We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay close to West entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay close to West entrance”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was one of our top stays during our July 2014 road trip. We checked in after a long day exploring the lower side of Yellowstone (Old Faithful, etc.) It is very close to the entrance of the park. I recommend West Yellowstone over Gardiner, Montana (North Entrance) review to follow :(

Anyway, we LOVED our room! A little pricey, but I think you'll find that with most places at this level due to it being a tourist town and peak season.

Wonderfully decorated and very roomy. We had the 2 king room and scored with the little carved wooden bear peeking in our room from the outside. Our son loved it! Call to make your reservation and request a "bear" room if you have kids. There are only a few.

-Room was very roomy, fresh and clean. Very nicely decorated in the theme of a log cabin almost.

-Beds, sheets and pillow were soooo soft, comfortable and fresh smelling. The duvet smelled like it was fresh out of the dryer. Very cozy.

-Guest laundry rooms on all three floors, I believe. At least floors 1 and 2 for sure.

-Good free breakfast. A little crowded, but there was a tour bus that pulled in late. Didn't seem like the one gentleman who was running the show could keep up. Most of the coffee containers, eggs, pancakes, etc.were emptywhen we arrived around 8:30. Again, maybe just due to overlaod of customers all at once. He could probably use some extra hands.

-Good free wi-fi.

-Close to restaurants, stores. There's a McDonalds near the entrance to the hotel if you don' want to go out.

-Very friendly reception staff :)

-Awesome indoor pool. They have water noodels for the kids and a TV. We watched a Dodger baseball game while playing in the pool/

The only negative, which I can't blame on the hotel....at 3:30 a.m. in the room above us, is sounded like there was a WWF match going on. What a bummer. No manner jerks who can't respect others sleep. Should have called the front desk in hindsight.

Overall, I would definintely stay again and recommend to other Yellowstone travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellek745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our amenities. We wish you had informed the desk of the neighbors above you. Unfortunately in such a huge family destination, like Yellowstone, there are a lot of visitors from all over the world and many time zones who do not recognize or respect that they are sharing space with others. Many vacationers are totally unaware of how their actions or the actions of their unaccompanied children affect other guests because they are so used to such activity in their own home environment. We want everyone to have a good time and a memorable experience while visiting but also need to protect the quiet enjoyment of our other guests. We encourage any guest who observes inconsiderate behavior to notify the front desk so that we can take the appropriate action to resolve it peacefully and as quickly as possible. Thanks for pointing it out so that future guests may be more aware of how their actions influence the experience of others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    318
    133
    31
    21
See reviews for
404
352
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I could not go on my once-in-a-lifetime trip to Yellowstone because I booked with them. I booked the wrong week for my visit. When I called back the next day (in less than 24 hours), they said it was non-refundable and there was nothing they could do for me. They sent a confirmation a week before the date I booked so I called back again. They said, "If you had called back right away, we probably could have canceled the room. Our records don't show that you called back. Sorry." I couldn't afford to pay for rooms I couldn't use, so I had to cancel my trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
From your review it appears that you chose a non refundable non cancellable reservation online but made a mistake in your dates or changed your plans and a refund was not made available. We understand your frustration if you forfeited your prepayment but would need more information to determine if any other options should be made available. We offer only two types of reservations- Best Available Rate which is cancellable up to 48 hours prior to arrival with no penalty and not actually charged until check out, and an Advanced Prepaid non Refundable, Non Cancellable discounted option that is only available at least 30 days in advance. Of course there would be no point in offering a non refundable, non cancellable prepaid reservation if anyone whose plans changed were allowed to cancel and ask for a refund but we do take into consideration special circumstances to help prevent a complete forfeiture of the prepayment.

In our description of the Prepaid non refundable reservation option we specifically post that there are no exceptions and state that rate choice should only be made by those who are absolutely sure that their plans will not change and are willing to take the risk to save 10%. Unfortunately we have had a few people choose that rate to obtain the lowest possible rate and then try to cancel and ask for a refund shortly before their arrival date when their plans suddenly changed. Of course those cases can create a financial hardship which often leads to unfounded claims when refunds are not made available. If a call was made the day after the reservation was made we should have both a written and video record of it which could be easily verified and a record of the call could also easily be provided from a phone bill. Since we make over 15,000 reservations every year, we have very strict and uniform procedures to track every conversation or document related to a reservation to verify facts and prevent any unreasonable charges or false claims.

Our policy has always been that if anyone calls within 48 hours of making such a reservation in order to inform us that they made a mistake in choosing that rate, we have always remade the reservation under the best available rate which can be cancelled without penalty up to 48 hours prior to arrival. We send confirmation letters or emails to the contact information provided as well as reminder letters or emails at least a week prior to arrival. If someone called the next day to ask to cancel a prepaid reservation they would have been referred to management for approval and a note made in their file. If a claim is made that a call was made and there is no note in the file it can be easily checked via our 24 hours video recordings of all front desk activity where every conversation from a desk clerk can be verified.

Unfortunately, we have had a few folks who made prepaid non refundable reservations and made no contact after receiving the original confirmation but then called us to cancel after receiving the uniform reminder letter that is sent to every reservation at least a week prior to arrival. it is a standard form letter sent from a third party company to every reservation with no designation of the rate type chosen. One sentence in that reminder letter states that "to avoid charges to the credit card used to hold the reservation, any cancellation must be made at least 48 hours prior to arrival". Since all prepaid non refundable reservations have already been charged in full up front, that statement doesn't apply to those reservations but the reminder letter is still automatically sent as a second confirmation of the dates simply to make sure that a guest doesn't forget. When guests with prepaid non refundable reservations have called us to attempt to cancel after receiving that letter, they are reminded that they chose the non refundable reservation that was already paid in full and that a cancellation is not possible. If they feel that their unique circumstances merit special consideration they are asked to contact management.

in unique circumstances, the most that we can offer is to extend the date of arrival and the prepayment to a future date to avoid forfeiting the prepayment, provided that such a request is made due to a medical emergency and made well in advance of arrival so that we have a reasonable time period of opportunity to sell the room. In all other cases we must be consistent and hold to the policy that governs the rate plan chosen so as not to discriminate. We're sorry if you made a poor rate choice decision and made an error in your dates or had a late change of plans for which we could not offer a refund. However, if you are able to present a phone record or any facts of a call to request a cancellation the day after you made your non refundable reservation, we will be glad to review the information provided and review the records and recordings from that day. If you forfeited your prepayment and we can verify your claim of an attempt to cancel the day after, then we will be happy to offer a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived in West Yellowstone for one night and reserved Kelly Inn West primarily based on TA reviews and their pet friendly policy. This was our first experience staying in a ground floor room with an exterior entrance, and our cocker spaniel was very pleased to not have to negotiate hallways or an elevator! The room was clean and well decorated, and staff were courteous and helpful. No time for breakfast, and really hope Starbucks finds its way to Yellowstone at some point! Nice stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Our first floor rooms are certainly in high demand with pet owners due to the convenience of the extra outside door. It's a pity that more hotels are not built with pet owners in mind any more due to the extra expense.

Unfortunately since the tourist season is so limited here, we are not likely to see Starbucks here any time soon unless it is sold in the local grocery store. Even at the price of a Starbucks, they probably couldn't afford the snow removal costs to be open all year or the year long rent to be open only 5 months. It isn't easy making money in the wilderness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the main intersection in West Yellowstone so it is within walking distance to anything you might want to do in this very small town. The rooms are clean and large and the king double room worked very well for our family of three. The pool and hot tub area is nice as well. Breakfast was good as well but nothing special.
The only issue we had with our stay was not due to anything the hotel had to do with. We mistakenly made reservations with a common hotel booking website of which the name starts with a "O" and ends with a "z". Apparently the booking site overbooked for this night and failed to notify the customer ...us. The hotel staff was as helpful as they could be and remedied the issue but only by requiring us to change rooms three times during our four night stay. Again the hotel staff was very helpful in facilitating this unfortunate inconvenience.
Bottom line....we would recommend the Kelly Inn but highly recommend to not use the aforementioned booking site and simply call the hotel directly for reservations. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rangertex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Because Yellowstone sets new visitation records nearly every year, most hotels here are sold out early all summer. A hotel reservation system is like a huge puzzle matching rooms and dates to full capacity. We always recommend that potential guests call the hotel directly to inquire about room availability, room types and rates before choosing a date. There are many online travel agencies that spend huge sums advertising in an attempt to make commissions on reservations but none can offer a lower rate than what the hotel can. Unfortunately for hotels that may have only one or two rooms available, no outside agency has developed a sure fire method to insure that they know the exact number of rooms still available at any hour in real time or that any specific available room is available for multiple nights. Therefore they often overbook or cause the guest to have to relocate rooms because they must rely on an internet connection that only tells them if any room is available on the number of nights- not if the same room is available on all nights. In the time between the start of an online reservation and the completion of the reservation, any available room could have been taken by another internet connection or a phone call directly to the hotel. While their systems work for most hotels on most dates, it is simply not the most accurate method of determining availability in hotels located in areas that are usually sold out. We appreciate your explanation and recommendation based on your experience.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinuba, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Lacking many amenities - no electric shower vent; missing 2 separate sinks; missing a chair; no tables to place personal items; exercise gym in a separate hotel; breakfast had frozen scrambled eggs and biscuits which were thawed out. Clothing bars were half way down the wall. Definitely not worth $250.00 a night. Suggestion: many remodeling upgrades to be on same level with Embassy Suites.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent visit. We're sorry to hear that you felt that we didn't compare to an Embassy Suites hotel based on the rates in peak season. Many people who come to visit Yellowstone for the first time do not understand that Yellowstone is over 140 years old and the small towns that surround the 2 million acres of national park date back about 100 years as well. Before a few settlers built cabins for housing all visitors to the park had to come by horse drawn wagon and camp out with the local wild life. Since those days when only a few rugged individuals could make the journey, Yellowstone has grown to be one of the most visited locations in America with over 3.5 million visitors coming every season. Unfortunately the little private land available near the park has remained virtually unchanged.

It is still the old west charm and the millions of acres of protected wilderness that visitors come to see yet they often don't understand why there aren't modern franchise hotels and restaurants on every corner like in their home towns. Since the primary tourist season is only 5 months long and winters usually get to 40 degrees below zero, most investors are unlikely to invest the huge sums necessary to buy the scarce available property and import workers and materials to the wilderness to build modern structures like an Embassy Suites. The few hotels and lodges that are available in or near the park have been here a very long time and struggle to update to more modern amenities while preserving their old west wilderness charm. For those seeking modern accommodations at more affordable rates, there are many choices available in the closest large towns located about 100 miles away.

To clarify the amenities you mentioned:
1. Instead of a noisy electric fan in each bathroom, we have a silent ventilation system for the bathrooms with the equipment located in the attic that comes on automatically whenever the bathroom light is on. There are instruction labels on the light switches.
2. Since we are in a water conservation area there is only one sink located on the large lighted vanity.
3. There is a large rustic square table with two upholstered chairs in every room. Our Double King rooms and Queen Deluxe rooms on the second and third floors each have an additional upholstered easy chair and ottoman.
4. We have a large pool and hot tub and a dry sauna room. Our hotel next door has a large pool and hot tub but an exercise room instead of a sauna. Guests from our two hotels are invited to use those facilities at either hotel.
5. The state and county health codes require hotels with no restaurant on site to only serve precooked heat and serve items for their free breakfast. Our eggs are a precooked refrigerated product that is heated here and our biscuits are purchased frozen and also heated on site. We are happy to recommend some local restaurants for those who wish to purchase a made to order breakfast.
6. We're not sure what you were referring to as "clothing bars half way down the hall" but we do have a guest laundry on both the first and second floors near the elevators.

If you should return to visit Yellowstone in the future we would recommend that you review all of the lodging options inside the park and in the closest towns within a reasonable driving distance to the park and compare rates and amenities before choosing. We believe that TripAdvisor is an excellent tool for such research before planning a trip. Thank you for adding your experience to our TripAdvisor listing to assist in the expectations of other visitors to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Had a great 3-night stay with our 2 grandsons. This hotel is very clean. It has a rustic feel and isn't like staying in every other hotel. The room was done like a log cabin, from the beds to the furniture. The free breakfast was good with lots of choices. Only thing missing was fruit and maybe some yogurt. The indoor pool was nice for the kids. It's also very convenient and within walking distance of the town. We walked to dinner each night. The hotel is also just a block from the Yellowstone entrance, making it easy to get into and out of the park quickly. As for price, any hotel in West Yellowstone comes with a premium in July, so pricier than I would have liked. Great, friendly staff (except for one of the kitchen staff...he was a bit curt, maybe just his personality). All in all...I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneT1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and would choose to stay with us again. We're very sorry that you did not find our fruit and yogurt all three days that you were with us. We serve our yogurt in a unique cold pumper unit along with mixed berries, cut fruit and granola so that our guests can make their own yogurt parfait. These items are located at the opposite end of our breakfast bar from the hot protein section across from the beverage station. We created this concept to offer more variety and options for those who enjoy fruit and yogurt for breakfast. We believe that we are still the only lodging company currently offering yogurt this way but suspect that many may copy us soon as it has been extremely popular. We're sorry that you did not have a chance to sample it for yourself while you were here but hope that you will give it a try on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here after having to get ou obey back at another dirty hotel in the area and it was great to see a clean, fresh room! The pool and jacuzzi were great in the evenings. Nice location and a good value compared to what's available in the area. The breakfast left something to be desired but it's free so I can't complain.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us after having such a poor experience at another hotel. We're glad that we had a room available and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many people don't understand that hotels without a full restaurant on site are highly restricted on what they can serve for their free breakfast service. Each State and County Health Dept sets their own restrictions and guidelines. In our area we are not allowed to prepare any fresh meat or egg products and are highly restricted on anything perishable. Therefore, in order to add hot protein to our offerings, we have searched for the best precooked, heat and serve products that are available from the limited suppliers who will deliver this far from their distribution centers. The variety of items we offer for free hopefully saves many families a lot of extra time and meal expense while on vacation but may not satisfy everyone's needs. For those that require a cook to order breakfast or special menu and have the extra time each morning, we always recommend a popular family restaurant in town that specialize in breakfast. We hope that you will call us first on your next visit to Yellowstone so we can answer questions and help you plan the perfect trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing