful View”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had a terrific dinner at the Bar N Ranch just outside of West Yellowstone, Montana. It had just snowed and the view from the dining room was amazing. The food and service were great; overall, a terrific meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than amazing steak”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Really great restaurant, and very handy for those staying at Yellowstone Under Canvas which is nearby, but would also be worth a car journey.

We went there twice. The first time we had an amazing steak dinner, which was just perfect - cooked perfectly, great accompaniments. The second time we had Buffalo burger - which was also just fantastic.

Price is pretty reasonable, bearing in mind the quality of the food, the great service and the setting. It was lovely to watch the sun go down over the mountains and to enjoy the ambience of the ranch.

If you are anywhere near this place, then make a detour and spend some time there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar N Ranch Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bar N Ranch Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing