We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Pre-Season lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pre-Season lodging”
Reviewed 4 December 2009

An excellent, pre-season place to stay before the area rates go up for the tourist season. Across from the I-Max, near the Park entrance, it offers great accommodations at a great price in "pre-season." It is often our first pre-summer lodging.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carnivorismrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    315
    130
    30
    21
See reviews for
400
347
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WI
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2009

The location to West Yellowstone was nice, there is not much of a selection for hotels in that area. Room was adequate. Pool was cold; the heater apparently was not working so we were offered the pool of their sister hotel in the back. Breakfast was OK. Juice was warm some mornings. Quite crowded. Microwave power button didn't work in room. Rooms had a woodsy decor. Also heard barking dogs at times. Staff was nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Stayed July 24-25, 2009. Most places in town were full and everything in town is overpriced. We usually get a room with 2 queen beds, but all they had available was 2 king beds. The room was plenty big, not much of a view, bathroom small/average. Sink is seperate from bathroom. The pool was OK, on the small side. If staying in this town, would definately try to book ahead of time and get a better deal. The location is good if you are not wanting to stay in Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2009

My husband and I stayed at Kelly Inn during the week of July 4th, 2009. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The staff wasn't rude, but not overly friendly. Our only complaint was the laundry facilities - the dryers and washers did not work very well. They were either broken or, as in the case of the dryers, extremely slow and did not dry our clothes. We lost money in one of the dryers and after two hours our clothes were not dry in another. My husband checked the lint trap and it was packed, so they do not keep up with maintainance of the machines. In spite of this, I would still recommend staying there because it was clean and reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels in the area. And, you can't beat the location to the park.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

I did a lot of research before booking a place to stay on our family road trip to Yellowstone. We live in Portland, OR and were first traveling to Colorado for a graduation. Yellowstone was to be the end of a long road trip before heading home to Portland so comfort was important. This hotel was a slam dunk so to say.

You access this hotel and the quaint town of West Yellowstone from the West Entrance Road of the Park (a beautiful winding road that follows one of Yellowstone's many rivers). It was a pleasure to head down this entrance road each day.

When we arrived at The Kelly Inn the front desk staff was friendly, there were fresh fruits and single packs of gum in the lobby. The pool was visible from the lobby, so the kids were thrilled when they caught sight of that. We were traveling with 2 teenagers and 2 younger kids. We got a great online rate for our 2 nights stay. The only problem was that the internet was down. I had online work I had to finish, I was able to use the local library's connection for no charge and it was just a block away.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The decorating motif was upscale wilderness. We were very pleased. It was quiet and convenient. There was a TV, plenty of storage, a refrigerator and microwave in our room. The hotel had a daily complimentary breakfast including waffles, fruits, cereal and more. That was a definite plus!

The kids used the pool, it was clean, warm and well taken care of.

This hotel was an A+!
We'll stay again when our next niece graduates :)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flintzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I can’t argue with a lot of whats been said here. We did have a decent, clean room but felt for what it was, it was overpriced. We paid $160 a night.

I guess you have to expect that being so close to Yellowstone but maybe not.

Also, I agree with one travelers’ comment about the unfriendly staff. In my case, it was the woman working the front desk. With the exception of her, all other staff members we’re good.

The town itself is nice and we had a good pizza and some beers at the local pizzeria. I think it was called Wild West pizza or something like that.

Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My wife and I planned a two week trip to Yellowstone, by car. We always stay at Hampton Inn but were limited in West Yellowstone. We planned three nights in West Yellowstone and three nights in Jackson Hole. When we checked into Kelly Inn the desk person gave me a bill for 169 per night ... we went to the room and it looked like a 100 room. Went back to desk ... oh you're right it should be 149. As I was standing there he was quoting 129 to a caller. Went back to the room and searched Kelly on net ... yep, 129 per night. Thank goodess we were only scheduled for one night at Kelly ! We are going to stay here because we have to leave early in the morning.

This expereince will do it for us ... no more Kelly Inns.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WindyBurb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelly Inn West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly Inn West Yellowstone

Property: Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Address: 104 S Canyon St, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9556
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#6 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kelly Inn West Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Kelly Inn West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly Hotel West Yellowstone
Kelly West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing