We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Waterloo, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

West Yellowstone was a great place to stay during our trip to Yellowstone. Three Bear Lodge exceeded our expectations. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. We also received $3.00 off coupons for breakfast at the Three Bear Restaurant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    255
    115
    27
    14
See reviews for
262
266
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Three Bear Lodge for 3 nights while visiting Yellowstone and thoroughly enjoyed our time there.

Our room was in the motel part of the lodge and the room was comfortable, clean and a very nice environment in which to spend a few days. My one slight complaint is that the wi-fi connection was extremely poor and as we were on a road trip and using social media to keep in touch with family and friends this proved a little inconvenient,

During our stay we had breakfast and one dinner at the hotel restaurant and found the food good and the service excellent. We weren't however, as impressed with the bar keeper who told us on our first night that he'd be closing 10.30pm, however, when we tried to enter the bar (via the restaurant) at 9,45pm he had locked the door and was quite rude in telling us he was closing. Never mind this meant that we found the Wild West Bar, a short walk away, where our dollars were welcomed.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay in the Three Bears and would definitely stay here in the future if we every re-visit Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travis W, General Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We appreciate all feedback and use it to make any improvements for staff training. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back.

The bar next to the restaurant is leased out. I have passed your comments about the bartender on to the owners.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at the Three Bear Lodge for 2 nights. Our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves a good breakfast. We enjoyed talking with staff at the front desk and they were very helpful. The location is excellent for an easy access to the western entrance to Yellowstone National Park.

Room Tip: As we spend all of our time exploring the park, we only spend time in the room at night. The Three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed in one of the suites offering a king sized papa bed, and queen sized mama bed and a twin bed. It was decorated with a shelf displaying big, medium and little bowls and spoons. It was clean and great for a family of four plus grandpa. We enjoyed walking around the town after a beautiful day at Yellowstone.

Green Features: In addition to the energy practices, the beds in our room were made of recycled wood.
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCtravels4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Three Bear Lodge and Restaurant are the best value for money in West Yellowstone. Our room was immaculately clean, the staff were helpful and friendly, and our meal of elk medallions rivaled any high end restaurant!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the motel units attached to the Lodge proper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed four nights. Wished we had stayed a couple more. It was in the new part of the lodge. Clean rooms. Our room had three beds, a microwave, small frig, iron. Loved the food. Biggest pancakes and biscuits that I have ever been served. Only negative for us was there was no elevator and when you have three women there is a lot of luggage to carry upstairs.

Green Features: They have recycle bins. Very environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We found this place just okay, not a super good value but a great location. Concierge was not terrific. They told my kids the pool would be open late and then closed an hour early. That wasn't good. The bellman was very nice though! Rooms were spacious though and pretty clean. Would probably stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lgf17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#15 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
722 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Property: Three Bear Lodge
Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
Three Bear West Yellowstone
Three Bear Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing