We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

As noted in previous reviews, the rooms are small as is the bathroom and shower. It was clean with plenty of hot water and WiFI too! But I was dismayed that they needed a deposit upfront well in advance and wanted payment in full prior to our seeing the room. Perhaps this is normal in this area. I would imagine that a family operation has a difficult time competing with chain operations. We had a family emergency and had to leave a day early. The manager told my husband that he would give us a refund if he was able to rent the room. Just thought you might want to know.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HoustonHappyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked for three nights as a result of T/A reviews. The room was on the small side, but nicely decorated in the moose theme. Everything was very clean and looked new. The bathroom was very clean with lots of towels and the bed was very comfortable. Located off the main street so very quiet. The desk clerk, Dimitar, was very informative about what was in town and where it was located. This was a great experience and a nice change from the sameness of the chain hotels.

Room Tip: We were on the back side and on the first floor - very convenient with car outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troubles4203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location for exploring Yellowstone. The room was small but adequate with an excellent bed. Everything was clean and well kept. We had a shower which was small and no tub but there was plenty of hot water and clean towels.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank kathyo255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a cute little inn that has been remodeled and has friendly staff at the front desk. We stayed in a typical 2 Queen room. It was very clean. Towels are new and clean. The coffee and tea in the back lobby was a plus! I would have given it 5 stars, but I think West Yellowstone accommodations are over priced for what you get, but Moose Creek was in line with everyone else in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank wildcat90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 days, and 3 nights while exploring Yellowstone. I absolutely loved the price and I absolutely loved the room! You CANNOT beat the location if you are wanting to explore Yellowstone! The rooms are the perfect size for someone wanting to explore the park but not wanting to "live" in their room. They are very comfortable and are perfectly set up and decorated to enhance your wilderness vacation. Also, the staff is very knowledgable and will do everything they can to answer all your questions about the park! I will definitely be staying here next time I visit Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank unkleshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We needed space for a multi-generational family that included an infant. The family cabin, with three levels was perfect. The kitchen and living room had television, a half bath, dishwasher, full kitchen and washer/dryer. the lower bedroom has a sitting room, television, its own bathroom, a big bed, and a double bed sized bunk bed. Upstairs, bath, beds, television, perfect for the younger ones. There is only one unit like this; the rest is standard motel, typical of West Yellowstone. Plenty of parking, walk to stores, in the center of town, no scenery, pool, or outdoor lounging. It totally met our needs for the two families to settle in comfortably while spending all day every day in Yellowstone, a few blocks to the entrance. The man at the desk was very helpful and friendly and the cabin had plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, hair dryers.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days while we went in and out of Yellowstone Park. This is a nice hotel. It was very clean and cutely decorated with "cabin" type decorations. The only drawback is the small bathroom that has a shower stall that is about 4 ft.x 4 ft. wide! The staff was very friendly and we had no trouble sleeping as it was quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Targhee0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Historic Madison Hotel
The Historic Madison Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £148 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone
Moose Creek Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing