We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Buffalo Hotel
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what I wanted”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I had a great time at the hotel. I wanted someplace clean and safe to sleep between trips into Yellowstone. It was minutes away from the entrance and any shops or restaurants I wanted to go to were within walking distance. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. I really enjoyed the breakfast. It was great to be able to be able to eat and then head straight to the park.

Although I didn't come with children this time, I liked that that they showed complimentary kids movies at night. That and the pool at the hotel and park across the street gives more options to entertain kids for no additional money (which is a big deal on vacations).

I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    40
    35
    35
    72
See reviews for
80
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday, July 20th. We had two rooms and 5 in our party. The price was very competitive during this VERY busy peak Yellowstone season. I was actually surprised that we were able to secure two rooms with less than a week's notice. Parking was good and the hotel sits across from a park, so it's nice to sit outside and not have to be facing another hotel.

I wasn't sure what to expect before we arrived since this is an older hotel. I was plesantly surprised! The lobby area is decorated in a Western theme and is very welcoming. The front desk clerks were friendly, despite our late arrival (10p). I was also pleased that each room included 2 full HOT breakfasts. As are most older hotels, the rooms were VERY spacious and included a mini-frig, coffee maker & microwave.

The beds were decent, as were the pillows. Not top of the line (really can't expect that) and the mattresses adequate. Enough for a good night's rest. The bathroom suprised me the most! Even with hotel overhauls, the bathrooms usually remain the scary part. Not here! The tiled bathtub surround's grout was clean as was the rest of the bathroom. The best part for me were the fluffy towels! Hotel towels are usually scratchy and thin...but these weren't.

Breakfast was available from 7a-10a and it was GREAT. Fruit cocktail, yogurt, granola, 4 dry cereals, two options for scrambled eggs (with and without ham), bacon, sausage, pancakes, french toast, biscuits & gravy, toast & cinnamon rolls. I think there might have been more, but I can't remember. There was coffee, tea, milk, and two juices available as well.

We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and inviting. They also have a HUGE hot tub...nearly the size of the small pool. It appeared that the deck was in decent shape as well.

I would definitely stay here again and next time, I hope to be there long enough to enjoy the pool and a nice walk around town.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Canada
Level Contributor
381 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We were staying at another motel, but, because there was no breakfast offered at our motel, they recommended eating at the White Buffalo. There was a $9 breakfast buffet that was awesome. It was very extensive - eggs, bacon, sausage, French toast, potatoes, pancakes, cold cereal, toast, coffee, orange/apple/cranberry juices. The staff were very good at making sure it was topped up and hot. Also, the waiting area in the front of the hotel was very nicely done up with a lot of wood work. It was very clean and inviting. A block off of main street.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryn Athyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel fit the bill for our trip to Yellowstone. They provided a hot buffet breakfast. The only issue was the bus-full of people that arrived for breakfast both mornings. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynng291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed one night at the White Buffalo and were pleasantly surprised at the HUGE rooms, the cleanliness of the property, and the great selection at the breakfast buffet. They had everything from cold cereal for the kids to oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, granola, French toast, biscuits & gravy, bacon, sausage, etc. Our kids loved the pool and hot tub and we loved the proximity to the entrance of Yellowstone. The staff was helpful in making recommendations of what to do and where to eat in town. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpettey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bozeman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We arrived at 2:00 pm and was told we could not check into our room until 3:00 because the computer would charge us for an extra day. The receptionist was less than friendly, however when we did check into our room they called to see if everything was ok. We told them per previous comments we expected a refrigerator in our room. We were told "sorry, we have an employee refrigerator you can use". Wi Fi was as slow as dial up & kept booting us off. Rooms are spacious, very few channels on t.v. and breakfast was included. Good location.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ccskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel, paid 538 dollar. The pictures and video on the hotel site was great but.....not what we saw when we arrived there. The room was spacious but old fashioned. A lot of noise from the chinese people which stay there every night with tour-groups. We went 3 times out of our room to ask them to be quiet after 10 pm. We had room 106 and heard the people walking late in the evening.old wooden floors. Reception desk closed at 10.30 P.M. If there are problems you have to call 9 11 said the sign at the desk......also an other number for "small problems". The Wi-Fi isn't working, we heard it from several guests. We complained the last morning about the more then full bins in front of the entrance. The girl behind the desk was undertaken action immediately. While we were standing outside with her, a man came and he said he was the manager. We told him about the bins and also about the noise every night. We travel a lot and you can view my comments on tripadvisor,, most possitive. I am not a person who complains about everything but "the manager" said........."ýou can complain what you want, it's NOT my bussines".......What an insult for your guests mister MANAGER! A few minutes later the real Manager came in, he was phoned by the friendly girl. Apologys from his side but he knew about the problems.The full bins came from the garbage from busses with chinese people he said. Possible but when they are full at 5 pm, as we saw, you must undertake action! The noise every night was known but "i can do nothing on it " he said. YES YOU CAN!. Reception 24 hours open and rules about making noise after a certain time. That day he would arrange a meeting with the staff about these problems, he said. I told him about the offensive words from the manager....he was not the manager but head of service. A shame that such a man must give the guest a good feeling after a stay for a lot of money. We will visit Yellowstone again but not in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruud J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLB1954, Manager at White Buffalo Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We are sorry you were so disappointed in your stay at our hotel. We appreciate your comments.

The new owners are in the process of upgrading the rooms. I am not sure what you mean by "old fashioned" as we have recently remodeled the bathrooms and upgraded our bedding. That said, many people find old fashioned appealing in a town like West Yellowstone.

You visited West Yellowstone during the peak of the summer season. We have many guests staying with us who, like you, are from different countries. I am sorry our Chinese guests were disturbing to you. The tour groups bring a lot of trash with them which they dispose of in trash bins close to where they disembark from their buses. It is not unusual for a tour bus to arrive at 5:00 PM. Our maintenance people are continually emptying these bins as you witnessed while we were speaking at the front door.

We do close our front desk at 11:00 PM. I think you must have misunderstood our sign. It says for medical emergencies call 911. There are three other numbers listed on the sign. Two of them will connect you to our in-resident front desk person and the other will connect you to our general manager. You could have contacted us at any time and I wish you would have instead of waiting to complain until you were checking out.

As I said during our conversation, I believe you misunderstood our head of maintenance's comment about your complaints not being his business. He was trying to direct you to the general manager.

When I spoke to you about the noise, I tried to tell you I can't do anything about the noise if I don't know about it until after you check out. The best I can do now is remind the tour guides to ask their people to be more considerate of our other guests.

Compare our room rates with those of other hotels in West Yellowstone and I'm sure you will find ours are among the lowest. One way we keep our prices down is by avoiding the cost of a night auditor. This allows us to close our front desk after 11:00 PM. It is very rare for a guest to need help after 11:00 PM. For those who do need help, we have our on-call staff whose phone numbers are clearly posted at the front desk.

Again, we are sorry you found your stay here so unpleasant. We wish you would give us another try the next time you visit West Yellowstone so you can enjoy the many upgrades we are implementing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Yellowstone hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Crosswinds Inn
Crosswinds Inn
#19 of 39 in West Yellowstone
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Weston Inn
Best Western Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Lodge
Yellowstone Lodge
#26 of 39 in West Yellowstone
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Buffalo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Buffalo Hotel

Property: White Buffalo Hotel
Address: 236 Dunraven, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Buffalo Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Buffalo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Buffalo Hotel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing