We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great attitue, great location”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great attitue, great location”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

only good things, its clean, spacious, coffee and tea ongoing, and delightful staff. location is great , rather visit earlier September than end of September as we ran into cold and rain. no hair conditioner

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leorab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    148
    63
    19
    6
See reviews for
68
199
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This cabin was so much more than we expected! It's decorated beautifully, and had more than indicated from its website (for example, there's a washer and dryer off the kitchen). Plus, there were tons of dishes (not just the 8 that the maximum occupancy would indicate), so we could hold off on washing them until the dishwasher was full.

It was wonderful to view Yellowstone by day and then come back to a place that felt so welcoming...We had 6 people in the cabin (8 is the limit)—2 from MA, 3 from CO, and 1 from NY —and had such a great time sitting around the kitchen table (which could seat 8) playing games and just visiting. I'd come here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Don't expect anything outside the cabin—it's a parking lot. But the cabin itself is wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and sharing your experience with others. We are glad you had a great time in Yellowstone! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Staff was friendly and room had a highly interesting rustic look. Compared to other hotels this one had good value. Large selection of free coffee types throughout the day. Street address is confusing, but when coming from Yellowstone it is on the left side of the main street.

Room Tip: A location in the back is more quiet, then one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFHHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for pointing out that we do offer a good value compared to the other lodging choices in our area. In fact, price is usually the main reason people choose our property. We hope you enjoyed Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had to pay in full before we saw our room, and the people on the front desk did not seem at all professional, knowledgable or interested apart from getting payment. Room was very small, with no shelves or cupboards, and we lived out of our suitcases for the two days we were here. Bathroom was tiny, but there was sufficient hot water, which was something. WiFi was painfully slow, although it was free. Beds were comfortable enough, and we were warm.

Pretty basic, but all the accommodation in West Yellowstone appeared to be equally down market. This surprised me taking into account the numbers of visitors to the area.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda_from_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brennamaurer, Owner at Moose Creek Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for staying at Moose Creek Inn. As a family owned property, we strive daily to make our guests feel welcome and ensure our rooms are very clean and comfortable. The pricing structure is approximately one half that of a chain hotel and as such we do not offer all of the amenities a larger chain hotel may offer. The front desk staff will answers questions to the best of their knowledge and have been trained to always assist guests with luggage or any other request a guest may have. We hope you had a safe trip home and that you enjoyed Yellowstone National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

As noted in previous reviews, the rooms are small as is the bathroom and shower. It was clean with plenty of hot water and WiFI too! But I was dismayed that they needed a deposit upfront well in advance and wanted payment in full prior to our seeing the room. Perhaps this is normal in this area. I would imagine that a family operation has a difficult time competing with chain operations. We had a family emergency and had to leave a day early. The manager told my husband that he would give us a refund if he was able to rent the room. Just thought you might want to know.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HoustonHappyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We booked for three nights as a result of T/A reviews. The room was on the small side, but nicely decorated in the moose theme. Everything was very clean and looked new. The bathroom was very clean with lots of towels and the bed was very comfortable. Located off the main street so very quiet. The desk clerk, Dimitar, was very informative about what was in town and where it was located. This was a great experience and a nice change from the sameness of the chain hotels.

Room Tip: We were on the back side and on the first floor - very convenient with car outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Troubles4203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great location for exploring Yellowstone. The room was small but adequate with an excellent bed. Everything was clean and well kept. We had a shower which was small and no tub but there was plenty of hot water and clean towels.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kathyo255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Property: Moose Creek Inn
Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone
Moose Creek Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing