We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you get what you pay for...sort of” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Three Bear Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Three Bear Lodge
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for...sort of”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were not thrilled with our accommodations at the Three Bears. We stayed in the motel section and were assigned to the far back corner. There was a lot of street noise and parking lot noise. The room itself was ok - but the smell of disinfectant was overpowering (better than lack of any I guess). We did enjoy our breakfast in the restaurant in the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde S, Manager at Three Bear Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for commenting on your stay here at the Three Bear Lodge. We apologize that we did not meet your standards. If you do decide to stay with us on your return visit to West Yellowstone, I recommend the lodge rooms, in contrast to the motel section. They have inside entrances to the rooms, they are five years new, and have less street noise. Regardless of where you stay, we hope you come back and enjoy West Yellowstone and Yellowstone National Park!

Sincerely,

Travis Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    239
    112
    24
    13
See reviews for
243
255
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly, ID
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This property features a main lodge and an older "motel" section. We were in the motel section. The room was clean but old and outdated. The only air conditioning is an old in wall unit and unfortunately ours did not work. The beds were hard. We have stayed in West Yellowstone before - there are several nicer properties but we were traveling with family and this is the accommodation they selected. Poor value for the money. I probably would not stay here again, although if I did, I would stay in the Lodge in the main building - but be aware those rooms are even more money.

Room Tip: Avoid the older motel section - if you stay here - stay in the Main Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I love this place! The lodge is logs, through & through...even the furniture. If you are traveling with extended family or friends & have young children, you HAVE to stay in the 3 Bears room. This is a suite-style room: a private King bedroom (w/ TV) that has room enough for a crib. The main room has a Queen bed, desk, TV, fridge, microwave, large dining room table & 6 chairs! Also a private veranda with chairs & tables. There is a separate "room" (curtains on windows & door) with a toddler bed & twin bed, child-size log table, chair & bench. The kids LOVE this! I highly recommend 3 Bear Lodge to everybody I know :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnvroMentl1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were in the "motel" and had a great experience. He room was clean and roomy and there was little outside noise. We enjoyed the pool and the hot tub after several miles of hiking in Yellowstone (the west entrance is only a mile down the road). Grocery store, shops, pizza and other eateries are within easy walking distance. The lodge gives guests coupons for breakfast at their restaurant- $3 off for each adult and free for children, and the food is great. I would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a room with 3 queen beds. Two of them were side by side and the other one was around the corner in a room that was almost separate but it didn't have a door. The room had a wonderful balcony that overlooked the Main Street of West Yellowstone. The room was very clean and had a lot of character. There was a small fridge and microwave. There is no elevator at the lodge. Loved our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoOnATrip_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the lodge part of the hotel, above the lobby. The staff was very nice. Our room was clean and spacious. We liked that it was family owned, and the pride of ownership and philosophy of conservation was on display. It was conveniently located in town and to the Park.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kumar0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in the motel part of the place. It was clean, updated and had everything we needed. I loved that we were a step away from the main street. Shopping and food was so close. I agree the place can be pricey but i got a GREAT deal by booking with a outside party ( expedia ) I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.1 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Bear Lodge

Property: Three Bear Lodge
Address: 217 Yellowstone Ave, P.O. Box 1590, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Romantic Hotel in West Yellowstone
#11 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Bear Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge constructed in 2009 and the Motel rooms remodeled in 2011. From the moment you approach this impressive Lodge, you will realize it is no ordinary hotel. From the massive volcanic rock, log, and beam exterior, through the dramatic lobby and reclaimed materials in the common areas — you will know you are in for a unique experience. As you open the door to your spacious and comfortable room you will be enraptured by the handmade furniture crafted with reclaimed wood from the original 1932 building.Outdoor swimming pool is open during the summer months. Be sure to stop next door and experience our famous Three Bear Restaurant for breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Three Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Bear Hotel West Yellowstone
3 Bear Lodge
Three Bear West Yellowstone
Three Bear Lodge West Yellowstone, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing