We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lotus

Red Lotus
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New Chinese restaurant in the old Bullwinkle's West location just opened October, 2011. Phone 406-646-7002
Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We go yearly to West Yellowstone and dine at the Red Lotus. We love the food and the Mongolian beef is my favorite. Service is quick, reasonable prices for where you are...great to have this option especially during the winter months. Will be visiting again:)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TanyaJCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    55
    50
    31
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hot and sour soup.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Recommended by our hotel staff. We agree! The selection is mice, the food is fresh and well prepared - nice and spicy. The members of our family that do not like spice were happy with theirs as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Plain, but expensive Chinese home cooking in a tough tourist town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

West Yellowstone is an obligatory tourist town that must make all their yearly earning in about six months. There are more tourist traps, fast food joints, and “Chinese” restaurants than rats and cockroaches. Low expectations are probably appropriate for most restaurants here. We tried this place upon recommendation of a local guide. They do have a menu in Chinese, and Mr. Chan the proprietor further recommend fresh trout for this homeboy and his wife. We ordered 3 dishes, the steamed “we only have 4 left” trout, a Chinese vegetable, and a sauté gai lan with beef. All are edible, but nothing to write home about. The meal cost ~$100, about 2.5 times the expected cost of the same meal in any big US city. I suspect they are the best of Chinese food in West Yellowstone. But after a week of steak and potato, this tourist is relieved to have a green Chinese “veggie fix”, no matter how humble.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vct123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Cultural Seperation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

I ate at this place with my Daughter who has been learning japanese. She was able to clue me into what was going on. We were sat in a section by the door, meanwhile a Chinese tour group was sat on the other side of the wall that runs down the middle of this restaurant. That wall is important. It is there so that the Chinese customers can feel separated from the customers from other races that might come in. The Chinese do not approve of mixing if they can help it.

As multiple reviewers have pointed out, this place is run by Chinese immigrants FOR chinese tourists. If you can get past that you will be just fine.

That being said , even though we were on the Gweilo side of the restaurant, the food was still very good. I think they just can't help it. My daughter had the corn soup and loved it. both of our dishes were tasty and served quickly. This was a monday lunch time, so things in all of west yellowstone were just a little slower, which might explain why we did not have the problems others had.

All in all i recommend it, if for no other reason than you now know what is going on and you can come experience what it feels like to be on the outside of a group for once.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not a good place to have Chinese food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

I totally understand this town is a remote tourist place, and should not compare with San Francisco or New York City. I checked out this place the night before we went, it looks clean and décor is fine. But when we stepped into it next day, I realize I made a wrong choice. Here are some comments I can offer to other travelers who may crave for a good Chinese meal on the road:
1. If you are not with a Chinese people tour group - don't come.
2. If you are thinking about fair priced Chinese food - don't come.
3. If you are a Chinese travel with your family, friends - don't come. Oh, do NOT order from the Chinese menu, it will cost you a arm and a leg!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 06Traveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lotus also viewed

 

Been to Red Lotus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing