We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price! Great stay!!!”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 days, and 3 nights while exploring Yellowstone. I absolutely loved the price and I absolutely loved the room! You CANNOT beat the location if you are wanting to explore Yellowstone! The rooms are the perfect size for someone wanting to explore the park but not wanting to "live" in their room. They are very comfortable and are perfectly set up and decorated to enhance your wilderness vacation. Also, the staff is very knowledgable and will do everything they can to answer all your questions about the park! I will definitely be staying here next time I visit Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unkleshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Moose Creek Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

We needed space for a multi-generational family that included an infant. The family cabin, with three levels was perfect. The kitchen and living room had television, a half bath, dishwasher, full kitchen and washer/dryer. the lower bedroom has a sitting room, television, its own bathroom, a big bed, and a double bed sized bunk bed. Upstairs, bath, beds, television, perfect for the younger ones. There is only one unit like this; the rest is standard motel, typical of West Yellowstone. Plenty of parking, walk to stores, in the center of town, no scenery, pool, or outdoor lounging. It totally met our needs for the two families to settle in comfortably while spending all day every day in Yellowstone, a few blocks to the entrance. The man at the desk was very helpful and friendly and the cabin had plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, hair dryers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days while we went in and out of Yellowstone Park. This is a nice hotel. It was very clean and cutely decorated with "cabin" type decorations. The only drawback is the small bathroom that has a shower stall that is about 4 ft.x 4 ft. wide! The staff was very friendly and we had no trouble sleeping as it was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Targhee0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We did not book this room in advance and were a little concerned if we would find a room in West in August without a reservation. We lucked into this small hotel based on a quick look of other reviewers. What a nice surprise. The lobby is cute and well appointed. They have carried over the moose theme in a cozy and chic way, not tacky. The room was also well decorated, more like a guest room than a hotel. Clean and comfortable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4familyandfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at the Moose Creek Inn in late August based on their great reviews here. Their proximity to Yellowstone N.P. can't be beat. The room was VERY clean, as other's have noted. Big plus! The room was very small, as others had noted. I can deal with small, but.... there is no storage at all in the room we had! No drawers... ANYWHERE! There are some hangers and a small shelf above the hangers. There is a place to put one suitcase. Anything else you want out will have to be put on the one small table top that the TV sits on. There is a TINY shelf in the bathroom, but that's it! My wife and I literally lived out of our suitcases and 'bathroom bag' for our entire stay. You'd think that in a small room, they'd be considerate enough to give you some place to put things away. BTW, they don't even give you a pen and paper, and there isn't a phone or phone book in the room. Frustrating.

I *HAVE* to mention the shower.... it's BY FAR the smallest shower I've ever seen! I'm a normal size guy... 5'11", 185 lbs, and I couldn't put both of my elbows out (horizontally) at the same time in that teeny tiny shower! See my attached photo. It was a joke, and incredibly hard to properly bathe in.

One nice plus is that they have DirecTv in the rooms with a great channel selection, and their WiFi speed rocks.

We honestly couldn't wait to leave Moose Creek Inn at the end of our trip. It was the most dysfunctional hotel room we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

There was no need for us to spend big $$$ since we only needed the room to sleep on our three night stay in West Yellowstone. No greeting at check-in other than taking our money and warning us about having more people in the room as provided and the penalty for cooking in the room. The room was small but OK for two people and the cost was $140 a night. There was no phone but it did have Wi-Fi. There was no breakfast or pool. We ate breakfast and dinner at the Old Town Cafe every morning and night. For the location and our needs, this was an acceptable choice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GenoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is not a four star hotel in the sense of being fancy, but the as to recommendation. Not a bad place. Our room near the cabins was very very small, but it was a nice enough room with a Lewis and Clark motif. There was no phone in the room. The price was lower than other places around. We did not hear anything from the adjoining room. There is a stand alone AC which hummed loudly but it was white noise and did not effect us at all. I would recommend this place. If you are looking for lots of amenities it probably will disappoint, but if you want a place to stay at a decent price, you'll be happy enough. HInt: the TV is on an adjustable stand so you can move it so you don't hit your head on it. Also, if you plan on staying more than 3 or 4 days and you are not along, the room size will probably be more annoying. It is within easy walking distance of the shops and restaurants. I have seen reviews that the parking is difficult, but we always had a space right in front of the room.

Room Tip: We had a queen bed, but a king bed might make everything seem less small.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
790 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £87 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone
Moose Creek Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing