We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel because they allow pets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We usually stay here when we go to West Yellowstone because they allow our dog to come with us. This time was a pleasant surprise because we found out that they had just remodeled the rooms and had a new continental breakfast area and options. The swimming pool and hot tub are always a hit winding down each night. The location is great. It is directly across the street from the Wolf and Grizzly center and only a half a block from the main street. We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend (2014) and the hotel was very busy. There was a big thunderstorm that blew through, hit a transformer, and knocked out the power for a 100 miles. The hotel did their best to accommodate people as most of the restaurants were unable to serve people in the area. The hotel handled the situation with grace and the staff was very helpful keeping us posted with updates.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHN4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience about the unusual and terrible electrical blackout that inconvenienced so many visitors and businesses during a very busy holiday weekend. It was one of the worst situations we have ever dealt with so we really appreciate your understanding of the conditions and limitations placed upon everyone. We wish everyone would have been so understanding. Of course our first priority was the safety of our guests and getting those trapped in the elevator rescued and everyone else down the stairs to the daylight of the lobby safely while many others gathered around the breakfast bar and didn't understand why we couldn't refill their food.

Everyone certainly has their own priorities in an emergency situation and we knew that many visitors simply never understood the magnitude of the situation and expected the local businesses to resolve it so that they would not be inconvenienced on their vacation. Since the power was out nearly all day, it affected the ability to clean rooms and wash linens for the current guests as well as prepare checked out rooms for that night's incoming guests. Of course the incoming guests coming to town that night had no idea of what had occurred and expected everything to be perfect so it was stressful on the local community well beyond the time of the outage. It is simply one of the many issues that come with operating in this wilderness mountain environment.

We apologize if everything wasn't up to our usual standards and hope that you still enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will continue to choose to stay with us on your future visits that hopefully will be less dramatic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (994)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 994 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Nice room. Need to serve breakfast starting at 6 am rather than 0630 am as some need to check out earlier for wildlife viewing in Yellowstone, otherwise offer discounted hotel rate for those not able to stay for breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacation4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thanks for choosing our hotel on your recent visit. It's always nice to host a fellow Hoosier from our home state. We appreciate that you took the time to submit a review of your stay and offered a suggestion to help improve our service.

Unlike some of the hotels in the area that offer rate plans that offer breakfast at an additional charge, we do not charge anything for our complimentary breakfast offering. Therefore we do not keep track of which guests choose to partake of our free offering and those who choose to make other plans. Just as some people might choose not to take advantage of some of our other free amenities, such as our pool, sauna, outdoor fire pit, Satellite TV, guest computer or WIFI, we could not offer a discount for something offered for free but not used by a particular guest. Obviously when we have guests from all over the world, we have folks from many different time zones and have received requests for us to have some type of breakfast available from everywhere from 3 AM to Noon our time, so we had to establish a time that fit the majority of our guests and our available staffing. Therefore we have always served breakfast from 6:30 AM until 10 AM every morning, which we believe is earlier than most hotels or restaurants in town. However, we recently completed the remodel of our new breakfast area and added a new 20 foot walk around breakfast bar so that we could expand our service and selection of hot and cold breakfast selections. The additional side effect of that project is that it now allows us to respond to requests such as yours and now offer an early continental breakfast including cold and hot cereals, toaster breads, hot pancakes and all beverages at 5:30 AM each morning for those who prefer not to wait until 6:30 so that they can get into the park earlier. Those continental breakfast items should have been available for all guests well before 6 AM during your stay in June. We're sorry that we can not make the complete breakfast available earlier or later for individual guest requests but we feel that the earlier continental breakfast offering should help accommodate the requests of those with special needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The room was fine, clean and decorated with a rustic theme. It was recently updated. We were there for 2 nights. They offered a very good breakfast each day with a good variety of food. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanECharlotte_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will choose to stay with us again should you have an opportunity to visit Yellowstone again in the future. We couldn't help but notice that each of your individual category ratings for our hotel was actually higher than your overall rating. Since you only mentioned the positive things about your stay we hope you will let us know if you have any suggestions for improvements that might make your overall stay more enjoyable in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My family & I stayed for 3 nights at the Kelly Inn to visit West Yellowstone in June of 2014. Big rooms, clean, friendly staff & great breakfasts! Though dog friendly, you must take you pet with you whenever you leave! House rules! It was O.K. for us because it was cool in June when we visited, beware of hot summer months! Also, the pool was awesome along with hot tub & sauna! A great family resort! We also did S'mores outside @ the gas pit & had a blast! We would stay in a heart beat ;))

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carocass1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We appreciate that you chose our hotel among the many options available. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our new fire gas pit but for obvious safety reasons we discourage anyone, especially children, from attempting to cook over these special high and unpredictable dancing venturi jet flames. We do have a much safer charcoal grill on our back patio that is provided for those who wish to cook outdoors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our stay at the Kelly Inn was a very pleasant experience. The rooms have recently been remodeled and the beds, linens, and furniture were exceptional. The Inn was clean and inviting, the breakfast good, and the GM, Sally Hill, friendly and informative. We would highly recommend a visit to the Kelly Inn in West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAtravelerEriePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to submit a review of your stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel one night while visiting Yellowstone. I was somewhat hesitant about the stay because this was not a hotel I was familiar with (we typically stay at Hilton brand hotels). I was pleasantly surprised though. Our room was very clean, a good size, and nicely decorated in a rustic theme. The only thing I didn't like was that the sink and mirror were outside the bathroom. That made it difficult for me to get ready in the morning before waking my children up. My boys (ages 11 & 9) enjoyed the pool and we all liked the breakfast...there was a good variety of both hot and cold foods. This hotel is definitely a good option for West Yellowstone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank ckedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience with us and all of the TripAdvisor readers who also may not be familiar with the Kelly Inn name. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will now consider other Kelly Inn hotels in your future travels. The bathroom set up at our hotel was designed to accommodate large families who want to get into the park as early as possible to avoid the large crowds of summer. By providing the vanity outside of the shower/ toilet room, multiple family members can all get ready at the same time and beat the traffic into the gate. Being the closest major hotel to the park entrance also gives our guests an edge in avoiding the long lines. While most of our guests are in a hurry and seem to appreciate our set up, it certainly may not be the preferred arrangement for every guest. We also provide a separate bathroom with a shower/ vanity located next to our pool facility that all of our guests are welcome to use very early or very late if they should choose not to disturb others in their room or wish to return to the hotel after check out for a quick shower after hiking in the park or snowmobiling in winter before heading home. We hope you will have the opportunity to return to visit Yellowstone again in the future and will choose to stay with us on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I realize hotel properties near Yellowstone will be expensive but I expect to get a little more than what the Kelly Inn offers. The rooms were clean but I felt the place was an old economy hotel that was being updated and wasn't completed. We were able to take our dog which was great and I appreciate that. The clerk upon check in, told us that they had the best breakfast and it was better than average. I was shocked at the breakfast, just the typical far. All I wanted was scrambled eggs but no, just the usual. The location was good for walking to the little town. A few little restaurants and typical souvenir shops.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellarosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay and that our facility did not live up to your expectations, but we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience to help educate other potential visitors on what they may expect in lodging options. Many first time visitors to Yellowstone are surprised to find that there are not dozens of new franchise hotels that they may be used to seeing in other areas of the country. Since Yellowstone is composed of over 2 million acres of wilderness and surrounded by national forests bordered by three different states with state forests, there is simply no remaining private land for the major franchise companies to buy up and build the type of new structures many travelers now consider the new standard.

Unfortunately lodging rates in this wilderness preserve are not determined by the size, age and technological advances that might help distinguish many other resort communities. The hotel rates in this area are primarily determined by the limited available occupancy and the seasons. Many businesses in the Yellowstone area simply can't afford to operate during the winter and must earn their entire revenue in less than 6 months each summer. Since we remain open all year our rates actually vary from a low of $79 to a high of $249 with the same amenities and services offered during every rate season when the park is open. Obviously what might be a considered a great bargain at $79 per night in the off season doesn't create the same value at $249 per night in peak season, but unlike most communities, there is no shortage of visitors seeking the last available rooms every summer. That is primarily because the 1.5 to 2 hour drive through the mountains to the closest major town with lots of lodging options simply isn't practical for most visitors. That is the only reason that a small wilderness town like West Yellowstone can exit. Most hotels in the area are sold out every summer and some hotels inside the park require reservations as much as a year in advance because the 3.5 million visitors every year simply overwhelm the available lodging facilities.

The age and history of the available facilities is part of the old west charm that makes the area so popular but most facilities must continually update in an attempt to offer the amenities and services demanded by most families. Many of the properties both inside and outside the park date back over 100 years and even the newest hotels were built before a free pastry and cup of coffee was even a consideration. Although each guest probably has their own version of what "standard fare" is for breakfast and what might exceed their expectations, most hotels are striving to continually add a greater selection to their free breakfast offerings. This is the reason that we decided to attempt a major structural remodel in a very short off season to add enough space to expand our breakfast serving area for the 200 plus guests we feed for free every morning all summer. This project is nearly finished but required a temporary restriction of serving and seating space as well as a limited breakfast food selection during the major portion of the project. That remodel did not begin until mid March so I suspect that may be when you actually visited due to your comments about a remodel not completed.

Your comments suggested that you visited in January and all you were looking for was scrambled eggs but were only offered "standard fare". Therefore we are confused if you are just adding to your reviews this late and reviewing the wrong hotel or were confused by the actual date of your stay. Sometimes TripAdvisor members want to add reviews to boost their rankings and add a lot of catch up reviews well after the fact and get the names of the establishments or dates of visit confused. Based on all of your comments we suspect this may be the case. This last winter was the first winter that we offered the full selection of hot protein items that we serve every summer. Our "standard fare", even in January, consisted of a rotation of different meat and egg items daily as well as biscuits and gravy, hot pancakes, cut fruit and berries and "make your own yogurt parfait in addition to the standard "continental breakfast" cereals and pastries.

We apologize if your visit was actually much later during the short spring period when the park is closed when we do actually cut back our selection while we have only a few or no guests in the hotel for weeks. That is when we began our remodel while are rates were the lowest of the year and we continued to offer reduced rates into spring while the major remodel restricted some of our standard amenities. Now that we have our new breakfast bar completed we have 40 feet of new breakfast serving space so that we can improve the selection and speed of service as we serve over 200 guests every morning. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Yellowstone again in the future and will stop in to see the results of our latest remodel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
800 reviews
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
758 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
766 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £75 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing