We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yellowstone IMAX Theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone IMAX Theatre

Yellowstone IMAX Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Yellowstone IMAX is a 6 story screen with 12,000 watts of stereo surround sound. Only IMAX can show you Yellowstone like this! Be sure to visit YTP, Yellowstone Trading Post, our beautiful and unique gift shop inside the IMAX!
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Yellowstone IMAX Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very convenient location just outside the West entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Free parking and lots of restaurant options within walking distance. Food options inside also.

NOTE: Don't miss out on the 50 cent mini-ice cream cones.

Great gift shop - we did all of our souvenir shopping here - and they will ship anywhere in the world.

If you have never been to an IMAX - you are in for a treat. The screen is 52' high x 72' wide. Strap yourself in if you have vertigo - the shots done by helicopter are like you are in the helicopter with your feet dangling over the edge...very spectacular.

We are fortunate enough to have one in our hometown and is a real treat to watch first run and specialty shows like Rolling Stones in concert. Like being in the front row.

There were other shows running also (Alaska) but the Yellowstone show was every 2 hours starting at noon. Some retail stores/hotels in West Yellowstone have discount coupons available for this attraction (more to spend on ice cream).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    87
    34
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Nothing like feeling as if you are right there. We sawl: Yellowstone and we saw Alaska and both are great! We recommend the Yellowstone IMAX while in West Yellowstone!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pixbysandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Rip Off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

I have not attended an IMax for several years so maybe this is standard but for the high price of admission and then to only see a thirty minute film on Yellowstone seemed like a tourist trap to me. I will be wiser IF I ever go to another, which is highly doubtful. Not to mention the earsplitting sound system which gave each of us a headache by the end. And, the fact that the business was staffed with unruly giggling teenagers who were grabbing each other and wrestling as customers approached the entrance. This doesn't speak well for any business. I hope the IMax management reads Trip Advisor and sees how their business is run behind their backs. There was no one to complain to expect a kid.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great preview of Yellowstone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is a great way to get an introduction to Yellowstone, especially for those who've never been there. Neat experience for the whole family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeLa10672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Yellowstone IMAX movie and gift shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We took our 2 year old son, who surprisingly sat through the entire 45 minute "Yellowstone" film. We also enjoyed browsing the large, nice gift shop. It was kind of tricky to figure out where to buy movie tickets and enter, and the staffer at the snack bar was not very friendly. We enjoyed having a different activity to do like this during all of our outdoor sightseeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TEW49ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yellowstone IMAX Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Yellowstone IMAX Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing