We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dude/Round Up Motel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

Even if this is your last resort you may want to move on to another facility. Normally we are not a squirmish bunch but all.of us were on edge at this place. My elderly mother almost went to sleep in car. There was an overpowering air fresher smell. Loud noises. Curtains were worn through. I swear in the middle of the night something was hitting my bed hard enough to jerk me out of a dead sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

This "motel" if you can even call it that, is generally g r o s s. We booked two rooms.The Round Up part of the motel is across the street to a pizza place that has a live band playing nightly, sometimes until 2 am. The walls are so thin that if you stay at the room closest to the pizza place you can hear the band playing the harmonica!
The showers were gross and one of the rooms had an odor. TV reception is poor. The worst part is that if too many people (read: more than two) take a shower at the same time, the hot water will run out. Just avoid this place if you can!

Room Tip: Don't book the rooms closest to the street across the pizza place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelaw991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We arrived late at night after spending all day in Yellowstone, desk people were helpful and even gave a discount, but it was still overpriced at $130 a night, but as we were exhausted we stayed for one night!
The first thing noticed on opening the door were the massive stains on the crusty carpet, didn't dare walk on it bare footed. The wifi didn't work and there was no hair dryer, iron or breakfast included, the quality of the TV was atrocious and the bathroom door had been kicked in at some point!
The place generally was unclean, the best thing about it was leaving it in the morning!
They're taking advantage of their location and are not a good advert for Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

When we arrived our eyes were practically closed so we didnt notice the disrepair so much. No time to use the TV. Bathroom water problem got fixed with someone jiggling the knob. WIFI didnt work. AC noisy but not so powerful. Bed comfie which was most important. We were jokingly told that if we heard a knock on the door to check to make sure it wasnt a bear. Good that I was tired or I would have slept very lightly as we had a room on street level with a huge window!

Room Tip: If you are tired, you wont notice the lack of anything. Otherwise look for someplace else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenabun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The reviews so far are unjustified. The motel is fine but a bit over priced.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaharke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was so terrible. One of the worst and so overpriced. They should be ashamed!
TV didn't work, ceiling fan in bathroom falling out of the ceiling.
Unbelievably bad!

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyattasinearp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We booked this hotel off the internet. Should be a law against posting select pictures of the hotel. The rooms we got looked like they were out of the early 70's. The Color TV in our room had to be one of the first portable color TV's ever made. The remote only worked once in awhile and we only got a few fuzzy channels. The carpet was crudy and I wouldn't walk on it without shoes on. Only 1 bath towel (sort of small) frayed and dingy. No hairdryer and no WiFi although was noted on some web sites to offer it. It was dingy and smelled. The curtains barely hung at the window and hadn't been cleaned forever. The carpet looked like someone had dumped a load of dirty water on it. The furniture was old and broken down. I think a fisherman or hunter would even find this place disgusing. Had to walk forever to find the ice machine. The mattress is old and hard..There should be a law against someone being able to rent rooms like this. WHERE IS THE HEALTH DEPARTMENT. If they are promoting Yellowstone National Park they should be ashamed. We had booked for 2 nights and wished we could have gotten out of the bookings, but could not.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angeluvr_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude/Round Up Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude/Round Up Motel

Address: 3 Madison Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £82 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Dude/Round Up Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dude/Round Up Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude/Round Up Hotel West Yellowstone
Dude/Round Up Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing