We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget accommodation”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The room was clean, comfortable bed, good heating, but the bathroom was tiny! I was traveling by myself, for a ski race there, so this "detail" didn't bother me too much. However, if you are staying there with family, it could be a big problem (I don't know if all rooms have those small bathrooms/showers). The location is good; only few block away from some restaurants and the Holiday Inn hotel (which has a nice restaurant, that stays opened until later). Easy access to major attractions and highways. The breakfast is super simple, but there is a grocery store few block away (2?), where you can get extra fruits, cereal, etc. The staff is ok, helpful and friendly.
Good option if you are looking for an economical place to stay, while enjoying your summer/winter vacations.

Room Tip: Try to check if they have rooms with bigger bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

Fantastic stay at Moose Creek Inn! Within three blocks you have plenty of restaurants, gas station, market, shops, Ace Hardware, museum, wildlife center, IMAX theater, and entry to West Gate of Yellowstone (We used all of these in our three day visit.) Very Clean Woodsy themed room with modern amenities = ice machine, snacks, decent continental breakfast in lobby, fridge, microwave, cable, wi-fi in room. The most comfortable beds of our 2 week trip - slept like Babies! Sweet, welcoming staff - we relied on them for Yellowstone Park advice and they were quite helpful. Didn't flinch when we informed them we had lost one of the room keys. Reasonable price for the area and the season. Will recommend wholeheartedly!

Room Tip: Go to Ernie's Deli and pick up a sack lunch to take to the park with you. BLT was our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank findingtimet2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The Moose Creek Inn was not our first choice when we booked into West Yellowstone. We actually were a bit apprehensive about what to expect in a town of 1,300, but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived.

This is an older two story motel that has been updated, an ongoing process for the couple that owns the facility. The rooms are quite small but clean, comfortable with a local decor, almost cutesy. The owners and their daughter were on the premises everyday and were able to provide us with local information. The location couldn't have been better for our jaunts into Yellowstone Park, just a few blocks to the west entrance.

We did enjoy sitting outside the room at a small table and having coffee in the mornings, planning our days, and then off to the park.

Even though this wasn't our originally our first choice, it is now.

Room Tip: We stayed in the two story building in a room next to the office's back door. It gave us quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Rustic at best. I realize we were just outside Yellowstone National Park but what's wrong with a bright modern design? After reading reviews on here I thought this hotel was our best bet. Wrong!
The room was very basic and the comforter looked like it was 10 years old. The bathroom was HUGE, it could have easily accommodated another bed. The walls were very thin and you can hear the people in the next room talking.

If I was paying $40/night this is what I would expect in a room. I paid $113/night and was not impressed. Next time I'll pay more and stay at one of the larger chain hotels. Live and learn.

Also, be prepared to spend a fortune for any type of food in this little town. There's nothing else around and they know it!

Room Tip: The front row of hotel rooms, near the lobby, appeared to be in a brighter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSRoadrunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. You stayed for one night in a room in our new building that was finished last year. This building has above code, commercial hotel soundproofing installed to assure that our guests have a pleasant experience. As far as your suggestion for a bright, modern design, our goal is to keep our rooms decorated appropriately for the area with a rustic lodge style décor. The comforter was very new and was designed to fit the area of Yellowstone Park. As far as the rate, we do keep our rates less than half that of the chain hotels in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the Moose Creek Inn on our honeymoon so that we could venture into Yellowstone at our leisure. The place was cozy, warm and looked as if it were recently decorated. The staff of the Moose Creek Inn were friendly and always willing to help with anything you asked about. I would highly recommend that anyone travelling to Yellowstone who wants a great place at an affordable price to stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We enjoyed having you as guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in the Moose Suite. Clean, comfortable, cozy and cute. Wish I could live there! We had coffee, tea and goodies in the morning. We never heard any other guests. There was a kitchenette for our use and everything was clean and ready for use. (Probably cleaner than my own kitchen). The bathroom had the nicest smelling soap and shampoo. We were very happy with it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christinerae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable. We hope to see you next time you visit Yellowstone!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

I stayed at the Moose Creek Inn 4 nights in May. The room is decorated like a cozy moutain cabin. Infact my entire stay felt like a mountain retreat. They have cofee and breakfast goodies in the moring but I did not have any as I was in Yellowstone at the break of dawn. Dan and Brenna Maurer are gracious hospitable onwer/hosts and I found them to be delightful people concerned about the quality of my stay. The Inn is located two blocks from downtown restaurants and shopping, easy walking if you like. The bathroom is a little small for a big guy like me but adds to the charm of the mountain cabin feel. I would stay there again in a heart beat. Having explored all of West Yellowstone, I feel Moose Creek Inn was the best value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DougGA057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £148 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone
Moose Creek Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing