We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Weston Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moose Creek Inn(West Yellowstone)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$410
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Desert Inn(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Park Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel(West Yellowstone)(Great Value!)
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Madison Hotel(West Yellowstone)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,014)
Filter reviews
1,014 results
Traveller rating
485
334
140
33
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
485
334
140
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry saunahot souppancake makerfirst floorcomfortable bedsking sizein towngreat place to staywithin walking distancegrizzly and wolf discovery centerfront desk staffimax theaterpark entrancefresh fruitthe breakfast arearooms are largefree breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
481 - 486 of 1,014 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. Pool is clean and well kept and so is everything about this hotel. Very comfy beds and pillows. It's right across from the bear and wolf discovery place. We have stayed twice and have always loved this hotel. Just wish it wasn't so much $

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyMacJacPaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us again. We hope you enjoyed the recent changes and will be back to see what we have planned for out next off season. As you mentioned the rates in the Yellowstone area are certainly higher than the average American town and that isn't likely to change as long as we have over 3.5 million visitors coming to our small community every year. While many of the existing lodging facilities in the area close for the winter and continue to raise their rates as they sell out every summer season, we remain open all year and strive to continue to reinvest the revenue into adding improvements and upgrades during the off season as a way of adding more value and more amenities for our returning guests. We hope that you recognize and appreciate our efforts and will continue to make us your lodging choice in the years to come. Thank you for taking the time to sumit a review of your most recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Very dog friendly. We asked for ground floor rooms and were pleased to discover we had entrances to our room from both the interior hall and the parking lot. We were here in May. Room was large, loved the cabin decor, frig and microwave. They were remodeling breakfast area but still put out a good spread and kept it well stocked. This is a great place to stay while exploring Yellowstone. The road to Madison always rewarded us with buffalo!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 1RoseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thanks for the nice review. We're happy that we had our new breakfast counter open for your visit and that you enjoyed our offerings. Hope to see you again in the future after everything is completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Comfy beds!! We got a good night's sleep here and would definitely stay here again. The staff were very friendly and we checked in quickly with no problems. We did not get to use the pool/hot tub as we were exhausted from traveling...but it looked really nice. We were also up and on our way before breakfast so I can't speak to the free breakfast. Very convenient to walk across the street to the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery, and when we left at sun up the next morning....the wolves were over there howling!! Pretty cool to hear that. This hotel is conveniently located near the park entrance and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The only thing is that there were some very noisy people staying near us that didn't seem to understand the concept of being quiet when you share thin walls...no fault of the hotel though. Also it seems they need to fix the doors so they don't have to be slammed to be latched, just a tip if the hotel management is reading this, as we were trying to be quiet leaving early in the morning and I had to slam the door pretty hard to get it to latch...felt kinda bad, hope I didn't wake anyone up. Maybe it was just our door but I heard other doors slamming as well. But that didn't take away from our stay, we'll definitely be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CONatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your suggestions. We actually live in the hotel so we clearly understand your comments about slamming doors and how irritating they can be. Slamming doors in public lodging is primarily an unfortunate result of the mandatory fire code requirements. Hotel doors not only are required to be heavy enough to contain a fire from spreading, but all fire doors, including stairways and room doors, must be sprung heavy enough to insure that they automatically close and latch. Room doors must also lock securely for the protection of the guests. Unless someone is considerate enough to prevent a door from shutting with force, it is required to close with enough force to latch and lock on its own which does create noise. There is a fine line between too much noise and not enough safety and the law requires safety first. Since the Yellowstone area experiences thousands of minor earthquake tremors every year, we have to be even more careful than most locations to insure that the door hinges and latches remain in alignment all year to insure that they automtically securely lock. If any room door needs any human effort to close securely then it should be reported so that the latch can be readjusted immediately.

Obviously the best way to be considerate of neighbors in the hallway at night would be to hold the door handle and close a room door gently against the spring hinge. Unfortunately that is not something that most traveling families practice and most folks probably add a little unecessary help. As hotel managers who live on property and travel to other hotels, we probably notice all noise issues far more than most folks on vacation. We are constantly working on ideas to help alleviate or reduce all mechanical and guest created noise in our hotel without restricting the enjoyment of activities that brings families here. Based on previous guest suggestions, we have tested posting simulated traffic signs attempting to reduce the number of children running in hallways and stairwells by catching the attention of the parents in a non offensive way. However, we are never comfortable posting signs that attempt to direct guest behavior for the benefit of some guests while potentially offending others. We are open to any suggestions or debate on the subject and appreciate your comments on the slamming doors. Hopefully we will hear some good ideas from our other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I really wanted to like this place, but……. First the good: the room was nice and clean, decorated in a western theme appropriate for being in the YNP area. Location is excellent, being able to walk around town and close to the park. Staff was also very friendly and helpful. The not so good: major construction going on inside the hotel resulted in noise and workers all day around the lobby and pool area. The continental breakfast was limited and the seating area was very small resulting in crammed dining conditions. The worst: we were on the first floor and the thumping on the floor from the people above us was ridiculous. They would stomp across the floor at 4 am which kept us awake. The plumbing from the rooms around us was also on the loud side. I recognize the construction project is temporary, so most won’t have to deal with that; however, get a room on the top floor if you don’t want to hear the people above you every time they walk across the room.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid hearing the folks above you stomping around.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KonaRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thanks for sharing your recent experience with us. It sounds like you arrived before we opened our new breakfast bar last weekend so we apologize that our temporary breakfast space was restricted. We attempted to notify every guest by phone or email about the remodel and posted the information on our web site so that other arrangement might be made by anyone who might be inconvenienced. Unfortunately, we are not able to contact guests who book through on-line travel agencies because they will not provide any guest contact information.

During summer we are a primary destination for families with children who can occasionally be overly energetic and under supervised by parents on vacation. Though we have twelve inch thick sound blanket insulated spaces between floors, the low vibrations created by stomping bare feet on the floor above can penetrate nearly any construction and can be quite irritating when continuous. In the event that any guest is unfortunate enough to have an inconsiderate family placed in the room above them, a simple call to the front desk usually is all that is required to quickly resolve the problem. As you stated, we have third floor rooms available for those seeking the quietest location and the third floor is also pet free for those with allergies.

We appreciate that you chose to stay with us and hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit after our remodel is completed. If you should return to visit Yellowstone in the future please call us direct early in the season so we can help find the best room type and location to fit your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this property recently on our trip thru Yellowstone Park. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful with lots of information on what to see and do in the area. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Ask for a room on the top floor away from the elevator for a quiet experience. The breakfast bar has the usual fare and can get crowded depending if tour buses are staying.
Don't miss the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center right down the street. A fabulous experience with up close encounters with rescued wolves and grizzly's.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor away from the elevator for the best quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and were able to be one of the first guests to test our new breakfast bar. As you mentioned, serving breakfast for hundreds of guests in a short period of time can create quite a crowd since we are usually sold out all summer. Even without a bus tour, nearly every guest wants to eat at the same time to get into the park early. This is why we began our remodel project in the short off season to help increase our service and seating space to handle as many guests as possible. We just began serving from our new serving counter last weekend and should have the remaining area completed and new furniture delivered within the next few weeks. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Yellowstone to see what we have planned next..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews