We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
England
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Depressing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

A difficult stay in a small dark cluttered room stuck in a mid last century time warp. Dark brown sheets on a rock hard bed ,poor lighting,(?dusty)homemade quilts as wall hangings on the "log cabin" look walls.Carpet horrible. Only fairly clean.We understand most hotels in West Yellowstone close October to April so why decades of neglect and no updating.This was poor value .Only use if desperate.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oscar0734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    137
    60
    17
    5
See reviews for
61
188
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

this was really nice, as previous reviews the rooms are very small with no-where to unpack but it was clean and tidy and had nice beds and showers. It felt like christmas the whole time as the room is decorated with moose bedspreads and has holly over the window but it made it a bit querky and quite cute. it has free wifi and a breakfast of coffee, juice, muffins (english and american) which is perfect to start a day in yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Adequate. Small room. Beds and shower not great but room clean. Wifi speeds good. Parking limited.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSalisburyWombles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our trip to Yellowstone. It was so nice to get out of the park and into civilization - which may sound odd, but if you stay in the park, the food and lodging are terrible. West Yellowstone may be a bit of a culture shock, but it's worth staying here. The Moose Creek Inn was a little a few blocks walking from the major shops, etc, but there was plenty of parking and seemed safe enough to walk around. The front desk staff was friendly when we checked in and helpful in identifying places for us to eat - we went with Barefoot BBQ the first night - good choice. Our room was cozy, yes - another word for small - but honestly cozy, with nice log cabin-ish decorations. The bed was comfortable and the shower/bathroom was clean. We also had a flat screen tv with satellite stations. We would definitely stay here again - but go to Woodside Bakery in the morning for breakfast - yummy sandwiches and orange rolls.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

After being told on arrival that we had only booked two nights not three when 3 were actually booked they said that they had 2 rooms we could have that first night. Fortunately before we went ahead we asked to see the rooms. Many previous reviews say good things but sorry this place was not for me or my friends, the room was small, cramped, no table to sit at, shower tiny and the decor including a bare painted wall was to say the least rustic not in a nice way.
We went across the road to the Days Inn which was more expensive but worth every cent

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vimercate, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent two nights at this motel early September. It is clean, it has friendly staff, it is very well positioned for visiting Yellowstone Park. But room (at least the double full size on second floor we were in) is very, very small for the price it costs. Never in my life I've been in a hotel where you have to get off the bed, go to the entry door to switch the light off.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venanzio51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescenta, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Cute decor, but incredibly thin walls. We heard one neighbor's cough, another's sneeze, and even the microwave going in one room. Hard to sleep - glad we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#18 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Property: Moose Creek Inn
Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone
Moose Creek Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing