We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nice roomy room. Two king beds. Refrigerator. Loved the indoor pool. Convenient location. Good parking. Everything worked. Breakfast was adequate. Stayed 3 nights & would return. Had a couple of good dinners downtown. Price seemed in line with other places at that time of year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and would return to stay with us again. We certainly hope that you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

532 - 538 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms Big. Soft Comfortable Beds. Linen Soft Except Towels Were Rough. Staff Helpful. We Saw Downtown Shops, Then Headed To Watch Two IMAX Films. No Lodging In The Park, But This Was Very Cosy. They Even Had An Outdoor Little Fire Pit You Could Sit Around.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. You were one of the first guests to try out our patio with our new fire pit. It has been extremely well received by those who like to have breakfast outdoors and those who love to sit out in the evenings and enjoy our cool nights. The fire pit is not only pretty to look at but adds a bit of warmth for those chilly nights. We hope you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I can't say that I have any complaints about the hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the property was conveniently located near the park entrance and to the center of town.

The free wifi worked ok and the free breakfast was what you would expect.

The room was a bit pricey but you have to expect that due to the proximity to the park.

Thanks to Heidi for offering some good dinner recommendations and for giving us directions to places that we needed to go.

Room Tip: The bears looking into some of the rooms may be a bit freaky. You can always close the curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us. We appreciate that you chose us and hope that you will choose us again on your next visit. The rooms with the wooden bear in the window are actually highly sought after and usually reserved far in advance by families with children. We have had a few adults who thought they were real bears on their first notice but the children usually enjoy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My 91 year old father and I stayed at the Kelly Inn of West Yellowstone for six nights just recently. We were more than pleased with the two queen bedroom on the third floor with a pleasant view of the Yellowstone landscape. The room was very quiet during the night since our room faced the south parking lot and not a busy street. Our room was nicely furnished with the beds, chairs and desk made from logs. This added to the ambiance of the room. The breakfast was above average with varied hot items each day in addition to the usual continental fare. All the staff, both day and night, were helpful and seemed very interested in our well being. I was able to walk every morning on ski trails that were in walking distance of the Kelly Inn. Restaurants, shops, in addition to the Imax Theater are also very near. I would definitely stay here again as well as to recommend this motel to friends. If you're planning on visiting Yellowstone National Park plan on staying a number of days. In our seven days here we saw everything we had planned on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlemusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you and your father enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us to others. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope that we will see you again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A good location in West Yellowstone.
The room are large and clean, we were 4 staying in the room.

Not too far from the yellowstone also quite far from the area where the most animals spoting actually happened.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to submit a review. You traveled a long way to visit Yellowstone and we hope you were able to take a lot of pictures to share back home. With over 2 million acres of park grounds naturally there are animals almost everywhere but most don't hang around near the limited roads that access the major scenic attractions. Many herds or packs migrate by season to their favorite areas where safe shelter and food sources are more plentiful. We keep maps of the park available at the front desk so that our staff can direct new visitors to the areas where they are most likely to see what is most important to them, Since other guests share their experiences with the staff daily they can often point out where recent sightings of specific animals have been reported. Some breeds are simply more easily found in wider areas than others so it helps to get a but of direction from the local staff members before beginning the search. We also highly recommend the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center across the street. It is the only safe place to get up close for a great picture of a grizzly bear or wolf and recently they have even added eagles. We hope you will share your experiences with friends and family back home so that they can plan a trip to Yellowstone some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were a part of 2 groups who spent one night. One room had 2 adults and 3 children. The large room with 2 kind beds had a wonderful western feel. There was room for the crib and all to spread out. Both rooms were clean and quiet. The free breakfast had the usual fare. But this kitchen included a pancake machine instead of the usual waffle maker. We all enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want the feel of the west, stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandi63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you will visit us again. We are always glad to meet fellow Hoosiers. We are looking forward to another exciting Colts football season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It may have been a computer glitch, but I wrote a "2-star" review awhile ago and have not seen it post yet, while other, newer reviews have posted since. Also, I've noticed that almost every single review posted on here is at least a "4-star" review or higher- with just an occasional review here and there with less than that. I've never seen such a highly reviewed hotel in all the hundreds of hotel reviews I've researched, and most of those are AMAZING hotels. So, how does this one rate so high with so many people? The reason I am suspicious is because out of ANY place we have EVER stayed (and we've traveled all over the U.S., Mexico, Canada, Iceland, Puerto Rico with my better half having stayed in Europe and more) this one ranks as one of the worst values. We paid around $550 for a two night stay here. This hotel was nowhere near the caliber of what we should have received within that dollar amount spent. I realize the Kelly Inn is in a "remote" location with less clientele in the winters. I know remote because I live in a place only accessible by boat or plane, with climates and mountains as fierce as Yellowstone. Every single thing must be delivered here by boat or plane, making the cost of living very expensive. Even here, where I live, the accommodations are more reasonably priced, offer amazing breakfast, with rooms more quaint and spacious. Per reading other reviews, one would know that the breakfast at Kelly Inn is not a perk. I realize it's quite a task to offer it as explained by the replies of the manager/owner on these reviews. It is unfortunate that that area does not seem to offer many places for folks to eat a good breakfast. If I owned the Inn I would cut out the hot food offerings and offer more simple items along with a "to go" bagged breakfast to cut down on the overcrowding at breakfast time. If anyone wants to start a restaurant business in that area, breakfast might be the thing to offer. The fact that the breakfast attendant was overwhelmed by the 100+/- hotel residents who would come down to eat at once, and that about half of the breakfast bar needed re-filling during most of the morning, deeming it more of a waste of our time than any other complimentary breakfast we've encountered in our 20 years of traveling (like waiting 20 minutes for the pancake batter to be re-filled then giving up because the line was long, making it another 15 minutes until our turn would come- and then the condiment or milk you needed would be out after that) was not what disappointed us. We just learned that we would skip the fiasco the next morning and use that hour of our vacation to spend eating a nice breakfast sandwich, leisurely, at the local cafe down the road. This hotel is best suited for the masses. The crowds that attend the hotel on bus tours probably love this hotel because it really fits their needs best. If the Kelly Inn would consider down-sizing a bit and improving upon that, I can envision a place where a family like ours might return one day. Allowing pets about the only perk. The nightly rate is outrageous considering the outdated bathrooms, carpets, and drab look to the room. There were Best Westerns and Holiday Inns nearer by which we took a peak at, where one might want to consider if they have discerning taste. They are much cheaper also. I'm grading low points for service because there was not a lot of 'service after the sale'. It took us 3 days to connect with a manager to discuss a billing issue.

Room Tip: It may be too noisy near the front reception area- especially during breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USCGWIFEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. We can assure you that there is no conspiracy to manage which of our reviews get posted. We have absolutely nothing to do with TripAdvisor's policies. If they refused to post your earlier negative review in July we can only assume that it did not meet their guidelines on your first attempt. As we have mentioned previously, by TripAdvisor policy, we are not permitted to pay for a positive review or to offer any compensation to prevent a threatened negative review. We apologize if your billing issue could not be resolved to your satisfaction which you stated is the primary reason for your low score.

We are sorry to hear that you feel that we have more positive reviews than you feel is justified. That is not something that we have any control over. We do encourage all of our guests to submit an unbiased review of their stay and we do have a lot of guests. We are proud to have more TripAdvisor reviews than any other hotel in the Yellowstone area. As you pointed out, the majority of our 400+ reviews over the last few years have not been in agreement with your personal ranking or suggestions but we do support your right to share your personal opinions with other TripAdvisor readers whether good or bad. Our ranking is purely a mathematical compilation of the total number of reviews of all hotels in the area- not a comparison of our rates or value to other amazing hotels around the world. Our guests determine our scores with their reviews. All we are allowed to do is respond- which we do to every person who takes the time to submit a review.

While we strive to add more value by making improvements every year, we would never claim that any lodging choice in the Yellowstone area in peak season could be considered a value. The only real lodging values in Yellowstone are when these same amenities are available for as little as one third as much the winter half of the year. We can certainly appreciate your comparison of the Yellowstone area to your own remote local area where you said everything must be brought in by plane or boat. If you could imagine 3.5 million visitors coming to that town every summer you might have a slightly better comparison for what amenities and rates are considered reasonable. Of course without any roads that situation would be impossible so hotels there surely must compete to serve a very limited populace to survive- much like winter here.

We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations for the price that you paid. We understand that we can not be the best fit for every family to visit Yellowstone but are always sad when a guest leaves unhappy with their lodging choice. If you should return to visit Yellowstone in the future we would gladly suggest some more affordable options or times of the year when you can obtain a better value than peak season when nearly everyone is sold out. Although the places you mentioned actually have higher rates than us most of the summer, we do recommend all guests planning their first trip to Yellowstone read the TripAdvisor reviews, and go to each hotel web site to compare actual rates and amenities for several dates before making a lodging choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
767 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £75 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing