We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

This place was a gem, clearly built awhile ago but remodeled inside and out. We stayed in the back building, interiors of the rooms are great, contemporary furnishings, very clean. I would definitely stay here again. Front desk friendly and helpful. Breakfast was not a full continental but adequate to start the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajcranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Hotels in West Yellowstone are very expensive during tourist season but even given that fact the Moose Creek inn is a very poor value. For $138 the room was very small with one chair and one bed for two people so I went to the lobby and carried up a second chair. The complimentary breakfast was a sad affair that we skipped. If you can get a reservation, you will be much happier at the Lazy G motel for about $35 less. We stayed there before but could not get a reservation for the second night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gandjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thank you for staying with us. As you mentioned, there were two people and you booked a room with one queen bed which is a normal bed size for two persons.
We do offer rooms with two beds or rooms with one king size bed. Your reservation indicated you chose a room with a queen bed. About one half of our rooms have two chairs and the other half have one chair. Our lobby has room for sitting, for reading, watching weather, drinking coffee, etc. We also have outdoor tables for sitting or eating. Our prices reflect the area as a tourist destination and we watch prices daily to try and remain among the lowest. We do not offer any breakfast but as something to start off the morning, we do offer coffee and muffins.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Inevitably a base for the Yellowstone NP tour, neat and tidy room, spotless in maintenance, some nice touches. Good location central to places to eat, parking a bit tight but well marked out. Would definitely stay again, only rating it 3 star mainly because I am no longer going to rate hotels that provide breakfast on plastic when I am paying over US$150/night, even if it is Labor Day w/e, at more than 3 star.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank UKDiver2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for writing a review, we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. We were happy to hear that you found your room neat and tidy. For other travelers reading this review, while we do not advertise a breakfast, we do offer a coffee bar in the mornings and muffins to take with you. Thanks again for staying with us and we do hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I guess I had high hopes after staying at a few other nice cabins on our trip to Yellowstone. I should've known when they told me that i had to put down 25% non-refundable. Our room looked nice, but the window was barely in the window you could see daylight around it. The linens on the pillows were very faded and the bed was not comfortable. The worse thing about it was the bathroom. I am 5'3" and a small woman and I could barely fit in there. My 6'4" husband had to stand outside the shower and stick his head under the shower head. And the whole bathroom was small. The floor could've used a few more sweeping. I would NOT recommend this place at all. Save you money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoJNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you liked the look of the room in saying "the room looked nice." Our property in an older property and similar to a B & B type property. Our rooms are small and cozy and the showers are small, as such we price our rooms about one half the price of chain hotels for our area. We as the owners are on site everyday and try to assure that the rooms are clean and maintained. When traveling, beds are never as comfortable as at home, most guests like our beds as they all have memory toppers as an added comfort. We hope you enjoyed Yellowstone National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We thought Moose Creek Inn was Excellent, loved the decor and the room was very clean and cozy. We had a little table and chairs by our room and it was very peaceful . We could walk all around town right out of our room. We would definitely stay there again, Loved it....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The room was very nicely decorated and had all amenities you can possibly need. Breakfast is basic but the grizzly brand coffee was absolutely superb. Hotel is near to all local shops/restaurants. Well done!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quattromonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Having previously stayed at five star resorts our expectations were not too high when booking at the small town of West Yellowstone. Much to our delight we picked a Wonderful Inn, Moose Creek Inn! Not only was our room CLEAN but cozy. Decorated tastfully in mountain decor. Great beds! Room linens were changed daily! The Inn is family owned and run. Warm and friendly atmosphere is evident! We loved our stay and are going to book our family reunion there in the spring! We can highly recommend this Inn as OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: We stayed in the original wing that has just been completely remodeled! Quiet street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
805 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £171 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone
Moose Creek Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing