We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quake Lake Visitor Center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earthquake Lake

Earthquake Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of the largest earthquake in Montana's history.
Ogden, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quake Lake Visitor Center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I am a survivor of the 7.5
1959 Yellowstone earthquake. We were the Painter family of five. We were camped in the Rock Creek Campground which was partially buried, when a three quarter of mile wide section of the mountain broke loose from the earthquake. This sent rocks, boulders, dirt and trees down at 100 miles an hour into the camp ground and nearby Madison river. It was sheer terror that night. My mother died from her injuries in a hospital where she was later taken. I often wonder my life was spared while nineteen vacationers, many entire families, were wiped out in seconds.

Please visit West Yellowstone and the quake visitor center you won't be disappointed. The center had been closed for renovations, and just reopened again on Memorial Day weekend.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Anita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    92
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is worth the drive.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've been to the visitors center a few times now. There's nothing like this anywhere. The lake was created by an earth quake that shook the mountain side which collapsed into the canyon. It killed a lot of people and is something a bit eerie. You'll see dead pine trees standing like monuments in the lake. You'll leave feeling a deep respect for the power of nature. Inside the visitor center you'll be able to read stories from survivors. Can you imagine waking to a mountain falling? Its almost too bizzare to believe. Don't forget to view the historical sites along the road. You can see the Scarp where the vault is visible (the land raised 12 feet along the fault). You can also see the old resort that lays dormant in along the lake shore which was swallowed by the lake during the earth quake. Next to the resort the old highway is visiable which also got swallowed by the lake.
If you're heading west after your Yellowstone trip, you can easily visit these spots on the way home. It adds about an hour detour; but its worth it. Its only 25 minutes from West Yellowstone and will connect back to I-20 towards Rexburb.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Trip from West Yellowstone, as a change from the National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

It's a lovely drive, arriving at the site of a major 7.5 earthquake in 1959, creating Hebgen Lake, as the river was immediately dammed up by a massive rockfall into the canyon. Sadly, a number of people lost their lives. The visitor center at the site of the fall has just recently reopened, after being closed for refurbishment since mid-2012. It sits on an imposing site overlooking the lake & rockfall, with a panoramic window view & shows a movie explaining the whole event outside. It also has informative displays on seismic activity & has its own seisometer. There is a short trail through the debris field up to a memorial boulder showing the names of those who perished and it also continues beyond. It's not all an easy trail to walk on, so you must be careful of your footing some of the time. The staff were VERY friendly & gave suggestions of other areas to visit on our day trip out this way; travelling further on to Virginia City & Nevada City, which were both a bit of an extra drive, but WELL worth it. If you visit the lake, definitely take the time to stop at the Visitors Center.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful area, wonderful Visitor's Center.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

While staying in West Yellowstone, we took a break from Yellowstone for this day trip to Quake Lake. The short drive from West Yellowstone was beautiful, and the visitor's center, recently remodeled, is full of fascinating exhibits and photos. If you are interested in the geology of the region, you will enjoy this location.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear River City, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have been here numerous times, Each time I learn something new from the visitors center. It kind of gives and eerie feeling knowing that so many lost lives, there. I was kind of lost not being able to find the road that took you to the houses that had flooded due to the quake, but maybe that had deteriorated due to time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MamaTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earthquake Lake also viewed

 
West Yellowstone, MT
West Yellowstone, MT
 

Been to Earthquake Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing