We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a wonderful stay.....thank you "Kelly Inn"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful stay.....thank you "Kelly Inn"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I visited West Yellowstone recently and we stayed at the Kelly Inn. We first off want to thank Don & Sally Hill for making our stay possible. They were all booked up and Sally went out of her way to get a room for us there, as we had just been in an auto accident while in Yellowstone and all we wanted to do was to be able to get into our room and relax. Secondly, we wanted to thank all of the staff for helping move all of our belongings when we had to change rooms, as well as turning the room over and preparing our next room so fast so we weren't stuck sitting in the lobby until check-in time! Thank you for a great stay! The breakfast was awesome......all of the staff at the Kelly Inn work so hard and it really shows in how clean the entire hotel is! Normally, I would find hair from people who stayed in the room before us and we never saw hair at all and this made our stay even better! Everyone is great there and we will be staying again, hopefully very soon!

Jim & Marcie Miller
Portland, Oregon

Room Tip: We stayed in a few different rooms and they were all great rooms. However, we would recommend the &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcieM413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. In peak season the number of incoming and outgoing new visitors every day makes it nearly impossible to get to know very many of our guests the same way we can in the slower seasons. We were very fortunate to have had the opportunity to meet you and hope we can add you to our growing family of regular visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    315
    130
    30
    21
See reviews for
400
347
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Missouri
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent 3 days visiting Yellowstone National Park and parts of Montana. Our stay at the Kelly Inn was great; the management and staff were outstanding; the location was perfect, just a couple of blocks from the park entrance as well as a short walk downtown. Our only concern was the crush of foreign tourists not only at the Inn but in every restaurant downtown. But hey, that's how they are able to stay in business!
Definitely recommend the Kelly Inn and we will be staying there again on our next trip out west.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ligobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to submit a review of your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. As you experienced, over the last five years Yellowstone has seen a dramatic increase in visitors from all over the world who have different customs and languages. It is a challenge for every business to host record numbers of new visitors every season and an even greater challenge to learn how to accommodate so many foreign visitors. However, it is a great opportunity to showcase the best of America to folks who have only read about or seen images of America on TV and a great way to help level our deficit balance of world trade. Hopefully they return home with a better understanding and appreciation of our political, economic and geographical climate to help enable long term mutual respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stay at this hotel every year. It never disappoints. Friendly staff, very clean, great Yellowstone atmosphere and just a minute from the west entrance to park. Beds are comfortable. Many pillows. They have remodeled the breakfast area so there is more room to sit. Rustic log furniture adds to the woodsy feel. Patio has a fire pit. We always feel welcome and have never had a bad experience. We travel extensively and wish everywhere we stayed was the quality of this hotel. If you want luxury - Yellowstone is not for you. If you want clean, friendly, and comfortable - book this hotel. This is our "home away from home" in Yellowstone and we can't wait to get back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thanks for sharing your long term experience with many other readers making their first visit to Yellowstone. You explain the expectations for this wilderness community very well. We wish everyone would read the TripAdvisor reviews before making their first visit so they have more realistic expectations of the limited luxury amenities available in the wilderness. Many associate price with luxury rather than the overwhelming demand in peak season. We appreciate that you choose to stay with us on all of your return visits and hope that we can continue to earn your loyalty by making constant improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was one of our top stays during our July 2014 road trip. We checked in after a long day exploring the lower side of Yellowstone (Old Faithful, etc.) It is very close to the entrance of the park. I recommend West Yellowstone over Gardiner, Montana (North Entrance) review to follow :(

Anyway, we LOVED our room! A little pricey, but I think you'll find that with most places at this level due to it being a tourist town and peak season.

Wonderfully decorated and very roomy. We had the 2 king room and scored with the little carved wooden bear peeking in our room from the outside. Our son loved it! Call to make your reservation and request a "bear" room if you have kids. There are only a few.

-Room was very roomy, fresh and clean. Very nicely decorated in the theme of a log cabin almost.

-Beds, sheets and pillow were soooo soft, comfortable and fresh smelling. The duvet smelled like it was fresh out of the dryer. Very cozy.

-Guest laundry rooms on all three floors, I believe. At least floors 1 and 2 for sure.

-Good free breakfast. A little crowded, but there was a tour bus that pulled in late. Didn't seem like the one gentleman who was running the show could keep up. Most of the coffee containers, eggs, pancakes, etc.were emptywhen we arrived around 8:30. Again, maybe just due to overlaod of customers all at once. He could probably use some extra hands.

-Good free wi-fi.

-Close to restaurants, stores. There's a McDonalds near the entrance to the hotel if you don' want to go out.

-Very friendly reception staff :)

-Awesome indoor pool. They have water noodels for the kids and a TV. We watched a Dodger baseball game while playing in the pool/

The only negative, which I can't blame on the hotel....at 3:30 a.m. in the room above us, is sounded like there was a WWF match going on. What a bummer. No manner jerks who can't respect others sleep. Should have called the front desk in hindsight.

Overall, I would definintely stay again and recommend to other Yellowstone travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellek745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and our amenities. We wish you had informed the desk of the neighbors above you. Unfortunately in such a huge family destination, like Yellowstone, there are a lot of visitors from all over the world and many time zones who do not recognize or respect that they are sharing space with others. Many vacationers are totally unaware of how their actions or the actions of their unaccompanied children affect other guests because they are so used to such activity in their own home environment. We want everyone to have a good time and a memorable experience while visiting but also need to protect the quiet enjoyment of our other guests. We encourage any guest who observes inconsiderate behavior to notify the front desk so that we can take the appropriate action to resolve it peacefully and as quickly as possible. Thanks for pointing it out so that future guests may be more aware of how their actions influence the experience of others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I could not go on my once-in-a-lifetime trip to Yellowstone because I booked with them. I booked the wrong week for my visit. When I called back the next day (in less than 24 hours), they said it was non-refundable and there was nothing they could do for me. They sent a confirmation a week before the date I booked so I called back again. They said, "If you had called back right away, we probably could have canceled the room. Our records don't show that you called back. Sorry." I couldn't afford to pay for rooms I couldn't use, so I had to cancel my trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
From your review it appears that you chose a non refundable non cancellable reservation online but made a mistake in your dates or changed your plans and a refund was not made available. We understand your frustration if you forfeited your prepayment but would need more information to determine if any other options should be made available. We offer only two types of reservations- Best Available Rate which is cancellable up to 48 hours prior to arrival with no penalty and not actually charged until check out, and an Advanced Prepaid non Refundable, Non Cancellable discounted option that is only available at least 30 days in advance. Of course there would be no point in offering a non refundable, non cancellable prepaid reservation if anyone whose plans changed were allowed to cancel and ask for a refund but we do take into consideration special circumstances to help prevent a complete forfeiture of the prepayment.

In our description of the Prepaid non refundable reservation option we specifically post that there are no exceptions and state that rate choice should only be made by those who are absolutely sure that their plans will not change and are willing to take the risk to save 10%. Unfortunately we have had a few people choose that rate to obtain the lowest possible rate and then try to cancel and ask for a refund shortly before their arrival date when their plans suddenly changed. Of course those cases can create a financial hardship which often leads to unfounded claims when refunds are not made available. If a call was made the day after the reservation was made we should have both a written and video record of it which could be easily verified and a record of the call could also easily be provided from a phone bill. Since we make over 15,000 reservations every year, we have very strict and uniform procedures to track every conversation or document related to a reservation to verify facts and prevent any unreasonable charges or false claims.

Our policy has always been that if anyone calls within 48 hours of making such a reservation in order to inform us that they made a mistake in choosing that rate, we have always remade the reservation under the best available rate which can be cancelled without penalty up to 48 hours prior to arrival. We send confirmation letters or emails to the contact information provided as well as reminder letters or emails at least a week prior to arrival. If someone called the next day to ask to cancel a prepaid reservation they would have been referred to management for approval and a note made in their file. If a claim is made that a call was made and there is no note in the file it can be easily checked via our 24 hours video recordings of all front desk activity where every conversation from a desk clerk can be verified.

Unfortunately, we have had a few folks who made prepaid non refundable reservations and made no contact after receiving the original confirmation but then called us to cancel after receiving the uniform reminder letter that is sent to every reservation at least a week prior to arrival. it is a standard form letter sent from a third party company to every reservation with no designation of the rate type chosen. One sentence in that reminder letter states that "to avoid charges to the credit card used to hold the reservation, any cancellation must be made at least 48 hours prior to arrival". Since all prepaid non refundable reservations have already been charged in full up front, that statement doesn't apply to those reservations but the reminder letter is still automatically sent as a second confirmation of the dates simply to make sure that a guest doesn't forget. When guests with prepaid non refundable reservations have called us to attempt to cancel after receiving that letter, they are reminded that they chose the non refundable reservation that was already paid in full and that a cancellation is not possible. If they feel that their unique circumstances merit special consideration they are asked to contact management.

in unique circumstances, the most that we can offer is to extend the date of arrival and the prepayment to a future date to avoid forfeiting the prepayment, provided that such a request is made due to a medical emergency and made well in advance of arrival so that we have a reasonable time period of opportunity to sell the room. In all other cases we must be consistent and hold to the policy that governs the rate plan chosen so as not to discriminate. We're sorry if you made a poor rate choice decision and made an error in your dates or had a late change of plans for which we could not offer a refund. However, if you are able to present a phone record or any facts of a call to request a cancellation the day after you made your non refundable reservation, we will be glad to review the information provided and review the records and recordings from that day. If you forfeited your prepayment and we can verify your claim of an attempt to cancel the day after, then we will be happy to offer a full refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We arrived in West Yellowstone for one night and reserved Kelly Inn West primarily based on TA reviews and their pet friendly policy. This was our first experience staying in a ground floor room with an exterior entrance, and our cocker spaniel was very pleased to not have to negotiate hallways or an elevator! The room was clean and well decorated, and staff were courteous and helpful. No time for breakfast, and really hope Starbucks finds its way to Yellowstone at some point! Nice stay!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. Our first floor rooms are certainly in high demand with pet owners due to the convenience of the extra outside door. It's a pity that more hotels are not built with pet owners in mind any more due to the extra expense.

Unfortunately since the tourist season is so limited here, we are not likely to see Starbucks here any time soon unless it is sold in the local grocery store. Even at the price of a Starbucks, they probably couldn't afford the snow removal costs to be open all year or the year long rent to be open only 5 months. It isn't easy making money in the wilderness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near the main intersection in West Yellowstone so it is within walking distance to anything you might want to do in this very small town. The rooms are clean and large and the king double room worked very well for our family of three. The pool and hot tub area is nice as well. Breakfast was good as well but nothing special.
The only issue we had with our stay was not due to anything the hotel had to do with. We mistakenly made reservations with a common hotel booking website of which the name starts with a "O" and ends with a "z". Apparently the booking site overbooked for this night and failed to notify the customer ...us. The hotel staff was as helpful as they could be and remedied the issue but only by requiring us to change rooms three times during our four night stay. Again the hotel staff was very helpful in facilitating this unfortunate inconvenience.
Bottom line....we would recommend the Kelly Inn but highly recommend to not use the aforementioned booking site and simply call the hotel directly for reservations. You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rangertex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don and Sally H, General Manager at Kelly Inn West Yellowstone, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. Because Yellowstone sets new visitation records nearly every year, most hotels here are sold out early all summer. A hotel reservation system is like a huge puzzle matching rooms and dates to full capacity. We always recommend that potential guests call the hotel directly to inquire about room availability, room types and rates before choosing a date. There are many online travel agencies that spend huge sums advertising in an attempt to make commissions on reservations but none can offer a lower rate than what the hotel can. Unfortunately for hotels that may have only one or two rooms available, no outside agency has developed a sure fire method to insure that they know the exact number of rooms still available at any hour in real time or that any specific available room is available for multiple nights. Therefore they often overbook or cause the guest to have to relocate rooms because they must rely on an internet connection that only tells them if any room is available on the number of nights- not if the same room is available on all nights. In the time between the start of an online reservation and the completion of the reservation, any available room could have been taken by another internet connection or a phone call directly to the hotel. While their systems work for most hotels on most dates, it is simply not the most accurate method of determining availability in hotels located in areas that are usually sold out. We appreciate your explanation and recommendation based on your experience.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing