We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Airport Restuarant”

The Smokejumper Cafe
Price range: US$7 - US$16
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We take special pride and the freshest ingredients to provide our guests with a quality, affordable dining experience. First in gluten free, with dedicated appliances and homemade batters. It is our mission to cater to the needs and exceed the expectations of those with food allergies and specific dietary concerns. Or just a picky palate! You Cant Fake Fresh!
Montana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Airport Restuarant”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A nice breakfast or lunch. Open from May thru September. Not just for the traveler at the Airport, many locals love to come here for real good food!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, HI
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food at a very random spot”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Yellowstone was our 4th park in 5 weeks and we wanted a decent meal. Tapped into Tripadvisor for guidance. We are not from these parts, and not used to being cold in July so I was wanting soup, husband wanted to try a Buffalo burger before we left these parts and our son just wanted something to eat. The Smokejumper Cafe definitely peaked our interest. However, when we turned into a very quiet, little airport we thought for sure we were lost. But alas we saw a small group of folks talking outside the Smokejumpers Cafe. It was almost closing time but the owner had no problem suggesting his famous Lobster Bisque (how did he know??), a Buffalo Burger for hubby (How did he know??) and Chicken Fingers for our son. The meal was excellent. The lobster bisque was so good we were all eating it. Bill enjoyed his Buffalo with fresh fixings and the chicken fingers were a hit. We felt like long lost family. We had a great time chatting while James while he was cooking away. I offered to help close up but he wouldn't have it. What a great place. Definitely worth the stopover. I would suggest you check the hours of operation since I don't think he has a long dinner hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kailani001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food find in an odd place”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A friend and I had driven from Island Park Idaho over to a hardware store in West Yellowstone to get some fix-it itemsin July. As I was not really familiar with the area yet, I asked an employee for a lunch recommendation. He asked me if I wanted tourist or good food. Good food I replied. He told us about Smokejumper Cafe. He said it looked kind of odd from the outside, but we wouldn't be disappointed with the food. When we arrived at the airport we commented on the exterior appearance of the place, but went in. James, the owner/waiter/cook, told us to pick a table and he would be right over. The lunch we had was excellent!! We both had shakes and I had the Lobster Roll. WOW! Lots of lobster! James is a friendly, unassuming, well educated guy who loves to cook and he made us feel right at home. Summer has passed and I have still not eaten in West Yellowstone yet. Just ate at SJ cafe again and was again impressed. This time his special cut Prime Rib Sandwhich and Lobster Bisque. Again, WOW! His fries, onion rings and bread are fresh made and the flavors and texture verify that claim. Be brave! Drive 2 miles out to the West Yellowstone Airport and enjoy a great meal in an odd place!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yellowstone, Montana, United States
2 reviews
“Great food AND service!!!”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great food and specials, the house wings are a custom delicious sauce! We have been there a couple times now, and will return often!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yellowstone, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Cafe Meal. Closes at 6 PM”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Terrific lobster roll and patty melt. Drove a couple of miles out of town to the airport and it was worth it. Had a lovely frosty $4.00 glass of wine. it was a pleasure to meet James, owner and chef. Open for breakfast and lunch also. We'll be back sometime during out visit to Yellowstone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Smokejumper Cafe also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to The Smokejumper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing