We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting, Filthy, too exspensive, "roach motel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Yellowstone's City Center Motel
Ranked #19 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
great falls, mt
1 review
“Disgusting, Filthy, too exspensive, "roach motel"”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Extremely filthy...our first room smelled like a kennel, then we got switched and the blankets have never been washed, the towels were covered in stains and/or filth, the toilets didn't flush right, the air conditioner didn't work, the matresses were from the 1980's and when exposed stains were everywhere! and to top it all off the workers were very rude...i waited 20 minutes to be waited on, while he took a phone call that seemed personal...i will NEVER stay here again ...

Room Tip: a different hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelledoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    79
    26
    10
    9
See reviews for
78
56
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boise
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The folks at the city center did everything in their power to make our stay very nice. It was a pleasure to stay and we will definitly return. thank you very much........

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misterrayBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed at City Center Motel for several days while visiting Yellowstone Park (Jul 11). The room was very clean, large and well kept up. We especially liked the fact that they had a community kitchen where you could store/refrigerate perishables. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms very large. Danielle and George (managers) were very helpful and considerate and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable.
Doug, Liz, Alexander, Sarah, Angela and John Wise

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougLiz19651961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle/Boulder
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

In a place where a 1 star motel costs $200 this place was priced better. The staff is very friendly. The motel is old, but kept clean. The refrigerator is in a community area. The walls are paper thin, so your sleep depends on your neighbors. Like I said we were looking for a bargian, so we gave up some comforts we would have liked. It is AAA approved, so we took a chance and it worked out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acrosstheshiningsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We paid close to $100 for a night with 2 queen bed, which I considered a good price for that area. It is right outside the west entrance/exit of the Yellowstone Park. What I found a little weird about that place though (not sure if it is a common practice in that area), the front desk closes at 10 pm. So if you "need" anything after that time, I guess you are out of luck. The staff that worked on the night of our arrival was very helpful. We called in advance that afternoon telling them that we would have to check in late because we were still spending time inside the Yellowstone Park - that's when we found out that she was only going to be in the office till 10. By 9 that night we knew we were going to be late getting there because we were stalled inside the park with the bisons taking on the road but we couldn't call the motel because the cell phone didn't get any network. We believe she actually stayed behind a bit to wait for us till 10:30. Overall, we like the service. The room is not small but I won't call it roomy either - but is clean. It is overall bit dated and it has no microwave/frige available - they do have free ice. If you just need a place to sleep after the park, it is an ok place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelegoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed at the City Center before, good service, clean rooms and best prices in a otherwise tourist priced town. Since our last stay the people have done a "makeover" giving it a really nice mountain lodge feel. Resturant and stores nearby- We ate daily at the Old Town Cafe, I thought my Grandma took a job cooking there! We took one of the bus tours they offer and i dont think I will take my car into a national Park again- they really know how to show you the Park

Room Tip: All great rooms- clean, quite and good beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadaredCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandinIronInn, Owner at West Yellowstone's City Center Motel, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear CanadaredCalgary,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the newly remodeled City Center Motel in West Yellowstone! We spent all winter remodeling the rooms with new paint and décor. We’re happy you enjoyed it. Thank you for the compliment! It was a pleasure to have you back again. See you next trip!
Randy Roberson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

West Yellowstone is a strange place, full of souvenir shops and captive tourists. The hotels reflect this. City Center is not the worst choice in town. It is basic, clean and convenient. It is also terribly noisy. The plumbing in any room echoes throughout the building. Adequate may be the best description. I would hesitate to stay again, but then then, what are the other choices?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minnetonkalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
704 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Yellowstone's City Center Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Yellowstone's City Center Motel

Property: West Yellowstone's City Center Motel
Address: 214 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly City Center Motel)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in West Yellowstone
#10 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your West Yellowstone's City Center Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Yellowstone`s City Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstones City Center Hotel
West Yellowstone's City Center Motel Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing