We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Madison Hotel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Bear Lodge(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Lodge(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Traveler's Lodge(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Alpine Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,012)
Filter reviews
1,012 results
Traveller rating
484
334
140
32
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
334
140
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry saunahot souppancake makerfirst floorcomfortable bedsking sizein towngreat place to staywithin walking distancegrizzly and wolf discovery centerfront desk staffimax theaterpark entrancefresh fruitthe breakfast arearooms are largefree breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
558 - 563 of 1,012 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Typically we make it a point to stay at the Hampton Inn chain which we can always depend on. So when we had to go with another choice, we tried to find a place with similar amenities.

We were confused by the reviews and hotel description on what the continental breakfast consisted of. We called the hotel to get clarification. This helped make our choice to stay here. The breakfast included cooked as well as hard boiled eggs, breads, pancakes, cereal, many drink choices, etc. Overall, a great selection. The hotel seems to be a popular hit with the Chinese tour bus crowd, so when I went down for breakfast I was caught up in the madness one day and the rest of the days I came after they ate, so many things were picked over. I was never without, so no complaints there.

Our family had 6 people and we got 3 rooms total. The 3rd floor had no pets allowed so that was good since allergies are an issue. My room was next to the elevator so there were people talking while waiting late at night or in the morning. We also had an adjoining room and we could hear everything our neighbor was saying and yelling. That was not good. During the night it seemed quiet.

Very friendly staff and welcoming when we arrived.

The room was good. Nothing special. The bathroom sink was not in the bathroom, rather in the room which we are not a fan of. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were unsupportive. The heating and cooling was not controlled by a thermostat, rather a dial on the system. Hard to get a comfort zone, so we left the window open at night.

Great location. A short walk to downtown.

I would probably see what other places to stay at if I were to come back to W. Yellowstone. We did plan this trip at the very last minute so our choices were limited. If I had to stay here again, I would. Not a bad place at all.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators, go early for breakfast (by 7am) to avoid the tour bus crowd.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayaJinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent visit. We appreciate that you took the time to add your specific comments to our growing list of reviews. Your detailed descriptions may be helpful to others making their lodging choices in the future. As you noted breakfast can be a bit crowded early in the mornings when the bus tour folks are having breakfast at the same time.

Most people are not aware that Yellowstone is now a favorite destination for many folks from China who frequently travel our country in those large tour groups. This is a relatively new but quickly increasing trend. According to most reports US tourism from China is going to grow at an exponential rate over the next decade. Lodging, food service and transportation in the Yellowstone area will need to adjust to this new explosive trend just as is has adjusted to the changes in tourism over the last hundred years. Yellowstone currently accommodates over 3.5 million visitors a year which is already a strain on the lodging and food service resources currently available. That is less than one third of one percent of China's current population. We would encourage anyone who plans to visit Yellowstone in their lifetime to do so in the near future while it is still relatively affordable and convenient for the average American family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

I had to write a review because I saw so many bad things from people. I love this hotel! I have stayed her for many years. They have just remodeled and Iove the decor they have chosen. The beds are very comfortable . I saw people complain about the snow but this IS yellowstone country!! I always stay here . I know it's clean and updated!! Love it!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We appreciate that you don't agree with some of the negative comments you might have read in a handful of poor reviews. We do occasionally get a poor review during peak season from new visitors who don't understand why the summer rates in the Yellowstone area are so high. They understandably compare their expectations to hotels in other parts of the country and often voice concerns about value for the dollar paid at this time of year. Their reviews are just as important to the total mix as the positive reviews so that all potential guests have the opportunity to review all opinions before making their lodging choice. That is the great thing about user TripAdvisor to do research before planning a trip. We are proud to have more reviews than any other hotel in the Yellowstone area and are rated higher than any other hotel of our size in the area. Many new guests tell us that the reason that they chose us is because of our reviews and our responses. That is why we encourage every guest to write a review and we still personally respond to every review. We generally suggest that new visitors choose a time outside of peak season for their first visit if value is a priority so they won't be disappointed. Unfortunately many people simply don't read the reviews until after they have made their trip and discovered how overly crowded and expensive everything in the Yellowstone area is during peak season. We certainly appreciate comments from our returning guests like you who have stayed at other hotels in the area or in other seasons and have made us their lodging choice for their future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at Kelly Inn. The room was very nice and comfortable and the breakfast was good. My wife loved the wooden bears climbing around the outside.

Traveling with our little dog we needed a pet friendly room. We have previously stayed in some really run down pet friendly rooms in West Yellowstone. So we paid a bit more to stay at the Kelly Inn and were well rewarded. The room was very clean and nicely furnished.

We will certainly stay there on our next trip to YNP.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It does take a bit of extra care to maintain a pet friendly hotel but as pet owners ourselves, it is a niche that we love to serve. Our family of returning pet owners continues to grow every year. Since we must maintain our third floor no pet rooms for those who have allergies to lovable furry creatures, we recommend that pet owners reserve early and direct with our front desk staff so we can assure a first or second floor room for them. Most online travel agencies do not have the ability to indicate that a guest is traveling with a pet so we have added that feature to our web site for those who prefer to make their reservations online. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Kelly Inn. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. We got some great restaurants suggestions from them. The room is very spacious and nicely decorated. Very convenient to IMAX, Grizzly Wolf Center, Playhouse and restaurants.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for the great review. Of course we also feel that we are the nicest place to stay but it is so much nicer to hear it from our guests. We hope that we can always continue to make improvements and add more value every year so that our returning guests will always choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean and updated. We had a room with 2 king beds and its own outside entrance, which was wonderful. The decor is cute and rustic with log beds. The location is great and you can walk to shops and restaurants. The breakfast is good. Great location for visiting Yellowstone everyday, they are very close to the West entrance. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with children the double king rooms with their own outside entrance are very convenient.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keely15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would choose to stay with us again. If you ever run out of snow in Minneapolis we hope that you will come and go snowmobiling with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews