We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A unique, comfortable, and affordable experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone Under Canvas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brookville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A unique, comfortable, and affordable experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

It is hard to tell on a website just what a site is like. In spite of the reassurances and pictures on the website, my wife and I approached Yellowstone Under Canvas with great trepidation. We had spent the night before in a pup tent, we had spent all day hiking in the Tetons, and we were dirty and tired. As we waited in line, surveying the small village of canvas teepees and tents, I could feel my wife's incredulity and disappointment.

But after we registered, the manager walked us to our teepee, helpfully explaining safety issues and amenities, and he opened the flap to our teepee.....and behold! Clean and comfortable cots with layered sleeping bags that can keep you warm in frigid conditions, a powerful electronic lantern, and bear spray. And as we gathered our toiletries and marched to the bathroom trailer with dread in our hearts, we entered opened the doors and....my goodness! Clean and tidy toilet, sink, and shower, and yes, the hot water was good. And that night, a terrible storm blew through, and the teepee stood strong and kept out the rain. The next morning, the bathrooms were rather gross with the mud that got tracked in, but we definitely understood that it would be near impossible to stay on top of that.

It's a bit off the beaten path and inconvenient for accessing Yellowstone (a few miles beyond West Yellowstone), but for its price, novelty, and comfort, you should at least do one night in Yellowstone Under Canvas. Then again,, short of actually staying in the park, what exactly is quick and convenient for coming in to Yellowstone?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Public Relations Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are so glad that we were here to exceed your expectations and the you left us with a memorable experience. Thank you for sharing this with us and those that do as you did and look to Tripadvisor for input on where to stay and things to do.

It was our pleasure to host you and I sincerely hope that you will try us here again or one of our other sites in Moab UT. or Glacier MT.

It is a pleasure to hear great things from experienced Campers who know all to well what the realities of camping are and the drastic difference in that and a hotel.

Welcome to our Yellowstone Under Canvas Family and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    152
    73
    40
    30
See reviews for
256
168
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We couldn't afford a trip to Yellowstone & 2 nights stay in a hotel. So,we found Under Canvas on TripAdvisor,read the reviews & booked a tent. When we arrived we were greeted by the friendly staff & shown to our TEEPEE! How cool is that?! It was about 43 degrees that night & we were provided with wonderful cots,sleeping bags with liners & an extra blanket. The shower trailer is quite clean,comfortable & clean towels soap & shampoo provided. We were tired so we didn't join other campers around the campfire,but we plan to this summer. Also,there are games in the office tent,so we borrowed Yahtzee & played a few games.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cddub69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, Public Relations Manager at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Wow...

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much and I am so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful experience you plan to return again this year. We are looking forward to seeing you again.

It is always a pleasure to hear from those who have stayed and enjoyed Everything Yellowstone Under Canvas. We have made some new additions that I am sure you will enjoy and this year will be greater than the last!

You are now Yellowstone Under Canvas Family and we look forward to seeing you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We believed we would have a wood burning stove and be on a platform when we booked a larger canvas tent (not a teepee) for our family of 4, so were a little surprised to find that this wasn't the case in our tent. I was worried we would be cold and really looked forward to the wood stove. But with 4 beds, there isn't enough room in the tent. Bummer.

We also did not know that there is a strict NO FOOD policy in the campground so that also was disappointing we couldn't roast marshmallows. I did not see anyone getting appetizers and wine by the river, as shown on the website either. Coffee was nowhere to be found. But agree with other reviews, go to Bar n Ranch for a fabulous breakfast and coffee.

Beds were comfy and the tent was very clean inside. I didn't care for the "luxury bathrooms" however that's not why we stayed. We enjoyed the experience overall and I was in heaven taking night time photographs from the camp ground. The night sky was beautiful.

We enjoyed wading in the river and skipping rocks, and they did let us have wine so we had a great fireside chat with other campers and shared our yellowstone stories.

Overall I would do again, but with a wood stove in one of the better tents.

Room Tip: Plan on eating out for all your meals. No food allowed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love_to_travel_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shdusek, Owner at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thanks so much for your review....it makes us realize the summer is almost once again upon us! We're gearing up for our new season and we can't wait! I'm sorry you had not realized the Safari with 4 twins does not come with a wood stove. The info is on our website and room descriptions. We also try very hard in all the communication we send out to our guests to ensure everyone knows we do not allow food into the camp. We prize everyone's safety very highly! Thankfully we do have a fabulous restaurant right on site just 2 mins walk away which is fantastic for Breakfast and dinner. I'm not quite sure how you missed the coffee but its served in our reception tent from 7am-10am every day. A great way to start your day.
Anyway we're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back into a tent with a woodstove next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Understand this from the get go - we are not "campers". We travel a lot, but we do not camp. We don't normally stay in FANCY HOTELS - but the idea of a tent and being cold and having to go outside to go to the bathroom - those things do not normally add up to "fun" for us.

But Yellowstone Under Canvas has converted us! We may not be CAMPERS, but we are now GLAMPERS! This place was really fun!! We had a Deluxe Safari Tent (thanks to some kind friends who upgraded us!!). The setting is gorgeous - what views! The SKY!!!! We are "city folk" and this whole setting just had us in awe.

The Deluxe Safari tent was beautiful. It is very clean and very well set up. The bed is uber comfortable and the blankets/duvet are the bomb! The in-tent wood stove was great for keeping the place toasty during the night. We were there in July and even though it was midsummer it still got really cold outside overnight. But we slept with the whole front of the tent OPEN (well, of course we had the screens closed...) so we could see the night sky and morning sunrise. BEEEAUTIFUL!!!!

The "peepee teepee" was also well set up and actually really cute. The shower water was warm.

We really liked the camp fire the staff made. It was so fun to sit around, smell and watch the fire, and talk to fellow travelers. We also enjoyed walking along the creek that runs through the camp. Morning coffee from the front office tasted good and was a great start to our day.

We recommend a stay here. We only got to stay one night. If we go again we will plan for 2!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Deluxe Safari tent. It is worth the extra money to have the wood stove, front deck, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriusGirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shdusek, Owner at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are so glad we've converted you and that you had a great time! We hope now you'll visit us at our other locations. Come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Yes, it is a little pricey. Stayed in the deluxe safari tent with a pp tipi. A comparable would be glamping in Africa, which had en suite bathrooms. Yes, more convenient en suite but frankly this forced you to get outside and have a little challenge since the bed was one of the better ones on the trip and the stove kept you toasty warm when the temps dropped.

After hearing about the sky at night in New Mexico and not seeing it in the early part of the vacation trip due to clouds, the view at night here was worth the price of admission. Spectacular.

Short version - would do it again, voting with my pocketbook.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shdusek, Owner at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
We're so glad you had a great time with us. The night skies are absolutely incredible there and our soft, warm, comfy beds are pretty tough to get out of! We hope we've hooked you on glamping and that we'll have the pleasure of seeing you again either back in Yellowstone or at one of our other camps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here with our two toddlers in the middle of July. We had a deluxe safari tent, and it was worth having our own bathroom tent. The tent was cosily set up, and the bed was wonderfully warm and comfortable. They provided us with two cribs without a problem, and sufficient bedding to keep our children warm. The campsite was surprisingly quiet, considering that all that separated guests were canvas walls. The only downside was that no food is allowed into the site because of bears, and there was no secure provision for essential food items (such as milk for babies). Somewhat overpriced, but definitely a unique experience. Probably only something I would do once, but glad we did.

Room Tip: If you're going to pay the already high rates, it's worth paying for your own bathroom! If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlibarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shdusek, Owner at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. We're glad you had a great time and enjoyed the camp. Our no food policy can obviously be very inconvenient but your safety remains our top priority and so we make a trade on safety over convenience. We're so glad you had a chance to experience the camp. Hopefully you'll try out one of our other camps in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is not your typical hotel. It isn't a hotel at all - and don't expect a restaurant, bar, room service or bath towel. But you do get the most incredible night sky and morning sun. We reserved the deluxe tent with private teepee bathroom. All was nice, clean. And this was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. WARNING: Make sure to arrive by 9pm. That is the latest there are staff in the reception desk, and - this is the reason for only 4 out of 5 stars - we were told that some guests who arrived after 10 were told over the phone they had to sleep in their cars. After 9 there is no way to check in and be shown your tent.

Room Tip: The deluxe tent is large enough to have extra beds for kids - we rented an additional teepee and did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTGray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shdusek, Owner at Yellowstone Under Canvas, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We're glad you loved our super comfy beds! We do too! I'm not quite sure who you spoke to on site regarding guests sleeping in their cars but we can assure you that is not our policy at all. Our reception tent is open until 11pm at night and a member of staff is on call throughout the night should guests arrive late or need assistance during the night. We do discourage guests arriving late as they potentially will disturb others and also its cold at night so its not super inviting to arrive late. However, we will always accommodate late arrivals. Bath towels and all linens are provided by Yellowstone under Canvas and there is a wonderful on site restaurant just 2 minutes walk away provided by the Bar N Ranch. Numerous other guests here have commented on the restaurant. So whilst not a traditional hotel by any means we do strive to provide many of the services you'd find at a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
6.8 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
6.7 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
6.7 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
6.2 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone Under Canvas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone Under Canvas

Property: Yellowstone Under Canvas
Address: 890 Buttermilk Creek Rd., West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Speciality Lodging in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone Under Canvas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up to the sights, sounds and smells of nature in one of the most spectacular places on earth, relaxing in your luxurious safari tent. Comfortable enough to rival a hotel room yet with the great outdoors all around you. If you ever liked the idea of doing the outdoors thing, but didn’t like the idea of roughing it, now you don’t have to! Visit the world famous Yellowstone National Park and enjoy the great outdoors in a way that’s not possible anywhere else. Just 10 minutes from Yellowstone National Park entrance our luxury camp boasts fantastic uninterrupted views, a quiet secluded location, an onsite restaurant, a host of on-site activities, and of course, Yellowstone right on your doorstep. This isn’t camping as we know it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yellowstone Under Canvas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone Under Canvas West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing