We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for a few nights, could use a few more amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
West Yellowstone B & B
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 September 2007

We stayed two nights at the West Yellowstone B&B in August 2007. The innkeepers were very nice and proud of the inn as they had handcrafted much of it themselves. Breakfast offerings were standard but very good, best strawberry pancakes I have ever had. The drive was reasonable to Yellowstone, only 5 minutes and you are at the West Entrance.

The rooms:
We stayed in a second floor room, queen bed and a futon. Since I was traveling with my mom we needed both beds, which is hard to find in your typical B&B. The bed beautifully crafted and my mom tells me it was comfortable. I can't say the same about the futon - then again, it's a futon! I can’t say I expected much more. The room was very large and would fit a family with a few kids very comfortably (although no bathtub if you have little kids). No complaints about the creakiness of the beds but we did have limited towel bar space which was fine for two people. There was also a small fridge (which the owner was nice enough to stock with ice packs for my mom's ailing knee) and a microwave.

As mentioned below, no television or phone in the rooms but they were available in a common room. Although they were available, this B&B is really set up more like a hotel so it would have been nicer to have these available in the rooms, especially since we arrived back from wildlife watching and dinner in town very late both nights. Another missing amenity was internet access - which sadly I needed at the last minute for pressing work deadlines. Unfortunately, West Yellowstone is still enough “in the sticks" that the owners can't get DSL yet, however, it's on their radar. If you need internet access, it’s available free at the library or the visitor’s center in West Yellowstone.

The only drawback to the room for me (besides lack of technology which may be a plus to you), was the sparseness of the decor. Some areas were actually bare, a void which made it feel less cozy than it appeared in photos. A few more lodge style homey touches would have made all the difference.

All of the above said, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again should we be visiting West Yellowstone. The price is comparable to in-town hotels and the B&B certainly has a more home like feel than a Best Western.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank laurasue13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for West Yellowstone B & B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2007

Previous review was spot on; we stayed in the room with the King Bed. No TV in the room; room coffee was from coffee singles; bathroom door would not shut fully. Very wooden and felt "cold", (not the temprature of the room). Owners were very kind. We did not feel comfortable joining the family in the "common" room for any TV so we did without. Breakfast was a typical breakfast; nothing special.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NKyKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

This is a nice enough property about 4 miles from West Yellowstone proper. The location makes for a very quiet stay. The property itself is a relatively new house so don't expect any victorian curb appeal, but that's not why you're staying here anyway.

The owners are very friendly and provide a good made to order breakfast. They also provide ample advice about the area. They are somewhat new to the B&B business (couple years), but were very professional and easy to deal with throughout our stay.

The room itself was very new, but is lacking a few basic items like a dresser for clothes or even a rack for a suitcase. There were also no towel rods on which to dry a used towel. Given no daily maid service like a hotel, this was a problem. There was also no individual phone or TV. These are available in the common area.

The bed we had looked great having been made from pine logs to match the western theme, but creaked noisily with every movement. I woke up repeatedly. I'd easily sacrifice the looks for a silent bed.

All in all, this is a pretty good lodging choice, but could be improved greatly with just a few minor touches.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thaumaturge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2006

This B&B is just a few minutes from the park, but far away from the crowds and noise of others. We stayed at the Old Faithful Lodge for part of the trip and didn't sleep a wink due to the noise.
This B&B gave us a very spacious, very quite room so we could get some much needed rest! If you like real hand crafted wood, you will love this place. It is amazing what the owner has made with his own hands, from the house itself to the tables and beds!
The breakfast was ample and yummy. We stayed with our 2 children and all had plenty to eat.
If you want some peace and quite and a good breakfast, I highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2005

We just stayed at the North Yellowstone B&B. The proprietors are very friendly and make a very nice breakfast. The home is new, only about 1 or 2 years old, and the home was tastefully decorated. Our room was quite large, with a King bed and futon for our daughter. Located a few miles out of town, I recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vanessa117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reisende_Bern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
5.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
720 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
791 reviews
4.5 mi away
Yellowstone Inn
Yellowstone Inn
#23 of 39 in West Yellowstone
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
598 reviews
4.9 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#13 of 39 in West Yellowstone
362 reviews
4.8 mi away
Days Inn West Yellowstone
Days Inn West Yellowstone
#20 of 39 in West Yellowstone
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Yellowstone B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Yellowstone B & B

Address: 20 Crane Ln, P.O. Box 1594, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-8739
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £107 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Yellowstone Bed and Breakfast is located just 4.5 miles west of the West Entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Open year round, we cater to guests from all over the world. Join us for a unique experience in the heart of Big Sky Country for a good nights rest and great homemade breakfast of your choosing from a menu. Rooms decorated with lodge pole pine furniture made by owner and flyfishing guide, Scott. Make our B&B your 'home away from home'! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your West Yellowstone B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Yellowstone Bed And Breakfast
West Yellowstone Hotel West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone B & B Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing