We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice idea, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice idea, but...”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a one bedroom cabin, that was quite new and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful, and fire pit was a nice place to meet other guests. However, there are some drawbacks - the air conditioning unit sounds like a freight train. Fortunately, we did not need it at night, but heavy curtains cover the windows so proper ventilation is a challenge (ceiling fan helped). Also, there is no table in the unit if you wish to have a meal inside.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monroe1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you taking the time to comment on your stay. We are happy that the cabin was comfortable the outdoor fire pits enjoyable. Many apologies for the loud AC unit. They come with more force than the new cabins require so we are going through and turning down their intensity. We look forward to your repeat visit the next time you adventure through Yellowstone National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    149
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
348
226
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristow, VA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a great place to stay! The cabins are spotless (they are relatively new) and are practically right outside the west entrance to the park. The kitchen was well-stocked with everything you could need in terms of dishes, glasses, utensils, etc. The bathroom was huge compared to most hotels. The smores fixins' every night were a wonderful touch and we used the binoculars and walking sticks that were there for "borrowing". We also loved the "Who Pooped in the Park" book and the book about the deaths in Yellowstone that were on the nightstand. Overall, it was a fantastic experience. We will stay there again when we go back to Yellowstone and definitely recommend to others. My only complaint, and I got over it very quickly, was that when I booked the cabin the pictures and description made it sound like it was in a more remote setting. That is not the case at all as they practically sit in the parking lot of the hotel. However, as I said, they are so nice and comfy I got over it. There are a lot of restaurants and stores within walking distance and its a quick drive to enter the park. Great place for families!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatcherc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you taking staying in one of the new Explorer Cabins with your family. We are very happy that you enjoyed “borrowing” the Explorer Amenities, reading the books in the cabin and making S’mores in the outdoor fire-pit. Please stay with us again on your next exploration of Yellowstone National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State Center, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This place is a pretty nice place to stay that is really close to Yellowstone. It's very clean and cozy (fireplace, s'mores kit). My family and I have not had problems with not having hot water at all, so maybe that has been fixed since the other reviewers had problems? If you are going by the pictures that the website shows, it is NOT in the wilderness. It is right in town. Great shopping in the town.

The only thing I wish is that there would have been a chair, kind of hard for a family of four to hang out in the main area with just a couch. I also only say that the sleep quality was poor because the weather is so dry here to what I am used to. I wish they could have found a fan to let me use, but that's alright.

Room Tip: They do have different types of cabins to choose from, so make sure you inquire about those. My fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the clean cabin, fireplaces and the S’mores kit. We will look into adding fans to the bedrooms for additional comfort. Great comment, yes we have three cabin styles to choose from: the 2-bedroom Yellowstone Cabin, 1-bedroom Old Faithful cabin and the studio style Montana Cabin. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

I am glad we decided to stay here. From what I could see, these cabins are the nicest place to stay in West Yellowstone. After a hot day of hikes in the park, it was great to come back to our own cabin, hang out on the porch & order in dinner. Hardly roughing it with two flat screen tv's, fireplace, complementary binoculars, Smore's kits, & breakfast. All cabins have a kitchenette. Definitely worth it to get the upgraded cabins if traveling with a family. As opposed to being a single large room, the upgraded cabins have a separate living room area, master bedroom, and kids bedroom. Great for everyone to have their own space to unwind.

Room Tip: Book an upgraded cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to post about your family’s stay in a new, two-bedroom Yellowstone cabin. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cabin’s features including the kitchenette, flat screen TV’s, private front porch and Explorer Amenities. Agreed, the two-bedroom cabins offer ample space to unwind and relax during your vacation. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone are a wonderful alternative to traditional hotel stays. The two bedroom cabin was wonderful for our family of 5. Great bedrooms, spacious well-appointed bathroom, big flat screen tvs, granite counters, front porch, fireplace...all woll done. The beds were very comfortable and the linens and towels were top-notch. They even gave us a bag of s'mores fixings to use around the outdoor firepits. All in all...a very nice family experience. There were a few drawbacks. 1. Very little hot water. This needs to be fixed, especially for winter visits. 2. The location is not in a wooded area. It is inside the town of West Yellowstone. For many this is a plus. However, if you are looking for a nature cabin, this is not the place for you. I highly recommend these cabins for families or small groups looking for more space and an alternative hotel experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a middle cabin. The outside cabins feel less like a cabin, and more like a roadside stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodnessCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to post about your family’s stay in a new two-bedroom Yellowstone cabin. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cabin’s features including the upscale linen, fireplace and large flat screen TV’s. Excellent point on the hot water heaters, we are in the process of switching them out to ones with greater capacity. We look forward to your family returning and staying at the Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,362 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I was lucky enough to be staying at one of the 50 brand new self-contained cabins ranged in groups, along both sides of Grizzly Avenue.

They had only been open one day, when I came to stay, yet they are all booked out for the month of July.

This is an excellent base for exploring Yellowstone and the surrounding areas.

My cabin was fully accessible (it was the last one available) with ramp, galley kitchen, living room with TV, bathroom and bedroom with another huge flatscreen TV.

The bathroom has bulk toiletries so you won't run out anytime soon.

Loved having the kettle on the stove for making tea.

The bed was super comfortable.

There's seating on the front deck and a communal fire-pit on which to make the ubiquitous s'mores. There was even a 'make your own' kit provided in the cabin.

The location is so central enough that I was able to leave me car and walk into town.

There's a supermarket in town and plenty of restaurants. One thing to note is that you pay tax here when the rest of Montana doesn't charge it.

Highly recommend a stay here for your next Yellowstone adventure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Thank you for being our guest in one of the two ADA accessible cabins. We are very happy that you enjoyed the cabin’s features including the bathroom amenities, S’mores kit and the property’s great location in the heart of West Yellowstone. In addition to the statewide 7% lodging tax, West Yellowstone does charge a 3% resort tax plus $1/room/night for the Tourism Business Improvement District. We sincerely apologize that this was not shared when you made the reservation. Thank you for taking time to post about your visit. We look forward you staying with us the next time you are traveling this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Explorer Cabins. They had all the best amenities, from flat screen TVs and granite countertops to binoculars and ingredients for S'mores that we could make in the fire pit that was lit by the staff each night. We had tons of space for our family of four to spread out and relax. The Cabins are hands-down the best accommodations in West Yellowstone for families. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia O, Director of Sales at Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the spacious cabin, the S’mores and the fun Explorer amenities. We look forward to you staying with us on your return visit to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
760 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone

Property: Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Address: 201 Grizzly Avenue, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of West Yellowstone our new 50-cabin property provides a unique vacation experience by combining cabineering℠, generational travel and dog-friendly travel. Enjoy stylish decor, upscale linen and your own private cabin. The kitchenettes allow for light cooking to enjoy a simple meal. Open year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Cabins At Yellowstone West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing