We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding mexian food”

Taqueria Las Palmitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Restaurant converted from an old school bus.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant converted from an old school bus.
Boise, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“outstanding mexian food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is the type of mexican food you hope to find everytime you go to a mexican restaurant. Don't know what happened to the people who wrote bad reviews, because we eat in Mexico every year and this is about as close as it comes. Yes it's more expensive than most taco trucks, but this is west yellowstone after all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachRunner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    110
    29
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fun Food!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Very cool idea, could see how it would get a bit uncomfortable if packed, but there are tables outside too. My family had a really fun experiance with excellent food quality. I asked for spicy and they delivered. My daughter is very picky and even her prudish tastes were met. (I was a bit shocked) Had a sudden shower/hail storm lasting about 5-10 minutes while we were eating that added to the ambiance. Seemed pretty authentic to me, an well priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Unique setting for a really good lunch. Service was quick, you can see into the entire kitchen and it was spotless, and everything was super tasty. Prices were very reasonable for quality.

Helpful?
Thank foodie406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Great burritos, tacos and enchiladas. This is authentic Mexican, not Taco Bell. Great crane asada. They have Mexican soda too. Great repurposing of a school bus.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kumar0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is good Mexican? - Not what I had”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Maybe I just have to chalk my bad experience here to expectations. I ordered the six tacos for ten bucks. I'm usually more of a burrito guy, but it seemed like a good meal to take back to the RV. As we were driving back, I remarked to my wife that the prices seemed like usual sit-down restaurant prices. While there is a snack bar and picnic tables outside, there are no servers. You order your food at a window and take it to eat wherever you want. That's ok. That's what I expected.
We got back to the RV and I was surprised when I opened the plate. Six, small, soft, flat, flour tacos with the various items I ordered: spicy pork, shredded beef and chicken. I guess this is Mexican style, but certainly not $10 worth, and not what I was expecting.
The spicy pork was tasteless and not spicy. The chicken was tasteless. The shredded beef was pretty good. I was still hungry after eating the entire plate. Far from my usual experience where Mexican restaurants give way too much food.
On a positive note - it did clean out my lower digestive system. I will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taqueria Las Palmitas also viewed

 

Been to Taqueria Las Palmitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing