We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Wonderful Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Under Canvas Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Wonderful Views”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My fiannce and I spent two nights at Yellowstone Under Canvas during our tour of Wyoming/Montana. The amenities, views, and staff were wonderful. Robert (I believe) was quite helpful and the entire staff was hospitable.

The sunset over the Idaho Mountains was my favorite park and quite the relaxant after a long day exploring Yellowstone.

We stayed in a teepee and found the setting comfortable. I can't wait to come back. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wscomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
It was nice to read your evaluation and especially since you stayed in the Tipi. The Tipis have become our most requested accomodation. Thanks for sharing your picture of the sunset. We are blessed with some of the most beautiful sunsets at our location. Sunrise isn't to bad either! Good luck to you and your fiance and please keep us in mind for your honeymoon. It has been amazing how many newlyweds have selected our glamp for a part of their honeymoon memory. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    183
    79
    42
    34
See reviews for
338
209
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

we booked tippies with expedia but asked for a upgrade to luxury tent because my wife was sick and it's not convenient to have restroom far from the tent and sleep on a military bed,
luxury tents are just great, incredible view. Very cold in the morning so we used the wood fire place.
Noisy because it's a camping and not an hotel.
We loved the place, especially the teens who were sleeping under the tippy.
great place if you're not too picky ...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Frederic, thank you for taking time to review your experience. I am glad the upgrade with the private bath was a benefit for you. We all do hope your wife is better and had a great vacation. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We are a family that has camped in and/or near State Parks all over the country. We think that being so close to nature is worth giving up the comforts of home. What's fantastic about this place is we truly had the best of both worlds! We got a Deluxe Safari Tent which came with its own bathroom tepee. We also got a tepee for our 3 kids. (The additional tepee with 3 cots was very reasonably priced!) Our tent was in a nice, private area near the river. It had a big, comfortable bed, a dresser, lanterns, and a wood stove that really warmed the tent on the cold mornings. The staff cleaned all three tents each day(no small feat in the great outdoors) and gave us fresh towels. We stayed 3 nights and each night a rain storm passed through. We could hear the rain hit against the tent but everything remained dry. One morning there were moose right at camp near the river. There was nothing like unzipping the tent in the morning and seeing the sun rise over the mountains. It really was an amazing upgrade for those who like the experience of camping but who (like us) are either flying and can use the help with gear, etc. or who simply want to invest a bit more and to "glamp".

Sent from my iPhone

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a deluxe safari tent, not just for your own bathroom but for privacy as well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Molly, thank you so much for the fantastic revue and description of the things we have to offer our guests. With Yellowstone National Park so near by it is great to hear you took the time to explore our camp and were fortunate enough to see some of the wildlife with whom we share this beautiful area. It was great to have you stay with us and please come visit next year. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

If your a lover of the camping experience this place does not disappoint. If your new to the challenges of sleeping outside - this place will help you ease into the experience. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity to sleep under the stars in the Big Sky country of Montana. The units are very comfortable especially the ones with the private bath and the wood stove inside. Occupants in the more basic units can use the modern bath facilities in a heated trailer with hot showers. The morning will bring hot coffee and conversation in the reception tent with your fellow campers. The evening offers a fun time around the campfire with new friends.

Room Tip: if the weather will be cold in the evenings - choose the tent with the wood stove
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your glamping experience. Your comments must be reassuring to those travellers who have never camped. We do work very hard to make this a positive experience for the many guests we get who have never spent a night under canvas. Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us a boost of confidence for what we are doing here. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We loved this place! The tent was so comfortable and spacious and I loved being able to make a real fire in the stove - it made the tent so warm! We also enjoyed the campfire at night where people from different places sat around and discussed their experiences at Yellowstone. It was a really warm and friendly atmosphere. We were lucky to get a rent right at the end of the grounds where it was very quiet and peaceful with beautiful views. The one thing we didn't expect was to have a swim in the stream within the grounds - it was very cool but refreshing. Also, check out the local rodeo down the road 'Wild West Yellowstone Rodeo' - it was good fun and a cheap night out!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
I am so happy that enjoyed the swim in the South Fork of the Madison. That water is a bit on the chilly side but those that brave it, love it. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor friends. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here two nights and wish we could have stayed longer. It is the BEST place to stay near the west entrance of Yellowstone. Upon arriving we had a friendly staff member (Bob, I think, was his name) greet us and explain how the campground works. He took us and our luggage to our tent and showed us around - explained about the lanterns, the fireplace, he really covered every detail and was so friendly. The site is amazingly beautiful. A huge valley with an incredible creek running through it (great for dipping your toes in), and the evenings there were really magical.

The tent was spacious and very clean, and the bed was really comfy. There were two chairs that we took outside sometimes to enjoy the view, a dresser, and 3 lanterns to use. The stove helped keep the place warm at night.

The bathroom situation is that they have a large trailer near the entrance with individual bathrooms that include a toilet, sink, and shower. They have hot water until 11pm, when they turn off the generator so that it's quiet at night. The showers have dispensers with shower gel, shampoo, and extra wash cloths. The bathroom experience was great - just right for the setting (even nicer than we thought it would be).

Our first night there we were a bit upset because we could hear music playing from the staff tent area after 11pm. But when we told a staff member at the registration tent they sent someone over to quiet them down.

We sat around the campfire both nights and met some really great people. It's a nice social setting and we enjoyed comparing travel stories and tips with other guests.

There's a very strict (and understandable) no food policy to keep away animals. So don't plan on bringing any food into the campsite. We kept our snacks in our car. For breakfast both mornings we walked up the dirt road (maybe 5 min walk) to the Bar N Ranch restaurant and had a great breakfast.

I would absolutely stay here again and recommend it to anyone who wants a really special experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churros81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Wow! I am so amazed at how well our guests sometimes cover all the details. I do remember you all and am thankful you arrived back to NY safely. Thank you so much for the kind words and details of our site. I do hope you will come see us again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here in a deluxe safari tent. It is very hot during the day and very cold at night. Recommend arriving just before dark! The wood burning stove worked very well but it did go out twice during the night (my fault) and the tent retains no heat... One of us took a shower but the rest of us found it too cold to do so comfortably so we did not. Very interesting concept. Beautiful views of stars as we were outside the city lights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobGeneralManager, General Manager at Under Canvas Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
We really do appreciate the feedback from our most valued guests. Your statements are so true about the variations in temperature. To help keep our guests warm at night we do provide the very best in warm bed linens and do our best to help with wood burning stove instruction. Our staff looks forwared to lighting wood stoves for our guests. I apologize for not having the opportunity to help you with your stove. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
142 reviews
6.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
6.2 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Under Canvas Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under Canvas Yellowstone

Property: Under Canvas Yellowstone
Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Under Canvas Yellowstone 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Under Canvas Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Under Canvas Yellowstone West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing