We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Quality Food - overpriced”

Trapper's Family Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Poor Quality Food - overpriced”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We ate here out of desperation since we were starving and needed breakfast quick. The coffee was terrible! The oatmeal tasted like it was made from instant. They had no real sugar, no real honey and no real butter. Everything was laden with lots of preservatives and poor quality. Plus it was super expensive for the quality of food and service! Don't go here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    23
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Overpriced, bad food”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was a BAD choice of places to eat dinner. The menu looked extensive but in reality was just the usual selection W Yellowstone fare. Too heavy for me. I opted for fish and chips, others had buffalo burger and BBQ burger. No one enjoyed their meal. Fatty low quality burger, sickly sweet BBQ sauce. Three small pieces of fish individually fried in oily batter (usually get one large piece of cod, not three off cuts). The fries were all covered in skin: no inner potato her (I like skins on as much as the next person but it gets a bit tiring when a lot of the skins also have potato blemishes). Worse, the fries managedt to be hard and ubdercooked but greasy at the same time. Yuk! We went through the motions of eating for fuel and vowed not to return!

There was a charge of $3 for an extra plate, so my 2 year old ate off my plate. I've never been anywhere that charged for a slice of lemon in a drink but this place reckoned it was worth 50 cents. No beaker for the kids though. Not very infant friendly.

Some of the more expensive meals came with salad bar and loads of trimmings. Others you had to pay extra for the same trimmings.

The staff were hit and miss: 'greeted' by a surly girl who clearly had no enthusiasm for her job and an attitude too: Asked for seating for three adults and space for a high chair and responded with 'so *four* then', sour emphasis on four. Not a pleasant start to our poor experience.

On the plus side. There was a chair for my son, brought out with a smile and the server was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“No accomodation”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Our group of 7 attempted to have breakfast here. We were not staying at the hotel but walked off the street into a "family restaurant." Part of our group arrived ahead of time and explained we were a party of 7. They were told that the complete party had to be there before they sat us. When we all arrived, the hostess informed us that she could split us up at two booths but would not seat us at two tables put together. When asked why two tables could not be put together she rudely told us she had 130 hotel guests to accomodate - even though the dining room was almost empty. We left. When the general manager was contacted she apologized and wished us better luck elsewhere. Our group was very disappointed. We were in town for a week and all other establishments were very accomodating. This was our only negative experience on our vacation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Free vouchers for two out of four of us”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What can I say. We had two free vouchers for breakfast, we ate there for that reason. Save money for dinner, so we can go back to Bullwinkles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JAZEStopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average cafe for breakfast.”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

We both had simple breakfasts of sunnyside eggs,bacon,toast, coffee and easy over eggs & wheat toast. I like my tea really hot and they could not do that so I didn't bother.2 staff were quite friendly. Must be better places than this in town for $12 including tip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyJo_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trapper's Family Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Trapper's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing