We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 West Yellowstone
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This hotel is about 7 miles due west of downtown West Yellowstone. The rooms are comfortable, clean and good value. The morning breakfast is what you'd expect. It's just a few minutes drive back to West Yellowstone for a wide range of dining options.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimfromjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
2  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This was a nice location and less expensive than hotels right in West Yellowstone. I liked the outside deck and the inside sitting area was nice as well. I enjoyed the cookies and hot chocolate. However, the bathroom was tiny as was the sink area. It was rather dated in our room. My brother however, had a very nice room with adorable rustic furniture and a large bathroom with granite countertop. And he was only a few rooms down from us. Not sure why all the rooms are not updated.

Room Tip: Ask for the rustic room with the large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cher211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Cher211:

Thank you for the nice comments about our location and pubic spaces on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Your brother must have been in one of our upgrade king rooms. They are normally $15 more per night. This hotel was built to Super 8 standards in 1986 and as such does have small bathrooms in the standard rooms. We were able to convert 6 rooms to the upgrade kings, but the room itself is now smaller to allow for the larger bathroom. Next time you visit, try one of the upgrade king rooms -- many couples like them.

Mike Jackson
West Yellowstone Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel is located 8 miles far from West Yellowstone but I think this is the only con of the Super 8. At our arrival the manager was really nice, welcoming us with chocolate biscuits, and provided us with some advices for dinner. The room was really good, clean and confortable. We had a pizza for dinner in a place just around the corner. breakfast in the morning was just perfect! If you don't mind driving 8 miles from West Yellowstone, this place will bene just Perfect!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Silvia_Rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Dear Silvia_Rick:

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at the West Yellowstone Super 8! Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I am also happy that you enjoyed your meal at Lodge Pole Pizza next door. I hope to see you the next time you visit Yellowstone. We will have the cookies ready!

Mike Jackson, General Manager
West Yellowstone Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A very well run hotel, after we booked in the manager said there would be hot cookies ready very soon which was a nice touch.The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable, lovely views from our window. The breakfast room was a bit small and it got really busy in the morning, some people had to stand to eat their food.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear witcheshouse:

Thank you for the nice review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the West Yellowstone Super 8! We do bake cookies almost every evening and have them out at around 6 o'clock -- It is great that you enjoyed them! Our breakfast room can get a bit crowded at the peak of the morning rush; we built a wrap-around porch right outside the room to help with this situation. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Yellowstone!

Mike Jackson, General Manager
West Yellowstone Super 8

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here on a cross country motorcycle trip heading west after visiting Yellowstone. Thought it would be much cheaper than going into Jackson, which was correct. The motel was staffed by international college student interns from various countries who were billeted out back in separate quarters. The reason I mention this is that this property is isolated next to a campground about 7 miles west of West Yellowstone, which itself is not a very big or very nice town so I felt bad for the interns. I imagine they thought working a summer near "Yellowstone" would be a great experience, but without transportation, they are pretty isolated.
The motel itself was fine, but there is no place to eat nearby. The campground has a little pizza joint attached which is where we had to eat, and the food was awful. The alternative was to drive back to West Yellowstone, eat, then drive another 7 miles back to the motel. We chose pizza, but might just as well have skipped dinner.
So, the motel itself was OK, but considering its location, I would never stay here again.
However, the intern we met, a nice young woman from Jamaica was very professional as was the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ndmVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear ndmVt:

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to respond on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you did not like the location of our hotel. We are 7 miles west of the town of West Yellowstone. Many people enjoy the quietness of our location and the natural beauty of the surrounding mountains; however some would prefer to be in town. We have always tried to be upfront about our location. On my staff this summer I do have three international students; one from Jamaica and two from Turkey. When they apply for these positions they receive a job offer that describes in detail our location. While here they have multiple opportunities to tour Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, attend plays in West Yellowstone, meet and interact with guests and other employees from all over the United States and generally round out their English skills. I have been employing J-1 Visa students for years now and have had many return for a second or even third year. Of course when they graduate they are no longer eligible for the program and we miss them very much. Thank you also for trying the pizza next door. I am sorry you did not enjoy it. If anyone is anyone is dissatisfied with their meal, I know the manager will either replace the meal or refund the money.
I hope you enjoy your future trips to Yellowstone and I hope you would consider giving us another chance.

Mike Jackson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank MalcolmBenn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WestYellowstoneGM, General Manager at Super 8 West Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
7.1 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
7.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
370 reviews
7.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
8.2 mi away
Marina View Condos
Marina View Condos
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
57 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 West Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 West Yellowstone

Address: 1545 Targhee Pass Hwy, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £125 - £674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 West Yellowstone 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Yellowstone Super 8 offers a quiet setting just 7 and one-half miles west of West Yellowstone. With beautiful mountain views in all directions we are the perfect location for relaxing after a long day in Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 West Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 West Yellowstone Lionshead Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Super Eight
West Yellowstone Super 8
Super Eight West Yellowstone
Super 8 West Yellowstone Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing