We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina View Condos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in West Yellowstone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marina View Condos
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stumbled across this little gem. I was amazing! Fully stocked kitchen with all major appliances. Simple continental breakfast provided. Free posters of yellowstone were a hit with the kids. Our only compliant is that we didn't stay long enough and it was rainy so we couldn't enjoy the view to it's fullest.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were shammed by a hotel in the city of West Yellowstone, but Rinny took care of us at the lovely Hebgen Lake Inn and saved our vacation. The apartment was comfortable and clean, and the views of the lake are breathtaking early morning and evening. There's a hot tub as well to relax sore, hiking muscles. The crab at the Happy Hour Bar and Restaurant across the street was delicious and so nice to sit on the outdoor deck and enjoy the lake. The drive to the park or West Yellowstone is beautiful and brief. You will pass the West Yellowstone Smokejumper's base where they're happy to give tours. No need to stay in the crowded city at all. Thank you Rinny and all the helpful and pleasant staff at Hebgen Lake Inn. We are immensely grateful to you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The staff are just ordinary people and the most friendly and helpful I have met. The view from upstairs is worth at least half the cost of the room. I don't understand how one would choose a room in West Yellowstone over this gem. The rooms are large and the kitchen has everything you would need to cook great dinners and save $$ not having to eat at the tourist traps in West Yellowstone. If you insist on fresh bath robes and room service then don't stay here. If you want to simply get away from it all then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Montana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were a family of 4 heading north after a whole day in Yellowstone. Driving north along 287 we noticed the Hebgen Lake Mounntain Inn. The price seemed reasonable ad we were attracted by the friendly host and the nice location right at the lake. We had our dinner there, and all staff (and guests) were really a posive experience. The room (Small apartment) was nice and clean in a fairly new building. Don't expect a Hilton-like breakfast but if you are OKK with a typical American Motel/Inn type breakfast it was just fine. All inn all a very good experience. /Peter
PS: You may need to ring a bell and wait 2 minutes for service. But it's worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Frederiksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This place was awesome. It is like your own apartment. There is a small kitchen, which we did not use, but I think some people may need to use. We loved the restaurant across the street also. The view was just spectacular. Heather was very nice. We planned to stay there for three nights. But due to some personal reason we had to cut back our trip. We stayed there for one night, but Heather did not fine us. We would definitely go back and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zsi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This property is difficult to rate, but when it was all said and done, I liked it. This is an honest and unbiased review, and hopefully will provide clarity after you have undoubtedly read ridiculously glowing reviews and angry 1-star rants, not knowing who to believe.

This place makes you feel like you're in a time warp to 1993. I'm not saying that it's run down. It's actually clean and kept up pretty well. But aside from the wireless internet (which is free and actually works pretty well), everything else here could have existed in 1993.

"Tube" television in the living room? Check.

Physical key with a number on it, instead of a throwaway, anonymous key-card? Check.

Game room equipped with '80s and early '90s board games, along with a 25-cent bar-trivia machine (also from the early '90s) that never seems to be plugged in? Check.

So yeah, the place is a bit outdated.

However, there are a number of good things about it:

- Beds are comfortable

- You get a full kitchen area, complete with dishes

- Fairly large living room area, completely separate from bedroom. This is nice to have if not everyone sleeps the exact same hours.

- If you pay in cash (thereby getting a substantial discount), you are paying the same thing that you otherwise would for much-inferior properties in West Yellowstone. So you're getting very good value here.

- The family that runs it is nice and helpful. I don't understand the reviews from the people accusing them of being rude or inflexible. I found them to be flexible and laid back, and I am one who can easily "get into it" with difficult employees/owners of hotels.

- The view of the lake is very nice, especially from the 2nd floor. This beats the somewhat touristy look of West Yellowstone.

You should be aware that this property is NOT in the city of West Yellowstone, and requires a 15-minute drive to get there. You should also be aware that West Yellowstone itself is NOT particularly close to the commonly-used areas of the park, so you will be doing a lot of driving just to get into Yellowstone. Basically you will be driving a minimum of 40 minutes to get to anything you want to see in Yellowstone, and even more than that if your destination is in the northern or eastern areas of the park. However, staying here versus a property in West Yellowstone is only a 15-minute difference in driving, so I didn't find it particularly intolerable.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

I would prefer something in the park for convenience, but if it's sold out (which it often is), this would be my choice over anything in West Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank pokerpro05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We found this motel because of the GOOD reviews on tripadvisor and we were not dissappointed! The rooms are clean and very comfortable! Service was great! And the view is fantastic.How can you not enjoy a 12 mile long lake from the patio? To the people who found the lake hard to see, I believe you couldn't see the forest because of the trees either.

Room Tip: Nice, peaceful place to stay after the craziness of the park!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Yellowstone
12.4 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
12.3 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
11.9 mi away
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
#12 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
20.1 mi away
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
Sawtelle Mountain Resort
#1 of 4 in Island Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
12.1 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina View Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina View Condos

Property: Marina View Condos
Address: 15475 Hebgen Lake Rd, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9798 (Formerly Hebgen Lake Mountain Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Hebgen Lake Mountain Hotel West Yellowstone
Marina View Condos West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing