We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally amazing!”
Review of Earthquake Lake

Earthquake Lake
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of the largest earthquake in Montana's history.
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Totally amazing!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are from the San Francisco area and have experienced earthquakes. Unbelieveable what THIS earthquake did to change the whole area!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    103
    16
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Well-done visitor center, gripping true story!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A stop at Earthquake Lake (locals just call it Quake Lake) is worth the 15 minute detour when exiting West Yellowstone or Big Sky. The story of the lake's overnight creating is as incredible and heartbreaking as any Hollywood disaster movie. The visitor center is top-notch and road side signage tells the story in bits and pieces at the location where event happened.

The drive from both directions is gorgeous. Canoe the lake if you can! Stay at one of the nearby campgrounds and visit early in the morning to see the eerie scene of dead trees rising through the fog.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gabe10101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Calhoun, NE
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth visiting!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It was a very nice visitor center. I had never heard of the earthquake. It was very humbling to stand there and see what can happen in a matter of minutes. Don't miss the video they show about the earthquake and landslide. I am so glad we stopped there and visited. We made the rest of our group go and see it the next day. AND we also saw a bighorn sheep right down the road from the visitor center.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank swc769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting excursion”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It was cool for kids to see the aftermath and rejuvenation that occurred after a natural disaster. Historic flare, disastrous destruction turned to a preserved spot of beauty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“definitely worth the visit”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A friend recommended this stop or we would not have gone. He was a geologist so was veryknowledgeable about what happened there. The visitor center was great! I thought the personal stories were amazing. I wanted to read every one ...they were spellbinding! Its great that there is a memorial like this to those that lost their lives. Its wellworth the visit to me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank shortie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Earthquake Lake also viewed

 

Been to Earthquake Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing