We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice”
Review of Pine Shadows Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Shadows Motel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

we stayed there 3nights, planned 4,but due to the shut down, we checked out earlier. The owner refunded the fourth night fees, which we really appreciate. Besides,we stayed at condo 106, the bed setting is exactly what we wanted, and the kingsize bed is super. we had a great time here, the sitting room is really large with a well-euipped kitchen. We recommend this place for shot stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hiwewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Pine Shadows Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

No penalty for canceling room when National parks closed. Their contract said no refunds, but they didn’t charge us for the room. That was very nice of the property owners to do for us. If they treated us like this, their guests must be treated real nice. Will stay here next time we come to Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed for several days the second week of September. This is a no frills place off the beaten path - but comfortable with a clean room & decent beds. We appreciated the guest laundry (and was surprised at how cheap the washers & dryers were...hurray!) Super quiet as we never could hear guests in other rooms - but know they were there as we met them in the hall. I would highly recommend this motel as we had an excellent stay!

Room Tip: The motel rooms are super quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Based on trip advisor reviews we booked and spent a couple nights here Labor Day week. Rooms were very clean and nice- highly recommended particularly after driving around town. Quiet area not really walking distance to town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmiller559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My sister-in-law choose and booked this place for our trip to Yellowstone, so I didn't know much about the place before arriving. I was pleasantly surprised! Our family rented a two-room condo for the week. It was clean, quite, well furnished and looked brand new. The two owner/operators were beyond friendly and accommodating. The location to Yellowstone entrance is great. You are away from the downtown traffic, yet it's a short walk when you want to go. The only issue we had was with the internet, but that's a "West Yellowstone" problem and not a hotel problem.
I might add that I own a company which consults with, trains and provides secret shopping services for hotels all over the country, so I tend to be a bit picky with my hotels. This one was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephenLambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Motel has been completely remodeled since we last stayed here years ago. Chad and Mallory are the friendly couple who own and manage the motel. They are very helpful at all times. The only downsides were the phones in the room have been out since Mid-June and still not functional when we arrived on July 10th. The other is the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors every move. The motel does have a quite time from 10 pm to 7 am so it is usually not a issue if everyone cooperates. The room was very clean and had daily maid service. It's a great location close to good dining and 5 minutes from Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ppijacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the fishing was pretty good. We got the in phone system back up yesterday. Thought about following suit with many of the motels here in town and just doing away with it, but not everyone traveling has a cell phone, so figured better not. It has become something people are accustomed to, even here in West Yellowstone. Sorry if that was at all an inconvenience to you. Hope to see you folks again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We've been on a 13 day roadtrip, which means staying at many different motels and trying to keep within a budget. After calling some local motels in the area, I found this one for a great price. It's a few blocks from the main street/strip in town with all the shops and restaurants. It looked decent enough from the outside, even though the sign made it look a little "dated". We stayed in one of the motel rooms. As soon as I stepped inside, it had a new feeling and smell to it. Room looked like it was recently remodeled. Very clean and comfortable.

Check in was also very fast and the couple in the office (not sure if they are owners) were very nice and helpful. Took time to show me local map and point out some good areas to see in Yellowstone. I would highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jp_alvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad R, Owner at Pine Shadows Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you very much for the kind words. I am glad that we could accommodate you with your lodging needs while you travel. I am very glad that you found everything to be satisfactory. Mallory and I strive to make sure that we provide the best possible service to each and every guest. We have the motto that everyone comes as strangers and leaves as family. Our sign is definitely dated. We will be getting a new one this year. Our goal was to update lodging and then move on from there. Thanks again for all the kind words and we hope that your travels are safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.0 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#21 of 39 in West Yellowstone
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
596 reviews
0.7 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Shadows Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Shadows Motel

Address: 229 North Hayden Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#5 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family owned motel and condos in West Yellowstone. We have many different and affordable options for lodging for single occupancy to families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Shadows Hotel West Yellowstone
Pine Shadows Motel West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing