We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and lean, slept well”
Review of Moose Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moose Creek Inn
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night in a ground floor room. It was clean and comfortable, equipped with standard stuff. Service was friendly, got good honest tips about where to eat and what to expect. The room door and window opened to the inner yard parking, but it did not bother us as the traffic was minimal. Beds and linen were nice and comfy, no problems there. The only downside was the price, we paid over double compared to our previous similar quality inn in Bozeman, but that's how it is in a tourist location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eetu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The positive: Clean, nice rustic but spare furniture, comfortable king bed.
Room: I recommend room 201 (where we stayed) since the door is at the end of the balcony and nobody walks by, therefore more private. This allowed us to open the door when we needed fresh air as well as the curtains to allow light in.
What can make it difficult for several nights:
Very small space. Since our longest stay (3 nights) was in this hotel, I was looking forward to unpack and get organized, after living out of my suitcase. Well, I was disappointed. There were 4 hangers on the only metal structure designed for clothes. Fortunately the gentleman at the desk was very helpful and brought up about 8 more hangers.
Simple changes can be easily implemented to make guest more comfortable.
Bath area.
It would not take much to add a couple of hooks to hang clothes while in the tiny bathroom. (At this moment there are none.)
How I would have loved to have another light besides the bright one over the sink since when it is on, the loud ventilation comes on automatically. After a while, I find it tiring.
A light in the table area by the mirror would be so helpful and lowering the mirror that seems to be appropriate for very tall people only.

Room Tip: I recommend room 201 (where we stayed) since the door is at the end of the balcony and nobody walks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Good value, I stayed in the lodge. The decorations even the shower curtain were moose themed. Great service. Free coffee/tea bar in the morning. Staff helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stjudemomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Small but well appointed rooms. Really good basic hotel for your Yellowstone visit. Bed, shower, coffee maker, hair dryer, fridge, free internet and microwave. What else could you expect for the money. Friendly staff, clean rooms, it was fun staying there. When everyone else is charging Disney World prices for low quality food and lodging this place really stands out. I will definitely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank popbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We spent three nights at Moose Lodge Cabins in mid September. They are simple old style Cabins but comfortable .It was very hard to find parking as they have more cabins and few parking spots. It is with in walking distance to the shopping area of West Yellow Stone and only 1/4 mile to the west gate entrance to the park. Very convent for everything. The price is reasonable for the area. The was very clean and neat, Our cabin was cleaned each morning,clean sheets . Had to love it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Goldminer2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in mid-September. The room was typical of an old style motel, however, it was quaint, cute, clean, and the staff helpful and informative. They offer a continental breakfast that was more than I expected and enough to hold us until lunchtime on our tour. Although the parking lot is a bit small, it has two shaded areas where you will find picnic tables to use if you so desire.

Room Tip: The parking lot is a bit tight. Ask about alternate parking arrangements if you have a large vehicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maturetraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I have stayed here before but this trip but this time I stayed in a new room called the "moose suite" a very nice addition to this property. The suite was either new or newly remolded. There was a very nice kitchen / eating area, a comfortable living room and a large bedroom. The bedroom had a desk area for your lap top. There were 2 flat screen tvs with direct tv. The suite was very quiet with no noise from adjacent rooms. While I was there the park was close because of the gov shut down The owners had several good suggestions of other attractions in the area which helped make the trip enjoyable even though Yellowstone was closed the last part of my stay. This is a place my wife and I really enjoy staying.

Room Tip: Try to get the Moose Suite or one of the cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DennisNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.4 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,001 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Creek Inn

Address: 119 Electric Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly American West)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £173 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moose Creek Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Creek Inn is family owned and operated, located just 3 blocks from the west entrance to Yellowstone National Park, in the town of West Yellowstone, Montana. The west entrance is the most favorable entrance to visiting many of Yellowstone Park's most scenic features such as Old Faithful, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, Yellowstone Lake, and Norris Geyser Basin. Moose Creek Inn is within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and more. Book one of our clean and cozy rooms for your Yellowstone vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Moose Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moose Creek Inn Hotel West Yellowstone
American West Yellowstone
Moose Creek Inn West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing