We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kirkwood Resort & Marina
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We didn't want to pay West Yellowstone prices so we found this gem rt up the road.
It's located on Lake Hebgen so the view that greets you out your window is water and mountains. Just beautiful.
It is dated, but clean. The staff is great.
Highly recommend if you're looking for a place near Yellowstone or Big Sky and don't mind a short drive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Kirkwood Resort is an easy 20 mile commute to Yellowstone and sits just across from a beautiful lake. Our cabin came with all linen, some dishes, micro, fridge,2 plate stove, bbq and a 13 inch TV with 3 channels. It also came with WiFi. Over all we had a great time, the beds were comfortable and the small cabin cozy and clean when we arrived. The one draw back was that when we checked in we were told that they had limited cleaning service and do not do daily cleanings. The problem was that we were there for 6 nights and we had to ask to get new towels and more toilet paper and they never did change the sheets, sweep the floor or even come into our cabin that I could tell. I understand and do not have a problem with limited service but you would think after 3 days they would at least come and freshen it up. That was really my only problem the people were very friendly and overall we still had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were very disappointed in the cabin. 200 - 300 earwigs (small ugly nocturnal bugs; Google to learn more) over the course of a week found and killed in our room. Plug to the bathroom sink was underneath and did not work properly. Toilet was dirty. Kitchen floor was dirty and not cleaned after requested. Microwave gross on the top inside. No power to a set of plugs in the kitchen. Looks like they had not dusted in many months high spots or the television, baseboards, blinds. We had no other options, all booked around and would have lost the cost of the booking if we left early plus prematurely ended our vacation. It is a shame that the cabin did not match the scenery just outside the front door! Flowers outside were beautiful. We were not expecting 5-star accommodations as would be found at the Fire Hole Ranch across the lake but were expecting a clean cabin with no bugs. Seems like a reasonable expectation?

Room Tip: Checking trip advisor may help in locating a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 222Worldtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Resort is a bit of a reach. Really this is an RV park, with some camp sites and a few cabins on one end of the property, and a small marina and boat launching area across the street.

The property is located right on US-287 on the shore of Hebgen Lake. Gas and some basic food are available at the camp store, plus a food truck is parked on site. The closest town is West Yellowstone about 20 minutes away by car, which has stores and restaurants. Travel time to Yellowstone National Park is about 20 minutes as well.

We stayed for three nights in a Rendezvous cabin which was duplex and had a living area with a full kitchen and a double bed plus dining table, and a separate bedroom with a king-sized bed. Most of the furniture was quite used, the gas stove and fridge were old, kitchen utensils, pots, pans, plates etc. as well, but everything was functional in all fairness. Other amenities included a coffee maker, toaster, microwave, and TVs in the living and bedrooms (3 channels). A charcoal grill and a bench were outside. The cabin got quite hot during the day and when cooking and didn't have AC (we have seen simple one-room cabins in a nearby state park that had a window AC) which was a bit annoying. Generally things cooled down during the night. We traveled with our own table fan which made things more bearable. WIFI was available. Pets were allowed. We used the full kitchen a few times.

Cleanliness was an issue, the cabin was cleaned just before we arrived but then there wasn't any room service for the first two nights.

The extra room available in the cabin compared to a what would have been available in a standard hotel room was appreciated. Ultimately though the cost of staying was a bit too high for the amenities and the location of the cabin. Adding a window air conditioner, improving the room cleaning, and replacing the dishware/pots and pans would go a long way to making this a candidate for a higher rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rttroeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Loved the location on Hebgen lake! Awesome scenery right out our cabin door BUT they never made our bed or changed our sheets. We stayed for 4 nights! Slept 6 people cabin but only 4 forks!? Young kids cleaning and did not do a good job at all! Friendly staff but don't count on them following through with what they have posted in your cabin. Like cleaning daily! Over all we had a blast and the view of the lake was great. Cleaning was a big disappointment! Old appliances in the room too. I think if they invested more in the place they would have better satisfied guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mecheek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

For those visiting West Yellowstone, the Kirkwood is an easy 15 minute drive to town.

It is a great option for staying out of the local "strip mall" hotels located in the city. if you rent a cabin it will by far exceed the run of the mill hotel room in size and price. The option for having multiple beds for a larger number of guests staying in a cabin is a good draw.

For previous reviewers I would have to ask: what were your expectations for a "resort" and what was the purpose of your stay? What were your expectations for the money you were willing to spend? Had you priced the hotels in town?

What to expect: Clean, comfortable rooms, clean linens,ample parking, small convenience store on site, Kitchenettes in rooms,wifi access for a fee, outdoor grills,easy dock access, good local restaurants along the lake, boat parking, pontoon boat rentals, beautiful scenery.
What not to expect: cable. But why would you want to sit around all day in a cabin all day when there is so much to see and do? The rooms may not have the authentic lodge feel of local hotels/motels but they are by far roomier and having a kitchenette saves money if you are on a budget. Most cabins are duplexes, so chances are you may have a neighbor.

The Kirkwood had just gone through a management change when we stayed there. New managers seemed very helpful and encouraged feedback from us so they could improve for customers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The name leads you to believe you're getting something more. I booked the 'Teepee' thinking it would be fun for our kids after spending 5 days in hotels and offer us a different experience. So after lugging our camping gear 2000 miles, I was very disappointed when I arrived to find their 'resort' was nothing of the kind, and the teepee was dirty, torn and had mould growing inside. Extremely unhealthy! I don't understand why they allow the teepee to even be booked.

Lucky for us (convenient for them) they had one cabin left for the two night we were there and gave us a 10% discount. We really didn't have any other options, but the cabin was clean and comfortable. They were fairly large, as we needed one of our kids to sleep on the airmattress as there were two beds (king and single) in the room. The TV is tiny, especially for the size of the room. We didn't spend much time in the room or at the 'resort'. I had hoped for more looking at their website and believing I'd book a nice resort on the waterfront. The marina is actually across the road and if you don't have a boat, you're out of luck.

If you want a cheap basic cabin not in West Yellowstone, then try this, but if not, I'd skip the 'resort'.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
15.8 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
15.8 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
261 reviews
15.6 mi away
Yellowstone Cabins and RV Park
Yellowstone Cabins and RV Park
#31 of 36 in West Yellowstone
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Evergreen Motel
Evergreen Motel
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
444 reviews
16.0 mi away
Tao's Inn
Tao's Inn
#3 of 7 in West Yellowstone
44 reviews
15.8 mi away
Moose Creek Cabins and Inn
Moose Creek Cabins and Inn
#10 of 36 in West Yellowstone
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kirkwood Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Resort & Marina

Address: 35 Kirkwood Crk, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9770
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £38 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kirkwood Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Resort & Marina West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing