We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Al's Westward Ho Motel
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Last minute find”
Reviewed 11 March 2008

We accidentally found this place during our Cross Country Trip in 2005. We had been planned on camping in Yellowstone that night but a late afternoon torrential downpour changed our minds. We began driving around West Yellowstone looking for a place to stay while paging through our travel book. Al's was the first place we saw so we went in to ask about their availabilty and rate for the night. Since it was the offseason, the place was empty and we got a room for 2 adults for $38 including tax. It was no frills, but it was clean and comfortable which is exactly what we needed as we were up and back on the road early the next morning.

  • Liked — price, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jams33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    69
    55
    14
    21
See reviews for
50
97
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2007

In the 36 years that I have been traveling and staying at many accommodations, Al's Westward Ho Motel was one of my most disappointing encounters. First of all, it was extremely difficult to make a reservation. It took me approximatley eight calls over two days before I could get someone to answer the telephone. I had the same difficulties when I wanted to change my reservation. I finally gave up and left two separate voice mails on the motel's answering machine. When I got to the Motel at 8:00p.m. on the 12th, I was told I had NO RESERVATION. The woman at the desk told me that my voicemail got cut off halfway through the first message and that she never received a second message so she simply cancelled my reservations. Furthermore, this woman at the desk (who seemed to be one of the owners.) scolded me like a five year old and told me I should never have left a phone machine message. She commented that she ran a business, that I should have known better, and should have spoken with someone in person. Her attitude was condescending, belittliling, and rude. She offerred no help in finding another place to stay. She seemed to take delight in stranding two 61 year-old women at 8:00p.m.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelGirlNewton_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We arrived in West Yellowstone without reservations (dummy!) and went to the Tourist Information office next to the IMAX. Al's called while we were there to say they had two rooms left and my wife and i and another couple made a beeline for the motel. The other couple took a suite and we took room #1. The room had twin beds a bathroom and a small kitchen and that was about it. It was clean but the old Frigidaire with the long handle for opening gave away the age of the place. It is the closest motel to the West Entrance and the people were very nice (almost apologetic for having us stay in #1). I would stay there again but would make a reservation to make sure I got a newer room.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Grizzlyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2007

I reserved two rooms at Al's on the internet. When we arrived, Marilyn said she did not have an internet site and she had no reservations for us - even though I had a confirmation number. She asked how much the room was ($89) - and she said she could do better than that. She said there were just two rooms left if we wanted them for $69 apiece ( we were traveling with another couple). Marilyn assured us that we would not be charged twice for the rooms if we wanted to stay. The commode in the first room had a serious leak so we had to move upstairs. The second room had a wall heater that did not work very well. It was about 28 degrees that night. One night was enough, yes it is close to Yellowstone but that was about it. Needless to say we were charged twice. After contacting this business I could not get the second charge credited back. I disputed the charge through my credit card. Finally, two months later I was credited for the second charge. Yes the web site is still out there - and yes they take reservations.

Helpful?
5 Thank seatraveler42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

The room was very clean and had comfortable beds. However, the owner was very feisty and not flexible at all (it's the end of the season and she's probably tired of all of the tourists and been in the business too long). You need to check in between 4 and 9 (and no earlier, you can't even get your key early), so we had to completely revamp our days plans to accommodate those hours. We had planned to be in Yellowstone for sunset. We were also surprised that there was no ice maker, it was a hot day and we wanted ice, but had to go into town and buy a bag. The room did have a fan in it.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — owner
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sasaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

We had a very pleasant stay here, but this is not a motel for anyone attached to amenities, like air conditioning or fan or phone, etc. It was warm so we had to keep a window open for ventilation -- luckily, things quieted down around 10PM -- everyone was as tired as we were I guess!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — no fan
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alaughingdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wincheser, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2006

Old but clean and well kept.

Good room rate ($74.80 including the tax) for 4 adults.

This hotel is just outside of Yellowstone National Park.

You have to be there by 9:00 p.m.

There was no air conditioning, but it was not needed.

No smoking is allowed in any of the rooms or even on the property of this hotel.

We would have liked more pillows (2 per each queen size bed provided). We didn't ask for more either.

There were 4 bath towels and 3 wash cloths - we didn't ask for more.

There is no telephone in the room.

Would definately stay at this hotel again due to the rate.

Helpful?
4 Thank Condarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#22 of 39 in West Yellowstone
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Westward Ho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Westward Ho Motel

Property: Al's Westward Ho Motel
Address: 16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Al's Westward Ho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al's Westward Ho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Westward Ho Hotel West Yellowstone
Als Westward Ho Hotel
Al's Westward Ho Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing