We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Under Canvas Yellowstone
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Super 8 West Yellowstone(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Inn(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arrowhead Lodge(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Pine Shadows Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy G Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
1872 Inn(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Pioneer Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Golden West Motel(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yellowstone Townhouses(West Yellowstone)
View Hotel
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
344
189
79
42
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
189
79
42
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovesafari tentreception tentcamping experiencesleeping bagmain tentfun experienceplenty of blanketsprivate bathroomcamp firecharging stationhot watergreat outdoorsa king size bedon site restaurantdirt roadbathrooms were clean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
650 - 655 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I did a full blog report on their business operations. But the summary is this:
We booked a deluxe tent with heat. On 06/22 the NPS put restrictions in place including the heat in the deluxe tents. On 07/01 the website still says "Only our deluxe tents have heat" Without a call or advanced warning, they waited till we arrived on 07/03 and told us they can't use the stoves. No discount, no refund, no opportunity to find another place. Because as we all know, there are plenty of vacancies at Yellowstone on the 4th of July holiday.

We tried it, and left after sunset as the temperatures got into the low 40's. And told them we wanted a refund. They offered a small discount, which wasn't even based on our costs to get a different room.

Their answer on 07/05 was that they just found out about this restrictions moments before we arrived. BTW - their website STILL says "Deluxe has heat" even with the fire restrictions still in place.

This is a scam - don't be fooled by this new outfit trying to rip you off. Book elsewhere till they get the kinks out of their business processes.

Was the cabin nice? This is not a review of how pretty or comffy. Its about the horrible business practices.
http://skamarakas.com/jim/2012/07/05/yellowstone-under-canvas-ripoff-report

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JimSkamarakas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

We are not situated on National Forest Land or National Park Land and were only informed on the afternoon of 3rd July that the fire restrictions that had been put in place would affect the use of our wood stoves in our deluxe tents. This guest was informed as soon as was humanly possible that they would no longer be able to use their stove and this guest was incensed that we had not let them know ahead of time. This guest was offered a partial refund due to the inconvenience of lack of pre-arrival awareness however this was deemed still not to be acceptable, despite the fact their tent was very useable they still had access to a beautiful tent with a private bathroom and warm weather that would actually not warrant the use of the stove. This guest was abusive and threatening and such attitudes will not be accommodated in our camp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

we stayed at a deluxe tent and paid for it. the prices were ultra expensive for what you get, especially when you consider that they try to charge you $2 for a night burning log and $10 for more firewood. we did sundowners and paid for it...$20 per person for a glass a wine and a couple pieces of cheese appeared steep to us.

the covers had interesting stains on them which added to our experience.

the experience was interesting as it is different, but we enjoyed our other stays in the area more.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Facil_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 24 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped. We would always want our rooms to be exceptionally clean and are very sorry that a piece of your bed linen slipped through our high standards. We wish you would have drawn it to our attention during your stay so we could have rectified it immediately.

All deluxe tents come with plenty of fire wood for a one night stay. Should guests require more they are able to purchase more and can also purchase slow burning logs in addition to aid night time warmth.

Our sundowner experience is just that an experience to be enjoyed not a full meal. We are sorry you did not enjoy it as much as we always do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

So, we did not splurge and stay in the big tents that everyone else seems to be raving about. THey did look very nice. We stayed in the tipi, teepee? We did enjoy ourselves, but we are used to camping. The tipis don't have beds, chairs, heaters, floors, etc. They have 2 cots with sleeping bags and a lantern. We were very very cold at night. We slept in multiple layers to stay warm. It was just like camping, except the tent was provided. The bathrooms were very nice inside, although there were only 3 of them. There was generally a line. Electricity was not on at all hours, so there was often no running water in the bathroom. No wifi as advertised. Other groups were very loud, often shouting, laughing, playing guitars until 2 in the AM. On the positive side- the staff was very friendly, we enjoyed being out in nature, dog-friendly, aa camping experience without a lot of the hassle. A good time, just know the difference between the tipis and the tents. We did enjoy it.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, get a big tent.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallgaloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahDusek, Owner at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! Since your stay with have now gained some more tipi toilets to try and prevent lines for the bathroom and we are enforcing a curfew at 11pm so all our guests can get enough rest whilst on vacation! Generally it is very quiet here at night. It does get very cold here at night so we do encourage all our guests to come prepared for very low temperatures at night by bringing warm clothes and extra layers. As the elevation here is very high (6500 feet!) it can still freeze here at night even in the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The camping site is even more beautiful than the photos provided in the company website. Stunning scenery in the morning! It's a great and unique experience. Sarah and Jacob are nice and kind. The location is good-- 20 minutes away from the national park. We love this place very much. Just one reminder: if you stay in a Tipi, be well prepared for the possible low temperature at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Sara, Jake (and Jasper) were friendly, so welcoming and took wonderful care of us. The tents and teepees were well appointed and very comfortable. It got quite cold (below 30) yet the wood stove kept the tent plenty cozy. The views were stunning and we highly recommend dining at the Bar N lodge/restaurant. We would definitely go "glamping" again. It was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews