We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stay in West Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice stay in West Yellowstone”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel one night while visiting Yellowstone. I was somewhat hesitant about the stay because this was not a hotel I was familiar with (we typically stay at Hilton brand hotels). I was pleasantly surprised though. Our room was very clean, a good size, and nicely decorated in a rustic theme. The only thing I didn't like was that the sink and mirror were outside the bathroom. That made it difficult for me to get ready in the morning before waking my children up. My boys (ages 11 & 9) enjoyed the pool and we all liked the breakfast...there was a good variety of both hot and cold foods. This hotel is definitely a good option for West Yellowstone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ckedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience with us and all of the TripAdvisor readers who also may not be familiar with the Kelly Inn name. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will now consider other Kelly Inn hotels in your future travels. The bathroom set up at our hotel was designed to accommodate large families who want to get into the park as early as possible to avoid the large crowds of summer. By providing the vanity outside of the shower/ toilet room, multiple family members can all get ready at the same time and beat the traffic into the gate. Being the closest major hotel to the park entrance also gives our guests an edge in avoiding the long lines. While most of our guests are in a hurry and seem to appreciate our set up, it certainly may not be the preferred arrangement for every guest. We also provide a separate bathroom with a shower/ vanity located next to our pool facility that all of our guests are welcome to use very early or very late if they should choose not to disturb others in their room or wish to return to the hotel after check out for a quick shower after hiking in the park or snowmobiling in winter before heading home. We hope you will have the opportunity to return to visit Yellowstone again in the future and will choose to stay with us on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    315
    130
    30
    21
See reviews for
400
347
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I realize hotel properties near Yellowstone will be expensive but I expect to get a little more than what the Kelly Inn offers. The rooms were clean but I felt the place was an old economy hotel that was being updated and wasn't completed. We were able to take our dog which was great and I appreciate that. The clerk upon check in, told us that they had the best breakfast and it was better than average. I was shocked at the breakfast, just the typical far. All I wanted was scrambled eggs but no, just the usual. The location was good for walking to the little town. A few little restaurants and typical souvenir shops.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellarosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay and that our facility did not live up to your expectations, but we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience to help educate other potential visitors on what they may expect in lodging options. Many first time visitors to Yellowstone are surprised to find that there are not dozens of new franchise hotels that they may be used to seeing in other areas of the country. Since Yellowstone is composed of over 2 million acres of wilderness and surrounded by national forests bordered by three different states with state forests, there is simply no remaining private land for the major franchise companies to buy up and build the type of new structures many travelers now consider the new standard.

Unfortunately lodging rates in this wilderness preserve are not determined by the size, age and technological advances that might help distinguish many other resort communities. The hotel rates in this area are primarily determined by the limited available occupancy and the seasons. Many businesses in the Yellowstone area simply can't afford to operate during the winter and must earn their entire revenue in less than 6 months each summer. Since we remain open all year our rates actually vary from a low of $79 to a high of $249 with the same amenities and services offered during every rate season when the park is open. Obviously what might be a considered a great bargain at $79 per night in the off season doesn't create the same value at $249 per night in peak season, but unlike most communities, there is no shortage of visitors seeking the last available rooms every summer. That is primarily because the 1.5 to 2 hour drive through the mountains to the closest major town with lots of lodging options simply isn't practical for most visitors. That is the only reason that a small wilderness town like West Yellowstone can exit. Most hotels in the area are sold out every summer and some hotels inside the park require reservations as much as a year in advance because the 3.5 million visitors every year simply overwhelm the available lodging facilities.

The age and history of the available facilities is part of the old west charm that makes the area so popular but most facilities must continually update in an attempt to offer the amenities and services demanded by most families. Many of the properties both inside and outside the park date back over 100 years and even the newest hotels were built before a free pastry and cup of coffee was even a consideration. Although each guest probably has their own version of what "standard fare" is for breakfast and what might exceed their expectations, most hotels are striving to continually add a greater selection to their free breakfast offerings. This is the reason that we decided to attempt a major structural remodel in a very short off season to add enough space to expand our breakfast serving area for the 200 plus guests we feed for free every morning all summer. This project is nearly finished but required a temporary restriction of serving and seating space as well as a limited breakfast food selection during the major portion of the project. That remodel did not begin until mid March so I suspect that may be when you actually visited due to your comments about a remodel not completed.

Your comments suggested that you visited in January and all you were looking for was scrambled eggs but were only offered "standard fare". Therefore we are confused if you are just adding to your reviews this late and reviewing the wrong hotel or were confused by the actual date of your stay. Sometimes TripAdvisor members want to add reviews to boost their rankings and add a lot of catch up reviews well after the fact and get the names of the establishments or dates of visit confused. Based on all of your comments we suspect this may be the case. This last winter was the first winter that we offered the full selection of hot protein items that we serve every summer. Our "standard fare", even in January, consisted of a rotation of different meat and egg items daily as well as biscuits and gravy, hot pancakes, cut fruit and berries and "make your own yogurt parfait in addition to the standard "continental breakfast" cereals and pastries.

We apologize if your visit was actually much later during the short spring period when the park is closed when we do actually cut back our selection while we have only a few or no guests in the hotel for weeks. That is when we began our remodel while are rates were the lowest of the year and we continued to offer reduced rates into spring while the major remodel restricted some of our standard amenities. Now that we have our new breakfast bar completed we have 40 feet of new breakfast serving space so that we can improve the selection and speed of service as we serve over 200 guests every morning. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Yellowstone again in the future and will stop in to see the results of our latest remodel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights to visit Yellowstone. It was Memorial weekend so the hotel was full booked and well, in these cases you don't get the quality you should expect for a less busy weekend. For example, the breakfast room was packed, the trash cans were full with plates and glasses all around and, even with the chef's effort there was always missing items in the buffet station. Said that, there wasn't a decaf option or non fat milk, and that's nothing to do with how busy they were. Not many healthy options in the breakfast menu.
The clerk that helped us to check in was very helpful providing tips to have dinner around.
Our room was in the ground floor and we feel like it was very nice and quiet. Beds were very comfi and everything worked perfect. The only cons about the room is that the bathroom was soo cold that we had to leave the door open to get some warm. I suggest to install a heater or maybe a heat-lamp if they don't want their customers to get frozen!
The ratio per night was enough high to get a better experience and although it wasn't bad at all I'd explore other options on my next visit to Yellowstone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with other potential visitors to Yellowstone. As your title suggests we do encourage all visitors to explore all lodging options before they arrive so that they can find the best match for their expectations and budget. Of course we can never be the best match for every guest but we do try hard to offer as much value and amenities as reasonable in this wilderness community. We believe that TripAdvisor reviews are the best way to discover which lodging option is the best match for first time visitors by evaluating the differing opinions and experiences from folks who are making their first visit as well as those that make frequent trips and have experience with many of the lodging options.

As you noted, the Memorial Day weekend is a very busy time but it is simply the first weekend of the long and extremely busy summer season with over 3.5 million visitors arriving mostly from Memorial Day to Labor Day every year. Since most hotels are sold out all summer, anyone seeking smaller crowds and more personal service both in and out of the park should probably plan to visit before or after these holidays. We usually recommend mid Sept to mid Oct when possible but the majority of visitors can only make such a trip in peak season when they must share all the park facilities, restaurants and hotels with millions of families from all over the world.

We're sorry that you were unable to find our decaf coffee or tea. Since decaf is not a choice of many guests, we serve the decaf coffee from one of the air pots in the lobby so that the main coffee server can keep up with the extreme demand of regular coffee. Decaf tea is always provided next to the regular tea in the coffee condiment section. However, you are correct that we do not serve fat free milk but choose instead to serve low fat milk. We do not have a restaurant on site for individual service but do offer a free breakfast service to over 200 guests every morning. Therefore we have to maximize our limited service space by offering the items requested by the majority of our guests and reducing items that have traditionally gone to waste.

We're a bit confused by the cold bathroom comment because the majority of folks are only concerned with getting the heat out of the bathroom. Although we are open all winter and this is the first suggestion we have ever received about putting a heater in the bathroom, we will certainly take a heat lamp option into consideration should we change the bathroom ceiling lights to LEDs in the future. Thanks for bringing up the idea. Hopefully other reviewers can now add to this topic for further consideration.

We appreciate that you chose to give us a try and took the time to share your experience to help others make an informed decision for future visits. If you should return to visit Yellowstone and would like to explore other lodging options, our company also owns the ClubHouse Inn and WestGate Hotel also located in West Yellowstone. These are two additional options you might wish to consider as the best match for your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Quiet, comfortable, clean- had a great stay here at the Kelly Inn West Yellowstone on a short trip for business. They are just finishing a remodel of their breakfast area and pool. Breakfast bar is one of the best I've seen- including hot breakfast food, cold breakfast food, plenty of fresh fruit, pancakes and more. Desk staff is very friendly and helpful. This is a great motel and is on the top of my list if places to stay in West Yellowstone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bullelk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you appreciated our newest upgrade and enjoyed the expanded breakfast offering that we are now able to offer in the added space. While we are not quite finished with this recent project, our new furnishings should start arriving this week so that we can add additional seating to the new air conditioned space and still offer a poolside view. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Love this hotel. Pool is clean and well kept and so is everything about this hotel. Very comfy beds and pillows. It's right across from the bear and wolf discovery place. We have stayed twice and have always loved this hotel. Just wish it wasn't so much $

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyMacJacPaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us again. We hope you enjoyed the recent changes and will be back to see what we have planned for out next off season. As you mentioned the rates in the Yellowstone area are certainly higher than the average American town and that isn't likely to change as long as we have over 3.5 million visitors coming to our small community every year. While many of the existing lodging facilities in the area close for the winter and continue to raise their rates as they sell out every summer season, we remain open all year and strive to continue to reinvest the revenue into adding improvements and upgrades during the off season as a way of adding more value and more amenities for our returning guests. We hope that you recognize and appreciate our efforts and will continue to make us your lodging choice in the years to come. Thank you for taking the time to sumit a review of your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Very dog friendly. We asked for ground floor rooms and were pleased to discover we had entrances to our room from both the interior hall and the parking lot. We were here in May. Room was large, loved the cabin decor, frig and microwave. They were remodeling breakfast area but still put out a good spread and kept it well stocked. This is a great place to stay while exploring Yellowstone. The road to Madison always rewarded us with buffalo!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 1RoseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks for the nice review. We're happy that we had our new breakfast counter open for your visit and that you enjoyed our offerings. Hope to see you again in the future after everything is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
161 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Comfy beds!! We got a good night's sleep here and would definitely stay here again. The staff were very friendly and we checked in quickly with no problems. We did not get to use the pool/hot tub as we were exhausted from traveling...but it looked really nice. We were also up and on our way before breakfast so I can't speak to the free breakfast. Very convenient to walk across the street to the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery, and when we left at sun up the next morning....the wolves were over there howling!! Pretty cool to hear that. This hotel is conveniently located near the park entrance and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The only thing is that there were some very noisy people staying near us that didn't seem to understand the concept of being quiet when you share thin walls...no fault of the hotel though. Also it seems they need to fix the doors so they don't have to be slammed to be latched, just a tip if the hotel management is reading this, as we were trying to be quiet leaving early in the morning and I had to slam the door pretty hard to get it to latch...felt kinda bad, hope I didn't wake anyone up. Maybe it was just our door but I heard other doors slamming as well. But that didn't take away from our stay, we'll definitely be back to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CONatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your suggestions. We actually live in the hotel so we clearly understand your comments about slamming doors and how irritating they can be. Slamming doors in public lodging is primarily an unfortunate result of the mandatory fire code requirements. Hotel doors not only are required to be heavy enough to contain a fire from spreading, but all fire doors, including stairways and room doors, must be sprung heavy enough to insure that they automatically close and latch. Room doors must also lock securely for the protection of the guests. Unless someone is considerate enough to prevent a door from shutting with force, it is required to close with enough force to latch and lock on its own which does create noise. There is a fine line between too much noise and not enough safety and the law requires safety first. Since the Yellowstone area experiences thousands of minor earthquake tremors every year, we have to be even more careful than most locations to insure that the door hinges and latches remain in alignment all year to insure that they automtically securely lock. If any room door needs any human effort to close securely then it should be reported so that the latch can be readjusted immediately.

Obviously the best way to be considerate of neighbors in the hallway at night would be to hold the door handle and close a room door gently against the spring hinge. Unfortunately that is not something that most traveling families practice and most folks probably add a little unecessary help. As hotel managers who live on property and travel to other hotels, we probably notice all noise issues far more than most folks on vacation. We are constantly working on ideas to help alleviate or reduce all mechanical and guest created noise in our hotel without restricting the enjoyment of activities that brings families here. Based on previous guest suggestions, we have tested posting simulated traffic signs attempting to reduce the number of children running in hallways and stairwells by catching the attention of the parents in a non offensive way. However, we are never comfortable posting signs that attempt to direct guest behavior for the benefit of some guests while potentially offending others. We are open to any suggestions or debate on the subject and appreciate your comments on the slamming doors. Hopefully we will hear some good ideas from our other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing