We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Grayson, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Great Stay....”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We just got back from a 7 day 4300 mile trip across the country. We spent 2 nights at the Kelly Inn in West Yellowstone and LOVED it! Decor was beautiful (we loved the carved bear that was looking in our 3rd floor window each morning), breakfast was abundant and free, and the beds slept like a dream. The kids loved the pool and the sauna. We loved the location....right at the park entrance!!! Thank you for making some weary travelers welcome!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilabrammell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your extended trip. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your entire Yellowstone experience will be one that you will never forget. With so many miles traveled and so many hotel nights to compare, we are honored that you gave us such a great review. Thank you. We hope that you will consider staying at a Kelly Inn property on your next adventure. Our Kelly Inn web site lists all of our many hotel brands located in other parts of the country that we hope you will have an opportunity to visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    326
    135
    32
    21
See reviews for
417
357
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

If you are staying in West Yellowstone and intend to have something other than a "standard stay", this a very good alternative to the "regular hotels" across the way from the Discovery Center. Staff was friendly, breakfast OK (nothing spectacular so we went to the McDonald's next door), and room was clean and decorated with "bear themes". Do take the time to wander the building to see the many cute bear carvings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gpabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thank you for recognizing our efforts to add the little touches to make our hotel the best choice for lodging in our little wilderness town. We are well known for our numerous carved bears and other critters located in secret places for children to discover. Occasionally they may even find one peaking in a window. In the last year we have added new pillow top beds, new flat screen TVs and new cedar log furniture to every room just to keep us a step above. We're glad to hear that you appreciated the difference.

We're sorry to hear that you didn't take the opportunity to try out our new summer breakfast offering of scrambled eggs, link sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, oatmeal, 4 cold cereals and all of the usual continental breakfast offerings along with our new Boyd's coffee, hot chocolate and 3 cold juices. Since we serve between 200-300 guests each morning it can get a bit hectic at peak rush hour so we added considerable additional seating poolside this year.

Although we certainly want to support our local restaurants, we realize that it can be quite expensive to eat 3 meals a day at restaurants near or inside the park. We choose to offer our free unlimited breakfast every morning from 6:30 AM until 10:00 AM to help make a Yellowstone vacation a little more affordable and a little more convenient to have time to eat and still get into the park early each day. We hope you get a chance to enjoy it on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our oldest daughter when we visited Yellowstone 7 years ago, and had such a nice experience, that when we came back to Yellowstone with our girls (now 6 & 9) we decided to stay there again. The staff was wonderful, and the rooms are clean. A great place to stay!!

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CrawfordMomOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Thanks for returning to stay with us again this year. I'm sure you noticed a lot of changes from seven years ago. Our new Beautyrest pillow top beds, 37 inch LCD TVs and rustic lodge furniture have all been added since you were last here along with an upgraded breakfast offering and a remodel of our breakfast seating area. We hope you won't have to wait another seven years to visit us again to see our next round of upgrades. If your California girls have never been on a snowmobile or done any cross country skiing, this is the absolute best place in the world for an outstanding winter experience. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Yellowstone more often in the future and see what the summer only visitors are missing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

Everything is good. Clean and tide. Internet access is slow. The in-door pool is attractive but full of disinfectant smell. My eyes and mouth get immediate uncomfortable when I step in the door

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbicider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for choosing our Kelly Inn on your recent visit to Yellowstone. Thanks also for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel despite a couple of minor concerns.

In regards to internet speed:
Due to our location in a wilderness area, there is a very limited amount of bandwidth available in West Yellowstone. Bandwidth availability is what limits the amount of internet volume and therefore the speed of downloading files, video, E-mail and web pages. After several years of frustrating delays with the National Park Service and National Forest Service, our local internet provider was finally allowed to lay new lines to Gardiner, MT that provided additional wireless bandwidth increases to West Yellowstone this year. The entire West Yellowstone bandwidth is still quite limited compared to large cities but we were able to increase ours by 300% this year. However, we still must restrict each individual user to 550K in order to keep a few individuals from dominating the entire internet service by downloading hug video files. Our free WIFI allocation is shared by 78 rooms and hundreds of guests with smart phones, tablets and laptops. A restriction of 550K is fine for E-mails and web searching but is too slow to stream video, or download other large files. The trade off allows many more guests to access the internet at the same time. We apologize if those restrictions prevented you from utilizing the internet the same way that you might from your own home.

Public pool and hot tub sanitation standards and ventilation requirements are established by the state for all public pools. With so many people using public pools there are much stricter standards of sanitation required to protect the safety of our guests. The disinfectant levels required by the state cause no discomfort to most people but there are always exceptions. Our levels of sanitation chemicals are automatically controlled by very sensitive computer controls. Levels vary slightly during the day depending on the number of active bathers and the level of contaminants introduced into the water during any period of time. Our levels are monitored continually by the computer equipment but still measured manually twice daily per state law to maintain proper levels. We apologize if your sensitivity to chlorine caused you any discomfort in our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey, Idaho, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have been bringing my class of sixth graders to the the Kelly Inn in West Yellowstone for 8 years. I cannot say enough about the service and the personal of the Kelly Inn. They have always been very willing to help us in any way. I really enjoy the fact that they are located right across from the Imax and the Bear, Wolf Discovery Center. The front desk staff has always taken the time to talk to my students and ask about the things they have seen in the park. The breakfast is always ready and there is enough for everyone. The housekeeping stuff, especially Delfino, will and has gone beyond what is asked to make things right. This Inn is more like coming home then just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. You know we love having your group come every year since they are always so well behaved. We wish every adult tour group was as pleasant to host as your group of 6th graders. You and the other adult volunteers in your group do a wonderful job of assuring the kids respect the other guests in the hotel so that everyone has a good time. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to host your class again this year. We hope every child will remember their trip to Yellowstone for a lifetime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We spent 3 nights at Kelly Inn recently. Pretty good experience overall. Checkin was a breeze even though the hotel was overflowing with mainland Chinese tourists. Room was large, airy and very clean. Good selection of toiletries and a large toilet, though the lack of ventilation in it made it smelly at times. Excellent location, just off Yellowstone avenue, close to the major attractions of W Yellowstone. Choice of many dining options, all within walking distance (well, West Yellowstone itself is tiny). Very close to the National Park entrance as well. The breakfast was nice, choice of breads, cereals, eggs and sausages and a variety of juices. Friendly staff. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the ground level if you have issues with pets since they allow pets in those rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitabha_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for submitting a review of your stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay with us again. As you mentioned we are a pet friendly hotel. Our first floor rooms are generally reserved in advance by those with pets because out the second doorway to the outside. However we restrict third floor from any pets to insure that those with allergies to pets can reserve a room that no pets have ever been in. Our bathroom exhaust system automatically operates whenever the bathroom light is turned on so leaving the light on is the best way to exhaust the air when needed. Since the exhaust system is in the attic it does not create any noise in the room so it is not obviuos. Based on your comment we should probably place a sign in the bathroom to inform guests about how it works. Thanks for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

the rooms were big, clean, and nice. we stayed two nights. we arrived pretty early on our first day and they let us check in early which was nice. the first day and night were great because it was quiet. the breakfast was great for being free. they had pancakes and donuts and other stuff. they pool was great. the only problem was that our second day was that a whole bunch of school kids and breakfast was hard to get too and the pool area was crazy but i guess that is not their fault. the hotel is close to everything. overall it was good.

Room Tip: make sure it isn't too busy because breakfast gets crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campercasado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. You arrived just before the beginning of the busiest season when the first of the tour groups begin arriving in town. Yellowstone Park has about 3.5 million visitors every year and most arrive between Memorial Day and Labor Day. Therefore we are usually completely full most of the summer season. That is why experienced return visitors to Yellowstone typically choose to visit in the fall when rates are quite good, the crowds have diminished and the weather is far more predictable than spring. It actually snowed pretty hard for a few days just after you left so you hit a very good May weather week to visit the park. We hope you will have an opportunity to return in the winter and see the other side of Yellowstone and find out why we are often called the "snowmobile capital of the world".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing