We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed for one night in the motel portion. The room was a king suite with jacuzzi tub. We weren't expecting much, since we were staying in the motel section, but the room was a nice surprise. It did have a weird smell to it, but by turning on the fan on the air conditioner and in the bathroom, it pretty much took care of the smell. The motel is also in a nice location - just a few blocks from the Yellowstone entrance, and within walking distance to numerous restaurants and tourist shops.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackHillsBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

471 - 477 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2012

Cute, western themed lodge in West Yellowstone. Right in town with everything easy to walk to. It was very clean and well maintained. No elevator in lodge so you must haul up all suitcases if you are on upper floor. Lodge rooms were decorated in western theme with refrigerator and coffee maker. There is also a regular looking motel in back. The pool was a nice size. The west entrance to Yellowstone was right there. There is a restaurant right next door where we had breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linadal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Hi,
We stayed one night at the Three Bear Lodge...was impressed by the front lodge and check in area then sent back to our room in an unattractive brown building out back. The room was clean and worked for one night. Rooms are probably better in main lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We strive to do the best we can and all input, positive or negative, helps us in this.
I am sorry you were not happy with the room. We do struggle to differentiate our lodge and motel sections and have labeled the rooms and photos as clearly as we feel we can on our website. We will continue to look at how we can improve this so there are no surprises!
Thank you for staying and do hope you will come stay in the lodge some time!
Sincerely,
Travis Watt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We had a good visit at the Three Bears Lodge. It was nothing fancy but it was clean and well maintained each day. We were there for 3 nights.. We tried to book a room in the lodge but it was full. We stayed in one of their motel units. The AC was a bit noisy but it worked.
The room contained a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker which was very useful during our stay.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They made helpful recommendations for Yellowstone visiting and the town of West Yellowstone. It is very close to the park entrance.
We ate dinner in their dining room one night. We felt it was too expensive and the food was just okay.
We had much better luck utilizing the restaurants within the town. This is a great walking town. Restaurants & shops are very accessible.
If you are into using a jacuzzi, our room had the biggest one I had ever seen and it was right next to the bed!! Interesting.
We would definitely stay there again but try to book a lodge room.

Room Tip: We would definitely stay here again but would make an effort to book a room within the lodge. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldcarlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at the Three Bear Lodge during our recent trip to Yellowstone. The location is optimal; walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in West Yellowstone and a straight shot into the park. Our check-in was flawless and we got some good recommendations for restaurants from the staff. I was concerned when we pulled up that being on the main street, parking would be an issue. They had adequate parking available inside the courtyard. Our room was updated and clean. We didn't use the pool or the bar/restaurant. So for a brief stay, the friendly staff, great location and clean room made our stay very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jul812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We had a change of plans and were able to stay at/near Yellowstone for a night during our two week road trip from Ohio. The lodge is certainly nice enough, but all we needed was a clean place to stay. Of course, finding a room last minute is my fault, but the price (over $200) was too much for this site

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KV143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

Liked the two rooms for the two beds and great breakfast deal. Location also very good. Only downside is the room slightly smelled of mildew and you cant open the window to let in fresh air. I think the rooms in the lodge would be better. We were in rooms not connected to the lodge.I

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maskvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#9 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: £84 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone
Three Bear Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing