We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff”

Three Bear Restaurant
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Three Bear Restaurant has been serving visitors to Yellowstone for nearly 30 years in it's current location. With a family friendly menu, we offer everything from salads and sandwiches to steak and seafood. Our breakfast will get you ready for the day. Choose from a full menu of breakfast favorites including made-to-order omelets and made from scratch pancakes. Be sure to look around at the pictures around the restaurant showing Yellowstone in another era. Our lodge next door has more exciting history and photos to share.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

we were served by friendly staff. The food good and at reasonable prices. the meals were big and fulfilling.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Philippa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    453
    266
    110
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marcellus, New York
Level Contributor
201 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Mediocre food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Not awful, but definitely not worth a second visit in a town with so many food options. Meals were okay, but nothing special. Service was hurried and somewhat brusque. Try at your own risk.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank GracieCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Many better choices in town - go somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We ate a couple of meals at Three Bear with very different experiences. We went for breakfast on our first day and the service was excellent and the food came out very quickly.

When our dinner choice was closed, we elected to come back to Three Bear based on our breakfast experience. The service was slow, the food cooked well past the point of acceptable and some tables received extras (like bread) that other tables didn't (including ours).

On our second morning we were pressed for time and gave Three Bear a second chance, again given the good breakfast experience the day prior - big mistake. We waited 5 minutes for someone to greet and seat us. We ordered almost immediately and then waited over 30 minutes for a basic breakfast to come. And, it came with issues like missing items and components. At that point we were very short of time so had to settle for what we got.

Don't take a chance with Three Bear as it's so hit and miss. Many other great choices in town. Maybe not as convenient if you are staying at their lodge, but much better choices than this.

Take a pass.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef_Baboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Breakfast experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We were in Yellowstone a couple of years ago at the fly fishers conclave,and Larry Millard of the sleepy hollow cabins recommended the three bears to us for breakfast.
And boy we left the restaurant like 2 stuffed bears.
This was our first trip to the states and this restaurant was great, coffee by the gallon as they kept topping us up.
Pancakes you could die for as they brought us loads of different syrups and even asked us if we would like seconds free!!
The staff were really friendly and we ended up visiting every morning and each day we were warmly greeted.
I know where my first port of call will be when i go back to Yellowstone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Churchville
Level Contributor
200 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We enjoyed a nice dinner here while staying at the hotel. I had the rainbow trout and ate every bite! We also enjoyed a yummy dessert of a brownie and ice cream. Service was great and I found the prices adequate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Bear Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Three Bear Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing