We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed three nights at this hotel. The location is deep in the center in this rustic town known for its prominent position for entry into Yellowstone Park. It provides easy access to a multitude of restaurants and shops. The visitor center is across the street with a local tourist desk as well as a Yellowstone ranger ready to help you plan your trip.
The hotel is a little old. Wallpaper peeling in the shower, smallish bathroom, and a generally tired air. But, all of the amenities are available..laundry, pool, good staff and location. So, I would stay here again and recommend you give it a shot as well.

Room Tip: Hotel motif is rugged outdoorsy with cute little bears hanging onto your balcony. So, if you have k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLKunciw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend others give us a try. Thank you for pointing out some of our next "to do" projects. We do have plans to make some improvements to the areas you mentioned as well as many others as time permits. Since we only have tow short down periods each year we have to set our remodel priorities by season. Over the last few years we have installed new beds, new room furnishings, new TVs and have completed most of the breakfast room/ lobby remodel to be finished this fall while staining and painting the entire outside and adding a patio and fire pit. Our next priorities after we complete our front desk and lobby furnishings will hopefully be each hallway and every bathroom. Since our company has been so good about reinvesting revenue back into the property every year brings an exciting new project so our returning guests discover something new every year. We hope you will return often and enjoy the results of our future projects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    318
    133
    31
    21
See reviews for
404
352
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. It was nice to escape the crowds at Yellowstone park and spent the night outside of Yellowstone park. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and clean. We stayed on the third floor which I would recommend because we had read reviews of it being loud on the first and second floor. The pool looks small but clean ( we never used it). Also we ordered in every night after long days at the park, and there are several good choices. All that was said about breakfast is true. Although there are plenty of options none of them looked particularly inviting to me. The breakfast cook that tends to the room is the grumpiest! No nice way around it, he just is, so just make sure you stay out of his way!
All in all a very pleasant stay though and if the breakfast review scared you, there is couple nice options in town as well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiebitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to submit a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay but sorry to hear that our free breakfast offering did not live up to your expectations.

Since nearly every experienced food service person in the area is working two full time jobs in summer, they tend to burn out far to early in the season. We apologize if the service you experienced was sub par. We recently met with our breakfast attendants to share some recent reviews and discuss how they are being perceived by other guests while rushing back and forth attempting to keep everything full. It has become an overwhelming task feeding and cleaning up for over 200 guests every morning without a fully staffed restaurant on site for support. Obviously the stress is beginning to show to our guests which is unacceptable.

Since we just completed the remodel that enabled us to expand our offerings, serving and seating space, we are still learning and adjusting as more guests are now choosing to sample more of our expanded offerings here for free rather than go out to a restaurant. Because the remodel took longer than expected, we simply added too much too soon by opening our new space in peak season without the benefit of breaking it in slowly. We understand that we need to add more help to reduce the load on a single service employee each morning and have been desperately seeking additional staffing in peak season when there are so few available. Since we do not wish to reduce the offerings or hours of breakfast, we are trying to improve our effort to keep up with the increased demand by asking other non food service trained staff members to help out for the short term. Hopefully,we should be much better prepared next season now that we have had some actual experience with the new service space and will have more time to recruit additional experienced food service help. We appreciate those guests who have helped bring these issues to our attention so that we may continually make adjustments and improvements going forward..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Kelly Inn and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and well appointed. This was a family trip and the room allowed all four of us to spread out and have a place to sit and relax after a long day exploring Yellowstone. We also enjoyed the pool, hot tub and dry spa each night. Breakfast was of equal or better quality than other hotels we used during this trip and was something I looked forward to each day. Access to Yellowstone could not be easier as the gate is just down the road from West Yellowstone. From our base at the Kelly Inn in West Yellowstone, we were able to access all of the features of Yellowstone on the western roads, from the north gate/Mammoth hot springs all the way down to West Thumb. We also stayed in Grand Teton park to start the trip and in Cooke City, MT to visit the eastern side of Yellowstone. If you are planning a stay in West Yellowstone, the Kelly Inn is a great place to call your home away from home.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room half way down the hall. This will put you furthest from the elevator at one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for part of your visit to Yellowstone. It sounds like you were able to get around to each of the gateway areas and experience the entire park. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and would recommend us for folks staying in West Yellowstone. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit Yellowstone again in the future and will make some time to stay with us on this side of the park again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights in June, and were very happy with our choice. We had researched other hotels in West Yellowstone and Yellowstone national park, and found that this hotel had a lot to offer for the price. The hotel is only a few minutes from the west entrance of Yellowstone. As we were traveling with kids, it was nice to have a pool and hot tub to come back to after a day of touring Yellowstone. The indoor pool was a nice temperature, and there is also a large hot tub. The hotel's free breakfast was a nice start to the day, with many hot and cold options. There was also coffee, tea, and hot chocolate available 24 hours. We had a room on the 3rd floor with 2 king beds, which was very spacious. It was very clean, quiet, and nicely decorated with newer furniture, large flat screen tv, small fridge, etc. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel is right across the street from the Grizzly and Wolf Discovery Center, which we visited and really enjoyed. We would definitely stay here again as our first choice when visiting Yellowstone. Thank you Kelly Inn!

Room Tip: Third floor is more quiet as no one is walking around above you. Elevators are available. We were i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvladct82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We really appreciate that you took the time to research other hotels before choosing your lodging option and decided to stay with us. We're happy to hear that you feel that you made the right choice and would choose to stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Kelly Inn four nights while visiting Yellowstone. The managers, Don and Sally, and the entire staff were very friendly, courteous and knowledgeable. Every time we passed by the front desk someone would ask us if everything was OK or if we needed anything. The rooms were nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable. We were also impressed with the newly remodeled breakfast area. We had a great stay and would definitely stay at the Kelly Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don and Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We appreciate that you chose to stay at our hotel and really enjoyed having the opportunity to meet you. We realize that you had to travel a long way to get here so we hope that you enjoyed everything about your visit to Yellowstone and will come visit us again. Next time you need a break from all that hot summer weather in Georgia we hope that you will give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

room was comfortable but dated. sink is outside restroom so nice for family stay ppl could brush teeth and not take up bathroom shower. fridge was nice, tv was nice. Location was perfect and the breakfast was really tasty and had so many options. staff was very nice. right at the entrance to yellowstone really good location. slow elevator. those are the only negatives we can say. we enjoyed our stay and would return to the kelly inn.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is pet free. first floor has 2 doors from hallway and out to parking lot which is nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piotr H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate that you took the time to submit a review of your recent stay and are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on future visits to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

At first glance, Kelly Inn seems the perfect solution. However, if you agree that the number one objective of staying in a hotel is to SLEEP then this is not the hotel for you because staying in this hotel is a big risk.

If you are on the top floor you'll be fine*. If you are on the first or second floor, you had better hope the people above you keep the same hours as you. If not, you'll be kept awake by the squeaking floor above you. This is not just the sound of steps above you but squeaks to go along with the steps. Really really squeaky. They were not jumping. Just walking…back and forth and back and forth from 10-11pm. That isn't unreasonable in itself but if you want an early night it will drive you to the brink of insanity. Try it with a tired 5 and 8 year old. Or just with you when you want a decent start in the morning.

But then the real kicker is if you also have an early riser. Our upstairs neighbour woke at 5am and started the same process again.

The room itself is just fine. Spacious for what it is. Clean. Close to park entrance. No complaints but if you go to a hotel to sleep then look somewhere else.

After two nights of bad sleep we spoke to the front desk. This MUST be a regular complaint. They said if it happens again we could contact them and they could speak with the guests above us but really - how would you feel if you were asked not to walk in your hotel room? *Staying on the top floor might not be a good solution for this reason.

My parents were staying in another room and didn't have upstairs neighbours (or they kept the same hours). It's a gamble, but do you really want to take the chance with so many other options in West Yellowstone?

My advice - try a different hotel until they rip out their floors and solve the squeaking problem.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, and especially in peak season, make them guarantee a top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank rrrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for submitting your review to let us know about your poor experience. We apologize that you had such a poor night's sleep because of the noise from the room above yours. If you would be so kind as to email us at westyellowstone@kellyinns.com to let us know the room number you were in, the dates of your stay and the name the reservation was made under, we would like to investigate further to see if the floor sheathing in the floor above has loosened from the thousands of minor earth tremors we get every year. If so, we should be able to easily repair it before it becomes a concern to someone else, Since we have not heard any other complaints and have a full house nearly every night, we don't know where to begin to look to verify and resolve any potential problem. If you do contact us, please also let us know if there is anything additional you would like us to do to help resolve the inconvenience suffered after the situation was reported. In all the years that we have been opened, this is the first compliant we have ever had about a squeaking floor from simple walking in a room above, so we want to track it down ASAP.

The assumption in your review that the entire hotel must have a similar problem was understandably due to your frustration, but obviously unfounded as you mentioned that the other room your parents were in had no problem and we have had no similar complaints of squeaking. Since we are always full of families with children all summer, we do get an occasional complaint about noise from running or jumping off beds, or even intoxicated people being very loud on rare occasions. The front desk staff is trained to go to the suspect area and listen for excessive noise when any guest noise complaint is made. If another guest is causing excessive noise past reasonable hours, then they knock on the door or phone the room to report that a complaint has been made and ask for cooperation in reducing the noise before taking any further action. Normally the offending guest apologizes and the problem is quickly resolved.

As you mentioned, you did not mention the issue to the front desk until after the second night and there may have been different people checking in and out, so they offered to take action if notified that it occurred again the next night. Unfortunately if told that a disturbance was only from someone walking, as you assumed, there really isn't much they can do except offer to move the guest being disturbed, providing other rooms are available. When no other rooms are available, their only other recourse is to offer to check out the guest immediately at no charge for the night that the complaint is made and help find them other accommodations elsewhere. If you made a follow up complaint and we were unable to move you, that option should have been provided to you. Although we realize that it can be a difficult choice, when we have no way to resolve a problem that keeps a guest awake all night, that may be the only option to help them get a good night's sleep.

Again, we apologize that you were unable to sleep well during your stay and would very much like to follow up to resolve the issue so that no other guest is disturbed. We hope that you contact us via email very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing