We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Australian visitors to Yellowstone” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Al's Westward Ho Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Al's Westward Ho Motel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Australian visitors to Yellowstone”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a most unpleasant encounter with hotel owner, when we pulled up outside and parked on the roadside out the front of the motel. It appeared to be a fine spot to park, as it wasn't labelled. The owner came out and spoke very crossly to us, before even asking if we were staying in the motel. Welcome to America!! This man would have to be about the rudest person we have come across in our travels in America! Also the property was also most uninviting.Would suggest you look for a better place to stay!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank McTickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    68
    55
    13
    21
See reviews for
48
96
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday at the end of June, and since it has a fantastic location- a stone's throw from the west entrance to Yellowstone, it was understandably busy. The lady who checked in me was very friendly and professional. The room I was given was very spacious, clean and fresh- obviously had just been renovated. The bed was very comfortable, and after a long day around Yellowstone, it was just perfect! Although it's on the Yellowstone edge of town, it's still walkable to a number of shops and eateries, so you're not out in the sticks! And despite being very busy, you would hardly know it in the room- I didn't hear a peep out of any of the adjacent rooms!

Room Tip: The double queen room is very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh, pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Recently, stayed for one night at Al's Westward Ho and was extremely, pleasantly surprised. Although the decor is still stuck in the 70's, that is actually kind of cool and the cleanliness and pleasant demeanor of the entire staff would be hard to replicate. Seriously, my room was SO CLEAN I could have eaten of the floor! Love this quaint, family-owned, non-chain motel and would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila, philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is run by a nice lady at the front desk who will always try her best to accommodate you despite her busy schedule; she takes care of the whole complex daily herself. Rooms are clean, orderly, and spacious enough with sufficient heater/aircon system & water supply. Parking space is ample. Wifi and cellphone signals are poor, although this is apparently the case of the entire West Yellowstone town. No refrigerator & coffee-maker in the rooms that we rented. There's a supermarket a stone's throw away from the hotel. Restaurants are just around the corner nearby. Overall, it was a splendid 4-day stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobiguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I gave Al's Westward hotel 3 stars strictly as it applies to this type of motel category. A category of no frills, no extras, nothing whatsoever about higher level accommodations but it provides a clean room with a bed and a bathroom. It is a motor inn where you are parked 6 feet from your door (side note to other visitors, how about not turning your car alarm on at 7am in the morning!!!). The room was clean but it had definite signs of wear. The size of the room itself (double queen room) was adequate - smallish but not tiny. The beds were surprisingly comfortable. The TV is the old CRT type but provided adequate extended cable choices (some came in fuzzy). Water pressure and temperature was decent. There are old style heaters but they worked and kept the room warm during a fairly cool evening. Internet did not work when we tried it but there is a wifi network with the name Al's Westward Ho being broadcast. There is no phone in the room. There is no coffee maker in the room. Ice is available at the front desk for drinks only (they give a small bucket to you). There is a grocery store two minutes walk that is open until 10pm.
This front desk opens at 4pm, prior to this it is closed. This appears to be without exception. I noticed the front office appeared to be closed (dark) around 10pm. This may have been only the night I stayed but take note of that if you are coming in late. Check out is 10am and this appears to be also without exception. I had a less than pleasant greeting from one of the housekeeping but not a big deal.
If you only need an absolutely no frills room that consists of a bed with a bathroom and a TV (for some pre-sleep entertainment) and if higher end extras that other hotel types provide are no needed or wanted, Al's Westward Hotel is perfectly adequate. Conversely if you are used to a room that shows no wear/in newish condition and has some or even a few niceties, you should look for something else.

Room Tip: Get a second floor unit to avoid engine/car noise 5 feet from your window/door.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank All-Fifty-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a great last minute stay here, they had the only room left for us on a Thursday night before heading into the park. The person at the front desk was very accommodating and nice, I think they might have owned the place.

The rooms all have doors to the outside facing the parking lot so there isn't any great views but the stay was comfortable and quiet. They had great toiletries (like TOM"S TOOTHPASTE) and a somewhat apartment style coziness. The attire in the rooms is quite dated but they were clean and neat.

Great quality room for the price we paid

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed here with my cycling group. The room was small, the bed was adequate, the furnishings are all dated, but functional. It was reasonably clean, and the bathroom had a window, but overall i thought it was overpriced. There are many hotels in this town...recommend you look around for a nicer place. One thing which annoyed me - we all stood around waiting for the office to open at 4:00. After cycling nearly 80 miles, we were tired and could not understand why we had to stand outside in the tremendous heat waiting for them to open the office and dole out the room keys. I understand that lots of places don't guarantee the rooms to be available early, but if they are, they let you check in. Not this place. The office is closed and locked until 4:00, and then you have to wait to get your key.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#25 of 39 in West Yellowstone
3.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al's Westward Ho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al's Westward Ho Motel

Property: Al's Westward Ho Motel
Address: 16 Boundary St., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Al's Westward Ho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Al's Westward Ho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al`s Westward Ho Hotel West Yellowstone
Als Westward Ho Hotel
Al's Westward Ho Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing